Why I Love To Challenge Myself

in OCD4 years ago

The last couple of months have been pretty hard for most people out there but they were quite good for me.

I had made many positive changes in my life.

And now I am working on my productivity. To push it to the maximum level.

Although, I was able to achieve consistency in doing things I want to do, I have picked up a couple of bad habits.

The bad habit is an addiction of watching youtube videos. Having so much free time and good content on that platform made me addicted to it.

These days, I am spending 4-5 hours daily watching vlogs of people and random stuff. And I didn't even notice it till today.

Well, it wouldn’t have affected me last year.

But this year, I have some big plans for my future. And for those plans to succeed, I need to change my habits.

Sometimes we spend so much of our time distracting ourselves from the present moment that we forget to enjoy our life.

Well, blaming youtube serves no purpose. Understanding what’s wrong is the way to go.

Youtube is not the problem, my habits are the problem. So, I need to work on my habits that I want to change.

I need to understand myself, and consciously put my time into the things that I want to do.

So, I thought about all the things I could do instead of wasting my time on irrelvant activities.

And a couple of things came to my mind.

The first thing I want to do is spend some time with my family and friends.

Although I enjoy being alone but too much loneliness is bad for me. Also, there are a lot of people out there who care about me. My family and friends.

So, I have decided to spend some time with my family.

Untitled drawing 58.png

Source: Pixabay

And to do that, I need to have some free time daily. How do I get extra time?

Well, last month I challenged myself to write daily on hive. I am doing it successfully and enjoying it as well.

Now, I am starting to love the power of challenges.

The adrenalin of going through and completing a challenge, I just love it.

So, I am going to pick up a new challenge of refraining myself from watching youtube completely for the next month, i.e till the end of July.

It will be like a digital detox but only for youtube.

Doing something is hard but not doing something is harder.

To not do something, I need to do something else and replace that habit.

So, I will be spending some of my time on twitter.

I really love the platform, just like hive. And there is a lot of good content in my feed.

Also, I wanted to grow my profile as I am active on it again.

The satisfaction I used to get from watching youtube daily, I will get it now by interacting with more people on twitter.

Maybe it will help me in developing my social skills.

Let's see. It will be my second challenge in a row.


What about you, have you ever challenged yourself to improve?