The Secret To Growth Is Enjoyment

in OCD4 years ago

Untitled drawing 5.jpg

Source: Pixabay.

Yesterday, I was hanging out with a couple of friends on @hive-india discord channel.

We were discussing what it feels like when you make 0$ on your posts on hive.

I know that a lot of people are here for money, even if it is very less.

So, I asked myself, would I be writing here if I don’t get paid at all?

My answer was I would be writing somewhere if not here.

It could be quora, medium or a free blog platform.

Writing keeps me motivated. It helps me to improve my thought process and my ideas.

So, if I am going to write, I would as well write on hive. Even though I won't make any money at all.

It's all alright.


Few days back, I was watching a video of @papa-pepper on youtube where he was talking about putting so much content daily on youtube and hive.

He shared that after years of work, he make somewhat $200 a month on youtube. He could make that much money a day if he works on a job.

Still he continues to post on youtube because he loves what he is doing.

He enjoys it.

I can relate to that.

I too enjoy what I do here.

Even if I work one hour a day somewhere else like upwork, I would be able to make much more than here.

But I won’t have the freedom to post things I love to write about.

Similarly, I was reading a post on hive where @galenkp mentioned that he has posted an average of 1.6 times a day for the last 3 years

Doing something like that sounds very difficult.

However, if you break that down into tiny things, you can definitely do that.

If you try to post everyday, for say this week or month, it will be easy.

Building momentum of tiny habits daily leads to achieving big goals.

I have posted continuously for just two weeks now.

This is the longest I have written continuously in my life.

And I am enjoying it.

I am building momentum now.

What seemed very difficult in the beginning, now feels easy.

I mean if you think about posting every day for the next 3 years, it will seem really difficult.

But making a habit of posting daily is not that difficult.

We just need to continue that habit for a long time.

Untitled drawing 4.jpg

Source: Pixabay.

According to Darren Hardy, small, smart choices+consistency+time= radical difference.

One quote that I love from his book The compound Effect is,”Success is doing a half dozen things really well, repeated five thousand times.”

Everything is compounding in life.

Even doing nothing daily compounds to a feeling of failure and sadness if continued for a couple of years.

I have gone through it.

If you are not making good choices, you are definitely making bad ones.

Bad ones compound into bad phases of life.

What we do daily is what we become in the long run.


Life goals can be achieved by breaking them down into daily habits.


Finalise one thing you want to achieve in your life.

Then break it down into things that you can do daily.

To achieve big goals in your life, make a habit of achieving tiny goals related to that goal daily.

Come up with a routine and consistently show up to build momentum.

Good habits leads to good decisions in life.

A habit of meditating daily for 5 mins will only lead to more stability in your life.

A habit of doing only 5 pushups a day will lead to more physical fitness.


Procrastination stops us from starting something.

Even if we start something in excitement, a few weeks later, our excitement wears down.

Then, it takes consistent efforts to build momentum to achieve long term goals.

When you hit the ceiling, use your momentum to push through.

For the first week, writing daily felt quite difficult for me.

But now, after 14 days, it is not the daily habit of writing that is difficult.

It’s the quality of my content that seems difficult for me to uplift.

I have reached my ceiling of daily habit.

I don’t want to write more words now.

But I definitely want to improve the quality of those words.


Growth can only be achieved through enjoyment.


At the end, it is all about enjoyment.

@galenkp mentioned it in a response to my comment that posting that much was hard work but he was able to do it because he enjoys it a lot.

Similarly, @sidwrites writes 4-5 articles a day.

Works on his other projects too.

Still, he is able to write one article everyday on hive.

And that article is very well written.

Because he enjoys it.

So, I figured that if I need to grow, I need to find a way to enjoy the process.

That’s why I came up with self-development topics.

I enjoy reading about them and I enjoy writing about them.

Once I am able to build a habit of writing daily, I will experiment in other niches too.

But the crucial thing is enjoyment coupled with hard work leads to exponential growth.


What do you think? Do you enjoy your work?


Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bala41288 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks a lot, I will surely delegate some hp, once I have enough.

You are welcome. :)

Congratulations @looftee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What an article!

Thanks for bringing us all into the picture.

The skill is NOT within us. It is within you for seeing everything we do.

And this picture:

Love it. In fact reminds me of Steve Harvey. He was making $25 for the same joke. And he told them for years and years... lived homelessly... until those same $25 turned into $250.... $2500... $250000 and finally he made over 50+ million dollars.

The key was repetition.

Discipline is simply repeating the same task over and over again until it turns into an enjoyable skill.

Wonderfully said bro.

I too believe the biggest skill one can have is consistency.