Fast and Easy Ratatouille Recipe

in OCD4 years ago


20200528_161822 (1).jpg

Ratatouille is a traditional French dish made up of stewed vegetables. It is colorful meal with a warm summer salad like quality about it.

This is my super fast and easy ratatouille recipe. I hope you enjoy.

Ingredients



20200528_153614 (1).jpg

Roma tomatoes
Yellow Squash
Zucchini
Egg plant

Tomato puree
garlic
shallots (or finely chopped onions)
olive oil
salt and pepper
Arugula or basil as a garnish (I used arugula)

Directions


20200528_160617 (1).jpg

Slice all of the vegetables as uniformly as possible. It helps if you can buy produce that is roughly the same size in diameter. The egg plant that I chose was quite large so I cut the slices in half to allow them to sit uniformly with the other vegetables.


20200528_161005 (1).jpg

Place vegetables randomly (for color distribution) in an oven ready cooking pot.

If I do this again I might try cutting the vegetables a little thinner and cooking them in a rectangular Pyrex dish so they can lay more horizontally while cooking rather than fully vertical. It doesn't really matter though.


20200528_161816 (1).jpg

Dice up some garlic and shallots to sprinkle on top.


20200528_162915 (1).jpg

Pour some tomato puree over the vegetables and cook it in the oven with the lid on at mid heat (roughly 180C or so) for about 30 - 45 minutes.

Basically just cook it until the vegetables are soft and to the consistency that you prefer them.


20200528_163317 (1).jpg

There was quite a bit of liquid in the pot after cooking. If you wanted to take this a step further you could reduce the juices down and make a gravy to serve with it. I didn't do that but I may try it on my next attempt. You could also take the lid off part way through the cooking process to reduce the amount of liquid.

Garnish with basil or arugula and olive oil and balsamic glaze (optional).


20200528_183404 (1).jpg

Serve as a side or as the main course. I served mine with a pork roast which paired nicely.


20200528_190722 (1) (1).jpg

Thanks for Reading

Sort:  

Very nice recipe. I like the pork vegetable on the plate best, though. And I want a fresh baguette and a hearty rouge with that. Thanks.

Good bread and a good wine is a must for every meal I think.

good wine is a must for every meal

Exactly. For a breakfast of champions. Cheers.

I'm sure it tastes good, but I have to say, it also resembles colourful artwork! Almost too good to eat. 🙂

Yes. I think that a variety of colorful vegetables is the key to the dish. We eat with our eyes, as the saying goes.

Yes, that's true isn't it, the eyes thing. I'm not one to get too complicated when it comes to food; You know, like they do on those cooking shows on TV. Still, it has to look ok...Grey coloured mush, no matter how good it tastes would be unappealing I think.

Thank you for replying, I appreciate it greatly.

Yes I agree. Food should look appealing most definitely :)