Why It Became Easier For Me To Invest More Money In Hive

in OCD4 years ago

I have been thinking about buying some hive for at least a month now.

But I was confused whether to buy now or wait for some time and let the price come down.

Well, I could not rely on myself to make that decision. I have made my fair share of financial mistakes in the past.

Untitled drawing 52.png

I wanted to make a decision based on something concrete. Something I won’t regret later.

That’s why I thought why not try some of the basic tips mentioned in the book--The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham.

Benjamin Graham was one of the most successful investor of the 20th century and was second to only his student--Warren Buffett.

The Intelligent Investor book explains value investing. It focuses on generating steady and long term profits by ignoring the current markets and picking companies with high intrinsic value.

After decades of research, these are some of the basic principles that Benjamin Graham learned to become The Intelligent Investor.


Untitled drawing 44.png


I have bought market tops and sold bottoms more times than I could count. Invested in coins right before the market crash and lost thousands of dollars.

So, I learned from my mistakes.

After losing money again and again, I realised that altcoin trading is not for me. I moved to trading bitcoin and ethereum on bitmex.

And as opposed to what normally happens, I started making decent reutrns.

Even Graham lost most of his capital in the stock market crash of 1929 and subsequent Depression. But he learned valuable lessons about risk management.

As a result, he became one of the most successful investors of 20th century.

Untitled drawing 45.png

Source: Pixabay

The lesson here is to always analyze for the long term.

An intelligent investor always analyze the long term evolution of a company before investing.

I have been on hive for 3 months now and after observing the growth of hive in these three months, I definitely believe that hive has a wonderful future.


Untitled drawing 47.png


In simple words, don’t go for the crazy profits.

If you can avoid falling in the trap of the crazy profits you will do fine. Instead focus on safe and steady returns.

Investing is not gambling or speculating.

Hive has been fluctuating around 25 cents for a month now. And nobody knows the true value of hive. It could be around 25 cents, 1$, 5$ or 10 cents. Nobody knows for sure.

Trading offers huge returns whereas investment offers small but steady returns.

I have traded bitcoin for two years, 2018 and 2019. Though I made decent profit, I was always stressed. I never wanted that kind of lifestyle. It wasn’t something I wanted to do forever.

As a result, I quit trading in mid 2019.

So instead of spending time daily in figuring out which candle is bullish and which one is bearish, this time I wanted to let my money work for me through investments.


Untitled drawing 50.png


If someone comes to your door every day quoting different price for the same item, what would you do?

Definitely ignore him.

Mr. Graham pictures the entire stock market as a single person.

Here, the market is the same guy. And it’s best to ignore him. Because the prices are sometimes too high and sometimes too cheap.

Never trust Mr. Market. He can be very irrational. Instead stick to a strict formula by which you make all your investment decisions and you will do fine.

What it means is you set a fixed budget that you are going to invest every month in a stock of your choice, no matter the price.

It saves you from a lot of emotional turmoil of whether to invest right now or not.

Untitled drawing 49.png

I haven’t bought a big amount. It's just a small 500$ purchase. But small or big, every investment should be taken seriously.

Because if I can’t make good decision about small investments, I certainly can not make good decisions about big investments.

Even though it was a small amount, it's a start. Now I want to repeat the same formula of buying a small amount of hive each month.


Untitled drawing 51.png

Source: Pixabay

Sort:  

I predict a moderate hive boom sometime in the future...though I can't say when and don't know if it'll last. Can only HODL and watch. Never read the book though but Graham does have a point about picking up interest when everyone else ignores activity. That's largely how rich men are made

Yepp, I think picking up things when everyone ignores is what makes up wealth.

@looftee first of solid read. And I like this idea of buying small amount Every month.

It's like some old saying " small drops , drops make an ocean" keep up the good work. 🙂

thanks a lot bro.

I'd say that you took a reasonably good decision. Decisions are mostly better than state of indecisions.

If someone comes to your door every day quoting different price for the same item, what would you do?

This made me chuckle. Well, change is the only constant in this Universe. :)

Have a good time Hiving around!

thanks for that appreciation bro.

Whether I made a good decision or not, only time will tell. Till then, we enjoy hive...

Yes, that should be the spirit!
Let's enjoy hive :)