A lockdown wander with the macro gear - [Original Photography]

in OCD4 years ago

Hey all,

So during my daily permitted exercise hour yesterday, I decided to take my camera around the village and get some shots of some of the natural wildflowers that we came across on grass verges and in some of the fields. It was fun as the little one also had my old 60D with a 50mm lens and was taking some pictures. She's a budding little photographer too :)

You do get some strange looks walking around with a massive diffuser on top of your camera but hey, it's worth the strange looks to get some cool images.

I've got a new diffuser system on the way from Australian which I'm really looking forward to trying out. I'll do a review of it once I've had a play with it. That's due on Monday - waited nearly 2 months for it!

All of these pics were taken with the 90D and Sigma 105 HSM macro lens, 580 EX Speedlite with a Lastolite diffuser on it. Postprocessing in Lightroom with my own collection of presets.

IMG_1506.jpg

IMG_1508.jpg

IMG_1456.jpg

IMG_1488.jpg

IMG_1491.jpg

IMG_1493.jpg

IMG_1501.jpg

IMG_1503.jpg

IMG_1514.jpg

Thanks for looking

Mark

Sort:  

Love the toning of the flowers Mark, it reminds me of the old-school/vintage baroque artworks that contained many flowers.

Thanks, Ruben, I like the look too. Took a while to get a good base preset to apply in Lightroom but now I seem to be able to just run it and then do some final tweaks.

Wonderful pictures!)

Thanks, glad you enjoyed them.

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Nice colour !Really special images! Simply magical, my congratulations! Love it ♥️

Great shots. I wonder how did you manage to put those bugs on a black background :)

Flashgun and nothing behind the subject. Light falls off quick when the source is close to the subject :) But then I guess you know that already :)

I was expecting a similar answer, but... that fast? I mean was this taken in nature? With stuff in background? No light bouncing whatsoever? Amazing... :)

Yeah all taken outdoors in the natural environament, the only "light bouncing" would be through the big diffuser on the speedlight on the camera.

Inverse-square law is 'exaggerated' when doing macro. If you are 30cm away from your subject and using a flashgun then 30cm beyond the subject is 1/4 of the light that you have on the subject. 60cm behind the subject is 1/16 of the amount of light. As long as you don't have anything behind the subject for 30-60cm you will get a nice black background :)

Some people don't like black backgrounds, for most of my stuff, I do.

What i was wondering about then probably is absence of objects in 30 -60 com range. I mean my photographer mind says, there must have been something :)

Nope, i'm always on the hunt for stuff that is nicely isolated :)

Great photos, effort pays back :)

I'm in love with the second one <3 Beautiful shots, mark :D

Beautiful and very artistic photos! I imagine in that moment how I can paint them... I don't paint by reference, but your shots are so inspiring. I will not paint probably, I want only to say my feelings watching on your artworks. Thank you for sharing!

very beautiful collection...

I really like your photos