ENGAGE ON HIVE: CAN I GET STIs FROM TOILET SEAT?

in OCD • 4 years ago

Can I get STIs (sexual transmitted infections) from toilet seat🤔?

IMG_20200510_173941_488.jpg

When I was about entering 16 years, I developed this phobia of seating down on public toilets to stool, because I taught, what if someone with STIs have sat on this toilet seat and me seating on it too will also make me have STIs which in those days people sees STIs as a dead sentence. So I always stand on the toilet pool and then squat to stool.

    What I did next

Luckily I have this uncle who is a laboratory scientist, and he always visits us once or twice in a month. So I just used that opportunity to ask him the question that have been on my mind... Can I get sexual transmitted infections (STIs) from toilet seat?

  What he said

He told me that, STIs got their name because their primary mode of transmission is through sexual activity. Yes, there are some STIs that can be transmitted via casual contact, including scabies and pubic lice, but these parasites aren’t equipped to survive on smooth, slippery surfaces. Scabies and lice can cling to towels, clothes, and beds, but not toilet seats.

Bacterial and viral infections such as chlamydia, syphilis, HPV, and herpes, to name a few common ones, are transmitted via contact with infected fluids: genital secretions, semen, and blood.

Contact with infected skin can also lead to STIs transmission. Contact with toilets, however, won't do it. That’s because most pathogens that cause STIs can’t live outside of the human body for very long without deteriorating.

   Which bring us back

Which brings us back to the question, can I get STIs from toilet seat! And the answer remains NO You can't get STIs(sexually transmitted infections) from toilet seats.

  • I hope this was helpful to those asking this same question...
  • Special thanks once again to @starstrings01
    for bringing me here...

  • I appreciate those who took their time to read this..

Sort:  

Thanks for your entry to the posting initiative. I'm sure there's someone out there who may benefit from your excellent clarification of STI transmission in respect of lavatory seats.

Al the best for the judging process and hope you keep pushing forward with good content here on hive.

Thanks