"Art"n't you going to read my post about Streetart

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

I haven't done a street art post in a while and I think its about time that I did. I've managed to collect quite a few photos of some really cool murals that I've seen in my travels this past year or so and I figured I'd share some of them with my fellow Hivers.

I wont bore you with a long preamble though, let's get to it. Lets see some art!


20200919_150334.jpg

I figured I'd start with a bang. This one is my favorite of the lot. Its a massive mural that I saw on the side of a building in Grenoble France. Its got a creative and whimsical design to it and I personally really like the color palette. For this post I figured I show the larger setting of a few pieces, like this one, followed by a close up for the detail. The setting often adds a lot to the overall look of a piece and I know that a lot of artists spend time scouting locations for their work. It seems right to show that off.


Screenshot_20210413-193930_Photos.jpg

The next two were spotted in Brussels. Actually quite a few pieces showcased in this post are from Brussels Belgium. Brussels is actually known for their street art murals, especially those relating to comics. They can be found all over the city.


20191018_184206.jpg

This artist seems to be paying a tribute to city workers. I especially like the garbage men chasing a bag of garbage on their trusty cat steeds. Humor in art is always appreciated.


Screenshot_20210413-193759_Photos.jpg

The next one was seen in the old town of Strasbourg France.


Screenshot_20210413-193823_Photos.jpg

The pop art inspired mural below features the cartoon characters Tom and Jerry. It was also seen in Strasbourg in a different part of town. I really love its bright colors.


20191222_160719.jpg

Below is another large mural spotted in Brussels. It definitely has that comic strip feel that I mentioned previously.


20191019_154859.jpg


Screenshot_20210413-193301_Photos.jpg

Below is another from Brussels. This one can be found on the side of a restaurant in the old town.


20191230_120001.jpg

Walking in the sky. I really like how on a nice day the blue in the mural seems to just continue on into the sky. The mural itself is also of the same location where the mural is found in the city. Its like and image within an image. Its a very clever design I think.


Screenshot_20210413-195306_Photos.jpg

Below is another mural from Brussels. I saw quite a few like this - thin strip images hidden on the sides of buildings jutting out from the adjacent structure.


20191230_123447.jpg

Next is a piece from Amsterdam.


20200201_121626.jpg

Its simple fun design adds a bit of interest to the side to an otherwise dull building.


Screenshot_20210413-193729_Photos.jpg

Next is from Strasbourg again in a different part of town from the other two mentioned. I actually like the lack of color in this one but mostly I like its message.


20200829_202854.jpg

One last one from Brussels. This was found on the side of the city's museum. Its got a surreal vibe about it that I really dig.


20191019_132910.jpg

Well I started with a bang and I'll end with one as well. This is my second favorite of the lot. I saw it in Cergy France on a hike along the Axe Majeur walking path. The piece has a beauty about it and I think that the color really complements the building that its on.


20200119_130039.jpg

The image itself is quite smart as well. It ties into the city as a whole on quite a few levels. Cergy has an old world clock built into the train station that can be seen in the womans crown. The red bit is a part of the Axe Majeur walking path as are the poles that the woman is holding onto. In a way the art piece contains easter eggs for the town its located in. I think that pretty cool.


Screenshot_20210413-193703_Photos.jpg

Well, thats it for now. Until next time. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Wow this was a fun post. For my Art Talk series I did a post on street art once. I want to do more. It is really fascinating. Thanks for sharing this great art!

Thanks I'm glad you liked it. Is Art Talk a community you started?

No, it's a series that I do so I can talk about art. Funny I hadn't even thought about starting a community for it. Great idea.

I see. I don't think I saw that particular post but I saw some of the other ones. I remember one being in a gallery, I believe.

Yes, at the end of my posts that start with Art Talk: there are links to all the different posts about art that I have done through the years. There are 3 years of art posts!

That last one looks like something from Alphonse Mucha.

The garbage man stencils are dope!

I don't know who any of the artists are unfortunately. Some have a name within the murals themselves but I don't know if they're meant to be a signature or not. I'm not familiar with Alphonse Mucha, I'll have to look them up. Do you know where they are based out of, or what country/location most of their work can be seen? Edit: I looked up Alphonse Mucha and now realize that he is not a current street artist lol, but was an artist from a long time ago. I agree that the last mural does look like it was inspired by Muchas art, like a new age update on a classic work.

Yeah, it looks like a modern take on Mucha's style. It's awesome!

Loving these!
The first image really struck me for its sensitive colour palette that fit the environment sympathetically.
It has a magical other worldly feel to it.

The one is Brussels like the comic strip is super cool too.
I mean, these are massive pieces! Sure a professional crew would have spent a week or two on these. Love them.

These are all on your recent travels too you say... - surely these were pre-lockdown images? Or had things relaxed around the time they were taken?

Cheers for sharing.

Yes, some of the pieces are very large and would take a long time to complete. I'm guessing that most of the larger murals were commissioned works, possibly by the city even.

And yeah when I say my recent travels I mean the past year and a half lol. I guess I'm using the term in a relative sense lol. They are from Oct 2019 to Sep 2020. I guess they aren't that recent afterall 🤣. Time moves too quickly.

We are still in lockdown in France.

Excellent publication, all the murals you show us are fascinating, real art.
I think my favorite is the one of Walking in the sky, it is a great composition.

Thanks I'm lad you liked the post. Walking in the sky is a good one for sure.

Awesome collection of street art photos! They make a boring day interesting. I remember while getting bread in the mornings during a long stay in France, there were numerous murals on utility structures that I pass by on a daily basis and it's nice to see them.

Yes, I have seen some of those painted utility structures around as well. Some are very nice. Much nicer to look at once they are painted I think.

Congratulations @leaky20! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!