The Main Craft.

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

As some of you might know, Me, @navidjahanshahi, and his devil little brother Nima(@galenkp knows what I'm talking about! lol :D), went on a volunteer work more than a month ago. We were not expecting to stay there for much, but the owner of the hotel asked us to stay more to help out. And since I was just waiting for my military service and didn't have anything to do, I said yes and the two brothers didn't any problem with staying more either.

Mainly, I was supposed to make some picture frames as I have a bit of experience making them. Though, I could only offer simple ones since I didn't have the professional equipment I used to work with. So, my understanding was that I would just go there to make
a few frames, and maybe help out for a week.

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.14.jpeg

You see, the resort had so much heavy and important work, that my framing task seemed to be useless at first. So much had to be done at first. Things like general cleaning, repairing and painting seemed to be the priorities in the first few weeks of our stay. So I just joined the group to get the main issues out of the way. And day by day, the materials I bought were losing their color of purpose.

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.12.jpeg

A small window of hope though, was appearing for my craft. One of the tasks of our group, was to basically turn a small unused room, which used to be a storage area, to a little cozy reading space for the guests to use. After cleaning, and painting, it was time for the decoration out out little book cafe. So, I saw a chance of injecting my poison! lol

After putting the table and installing the entrance curtain, the walls seemed a bit too pale, and a few frames could give a nice look to the space. So, I got to work and started to see what I can make with the material I had brought with me.

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.20.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.18.jpeg

The thickness of the wood I had brought was too much for the small space I was working on. So I decided to make them thinner, so I can even make more more frames. But, I wasn't sure what to put in those frames.

We had found some unused cloth which were beautifully patterned, and they actually were a great fit to the vibe we were trying to give to the book cafe. So I used different patterns in each of the frames I was making.

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.16 (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.15.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.16.jpeg

The frames, looked pretty good alone by themselves. But we had to put them up on the walls to see if they gave us what we needed, and thank goodness for them not disappointing. Everyone seemed to like the space and the vibe, which the frames were giving.

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.13 (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.13.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-03 at 13.10.12 (1).jpeg

Honestly, I am very happy that I was able to get done what I was supposed to do in that place, while I also had the chance to help out and learn new skills.

Thank you for reading this. :)

Peace! <3

4i88GgaV8qiFkxbnGCXnHPUK3daVLCQA4oDc4iy6jiwi3iC4SEf4LuFZMC6t4DZEwuXEu5UaBJPieNwHqrGeNS3uLYgoxKJtmKN6UU8zUPCUje1kXkoWeTcR3U.png

Sort:  

If you don't end up a General in the Army you can always start a career in arts and crafts! Lol.

You should tag #build-it and #diy in these posts.

LOL! I don't know about the General thing, but there's a chance for the latter ones! :D

Thanks man, I'll keep that in mind. :)

Lol...Colonel then. 😂

Ok, now that's doable! :D :D :D

Piece of cake.

Fingers crossed to just get out in one piece. :)

You'll be right mate. It's all about having the right attitude, working hard and remembering that it pays to be a winner.

ay that's super creative! I have been thinking about decorating my dull wall. I am a postcard collector, I think framing it would be a better idea instead just sticking it.

Thank you dear!

Framing is definitely the way to go. :)