Why Humans are So Obsessed with Puzzles?

in OCD4 years ago

Untitled drawing 68.png

Source: Pixabay

There is something supreme about solving puzzles. Something so satisfying that it doesn't matter how many puzzles we solve, we want to solve more.

Dcity today.

I have been thinking about playing dcity game for a while. So I decided that I will start playing it.

As soon as I entered it, I was hooked. Not because the game is extremely good. It is quite good. But the real reason is—I wanted to know everything about it. How to play it. How to achieve the top 100 rank.

It was like a puzzle to me. And I started solving it. Only after I learned the basics, I was able to stop.

It's a puzzle that I have partially solved.

Solving puzzles is like seeing patterns. There is always something new in it. It never ends.

Trading Bitcoin was like seeing patterns.

I used to trade btc in 2018. And for the whole year, the only thing I looked--was patterns. Every time, a certain pattern appeared, I thought that I got it this time.

The more I tried to recognise the patterns, the more I discovered the patterns. And the more I get obsessed with them.

So, at last, when I realized that I was obsessed with it. I thought of taking a break. And only after doing that, I was able to sleep peacefully.

Pattern solving is not something new.

Ancient people used to see patterns in the clouds and stars. This shows that patterns aren't something new. We used to always look for patterns.

Humans have an innate ability to find patterns. To find meaning in things. These cravings leads us to solve problems. It makes solving problems satisfactory.

So, like recognising patters, the puzzles are addictive to us because of the following reasons:


Puzzles need attention to the detail.


If you want to solve a puzzle, you need attention on every minute detail. It is normal to get overjoyed when you see hundreds of pieces connecting together.

But when you are able to connect them in the right way, you feel invincible—supreme to the other people.

Because you were able to see the bigger picture, you feel proud of yourself.


Puzzles are competitive in nature.


Everyone wants to show their supremacy over others. That's why sports like UFC and Boxing are so famous. When a person pins down his opponent, he feels that he is dominating the world.

Similarly, when you solve a puzzle, you feel like you are smarter than others. You are the real Sherlock Holmes. And that will give satisfaction to anyone.


Solving puzzle is a good way to get into the Zen mode.


It means solving puzzles requires high level of attention to the detail and complete focus on the task. Once you solve it, you will be relaxed and joyful.


Humans want unpredictability in their life.


There is some satisfaction in unpredictablilty. Everyone wants to predict the future. Still everyone loves uncertainity.

We enjoy unpredictability. We crave it. That's why people love surprises.

If we know everything, we will get bored of everything. And life won't be worth living.


Enjoying the journey.


A good reflection about puzzles is that it is not about the destination, it's about the journey.



Life has been a puzzle to me so far.

Puzzles are symbolic to life. For me, I always tried to see life as a puzzle. You take one piece out and your life is ruined. So you try to adjust other pieces and make an effort for a bright future.

In the end, when you are able to connect all the pieces together, you find the ultimate truth—Peace.

Sort:  

Congratulations @looftee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week
You got more than 3000 replies. Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!