Watercolor Flame Angelfish- Striving for Self Improvement

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

img042.jpg

Turns out today is my 3 year anniversary since I've started blogging. Hard to believe how fast the time has passed. Also I've decided to improve my posts and to regularly combine art with my other various interests. I've made a few such posts in the past weeks and those have been the most satisfying ones to make. To keep up the quality, from now on I'll post around 2 times a week. This will give give me more needed time to do research, watch tutorials and edit my post (this post is the 3rd draft).

I believe we are taught to identify too much with their art, to label ourselves, but it should be just a tool. You can't know a person just through their art, it takes much more. Also, I spend too much time just consuming everything in front of me, creating clutter. It's time to change, to reflect, and take control. I made a list of things I want to potentially write about, but this isn't a definitive list. I prefer to not make any promises, but having lists helps me get more done and to have a sort of goal. I'll try to have my art match the post's themed, but that's not a rule.

IMG_8964.JPG

@tarazkp inspired me to expand my posts and to create more engaging posts. Honestly, so many of his posts have interesting comments and it's impossible not to leave a comment after reading his posts. Writing more engaging posts feels much more rewarding and fun. I've done big posts in the past, but I always kept them way less personal and just educational like my Drawing a bird Tutorial . Those posts are timeless, but they are too hard for me to produce on a regular basis.

IMG_8971.JPG

Topics I want to write about

● Body language
● Colors and symbolism
● Facial/Micro expressions
● Lovecraftian Mythos
● Body check meditation
● Visualization meditation
● Decluttering
● Sleep/ dreams
● Brain Dump
● CBT- cognitive behaviour therapy
● Favorite artists
● Zero Waste
● Favorite art movements (Art Nouveau, Burtonesque, Gothic and others)
● Ghibli movies
● Setting a Reward system for yourself
● Favorite folk tales
● Teas

No doubt I'll reach a point when I'll want to do things differently again, but luckily it usually takes at least a few months till I need a change (or a break). ;) By then I might even finish the list anyways. Comments and engagement have motivated me a lot. I really appreciate anyone taking the time to read my posts, so I'll do my best not to waste anyone's time.

IMG_8980.JPG

As I won't posting daily, let me know in the comments if you'd like me to tag you in my posts, as I plan to post 2 times a week. You can get untagged anytime, this is just for the purpose of getting notified.

Have you considered "spicing" up your blog? And if you make a similar post to this one, feel free to tag me or leave the post link in the comments. I'd love to check it out ^^

IMG_8991.JPG

About the Painting

I'm following a prompt list of fish, and I start by finding a few references. I used a little stronger colors this time, as I wanted a more vibrant look. However, the thick colors make the painting look darker rather than vibrant. I waited for the paint to dry between each photo, that's the only way for the paint not to bleed into the other colors.

img144.jpg

It's especially important for any details, like the fish scale patterns and eyes. I skip the pencils sketch when I have less details to paint, since pencil can stand out through watercolors. I painted 2 fish because there isn't enough details to draw one big fish.

Ref: https://.pinterest.com/pin/568579521709210814/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/568579521709210816/

For a more detailed description for how I painted with watercolors, check out my previous post Yellow Box Fish It' the same process as for this painting.

img037.jpg

Thank you very much for reading! <3

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention.

I wonder if you had that list of topics next to you to choose from each day, would you soon have a large and diverse collection of work? I would predict yes and, the more you explored in the list, the wider and deeper the content would become.

Indeed, that's what I hope :D Additionally, I need to start working soon, so I'm trying to figure out the best way to be productive and have fun at the same time.
I love posting daily, but I can't keep up. I hope to improve my writing and research skills in a few months, so I can post more and keep the quality at the same time ^_^

How right you are about researching and improving ourselves. and I love sweet little fish drawings..

Thank you ^_^ Yeah instead of just consuming, to take that same time to learn new things

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! :)

Congratulations @kristyglas! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4500 comments. Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @kristyglas! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!