It's Difficult To Repay The Sleep Debt

in OCD4 years ago

Untitled drawing 29.png

Source: Pixabay.

I was trading btc in 2018. And because it was active 24 hours a day, I developed a bad habit of tracking it every hour.

As a result, it affected my health badly, especially my sleeping habit.

Because of not sleeping well for a long time, I developed an irritating nature, never noticing it till 2019.

So, in 2019, I tried to create a new me. I gave up all the sugar products, started exercising regularly and slept almost 8 hours a day for most of the year.

I would say that 2019 was a good year for me looking back at my health habits.

But when 2020 came, I couldn’t go out for jogging because of the lockdown.

After a month or so, I phased back into my old habits of being awake almost all night.

As I didn’t have to wake up early in the morning, I cared less about the time I slept.

Only after a month, I was sleeping at 4 in the morning. Sometimes I was watching movies and other times, I was reading a book.

Now, I am feeling its effects with less focus span, getting irritated over small things and mood swings.

Being able to sleep properly is a huge advantage for a lot of people. Because sleep deprivation cause you to become emotionally irrational and tired.

Humans spend 36 percent of their life sleeping, so there must be something important in it.

For one third of our life, we are in hibernation.

I looked over a few places and found that the purpose of sleep is quite important.

It helps in:

❖ Restoration.

Ever wonder why we feel fresh when we wake up?

Because during sleep, our brain shrinks and gets rid of metabolic trash which gets accumulated every day in our brain because of normal neural activities.

❖ Sleep helps us to maintain our long term memory and metabolic health.

About 8 hours of sleep is required everyday. If we sleep less, the sleep debt accumulates over time.

Which means, if we sleep less for a week and then try to cover it on a weekend, it doesn’t help.

On a monday morning, we would feel less focused and less motivated because of sleep debt.



Deep sleep and REM.!

During deep sleep, our body relaxes, breathing becomes regular.

Our brain responds less to external stimuli and it becomes difficult to wake up.

Basically deep sleep is responsible for muscle repair and growth.

Whereas REM sleep is responsible for reorganising information and our dreams.

During this phase our brain clears irrelevant information and boosts our memory by connecting the experience of our last 24 hours.

Without these two phases, our body starts to die. Things becomes foggy. We can’t think clearly, we can’t focus on anything at all.

If we sleep less for a long term of time, we accumulate stress in our life.

Alternatives of sleep that helps in recovery sometimes are nutrition, meditation, stretching and laughter.


Untitled drawing 27.png


Power down before sleeping.(Avoid use of gadgets, caffeine)

Try to relax. If you are hyped up or stressed, it will be difficult to sleep.

There are 3 ways to improve sleep quality. These are intensity, timing and duration.

Intensity refers to how well you sleep, timing refers to when you sleep and duration refers to when you go to sleep.

You can’t do much about intensity because your body manages most of it.

But you can do a lot to manage the timing and duration of your sleep.

Try to sleep around 10 and for 8 hours daily and you will wake up with perfect energy.


Untitled drawing 26.png


An experiment was performed by a group of scientists on Stanford basketball players where they slept ten hours a day instead of eight.

Results were that their free throws shooting percentage increased by 9 percent.

That’s huge when someone is playing at professional level.

I only wonder how much my performance will increase if I start sleeping more.

Maybe my ideas increase by 10% and I will be able to do better in my life. Maybe my income will increase 10% because of that.

I would only say that...

Untitled drawing 25.png

Source: Pixabay.


Source: Why We Sleep. Book by Matthew Walker.


Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

I have often thought about this. In my youth, I often would not get enough sleep. It is very likely that many of my poor decisions and poor performance were due to my inability to control my sleep schedule. There are some things that I regret that I have to wonder if they were the result of poor judgement cause by me just being a jerk or because I was not at my full capacity from lack of sleep. Now I am more conscientious about going to bed and getting a full night's sleep.

How long were you sleeping before... versus now?

I now try to sleep 6-8 hours. As I have gotten older, my snoring has gotten worse. I use a silicone device called a “tongue stabilizing device” that allows me to breath better in my sleep. I feel refreshed and energetic when I wake up. Without it, I feel tired and unmotivated. I didn’t realize how poor sleep was affecting me until I started using the device.

When I was younger, I would get 2, 4, 6 hours of sleep. I’ve always known that 4 hours minimum allows you to function. I always tried to get at least four. I’ve always had a sleep discipline in that respect. But I was using it wrong. I never felt great.

Without having experienced a good night’s sleep, feeling refreshed and energetic, I never realized what I was missing. That sleep discipline now shoots for eight hours. As I get older, feeling well becomes more important.

lol, 2 hours of sleep when you were younger...I could only wonder the bad decisions.

I never compromise on the amount of sleep I get.

It's just the timing. Usually I sleep at 2-3...wake up late....

Other than that, I am okay.

There was a time that I would get 8 hours of sleep spread throughout 24 hours. I'd schedule chunks of sleep between classes. Then I'd go to work until 1 am and spend some time studying. That was workable until I started skipping naps. That's probably where the poor decisions started.

Congratulations @looftee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!