A Halo of Thorns 16- Microfiction in the Age of the Coronavirus

in OCD4 years ago

Try as I might, I couldn’t pry the lid off the bucket. So, I grabbed a large screwdriver and wedged it along the seam, but the seal was too tight. Frustrated, I finally decided to just hammer the crap out of it until the lid finally came off, clattering on the kitchen floor.

Survival_Meal_001.jpg

I purchased the bucket of survival meals about a month before lockdown. The intention was to open it until it was truly necessary in case of an emergency. Well, as I hadn’t gone out to the grocery store in over a month, and I didn’t relish the idea of exposing myself to the unwashed masses, I decided that this constituted an emergency. Plus, I was really curious to find out how the meals tasted.

Inside the bucket, you will find about a month worth of meals. The food comes in carefully sealed packets that have a shelf life of 25 years. I figured, if I didn’t eat them during the pandemic, then I would keep them for when going camping. And if they didn’t taste any good, then I would just keep them for when the big one hits here on the Cascadian side of Canada's west coast.

To be honest, I was skeptical about the whole scheme and felt quite silly as I, a grown man, haunched over the bucket and whacked it with the hammer. With each stroke I could feel a slight sense of desperation as the damn lid refused to come off and then a sense of relief when it finally did. Talk about pandemic panic!

I found a meal planner inside that gave suggestions on how to schedule the meals along with suggested portions. Nice touch. I opted to do it “by-the-book” and started with the creamy potato soup and banana chips.

Survival_Meal_002.jpg

So how was the meal? I jotted down some notes and described it as creamy and tasty. The onion gave it a wonderful flavor and aroma. The soup is chunky with potato bits in it, neither sweet or salty. Hints of parsley. The banana chips were sweet, a bit too crunchy, but also soft (stale?). The chips could be tastier but were better than nothing. Overall it was a hearty and delicious meal. I was surprised at how energized I felt after eating it. As if I had been pumped full of adrenaline. The portions were generous, and I could not finish the recommended portion of 2 servings, so I saved some for later. Ideal for a quick snack.

Are these meals healthy? Well, I’m still alive and haven’t gone blind. You can see the ingredients in the image below. I’m sure they won’t prevent or cure the coronavirus, but they might just be enough to keep my ass at home and unnecessarily expose myself to this vile sickness.

IMG_20200409_163806.jpg


Read more

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15