Smoke Photography in Lockdown - Things to do when you cant get outside.

in OCD4 years ago

Photography can open many avenues of things to do if you can't get outside like most of the population at the moment. Today I set up my lights to shoot some incense smoke. None of the below have had any editing done in photoshop, just some lightroom tweaks for exposure and saturation. In the blue and purple ones, I used two flashguns, each with a different coloured gel sheet on them. The red ones are a single flashgun with just a red gel. I have some white ones that I will be editing in photoshop to add gradient maps. I'll be uploading those later this week

IMG_0772.jpg

IMG_0750.jpg

IMG_0754.jpg

IMG_0773.jpg

IMG_0779.jpg

IMG_0751.jpg

And a quick shot of the setup for these. Pretty straightforward.

IMG_4808 4.JPG

Thanks for looking

Mark

Sort:  

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

wow that first red one is crazy, hard to believe that is smoke. It looks like some demonic fluid :) And I say that as a compliment ;) Really cool scroll shapes in some of the others. Nature really is the best artist. These turned out awesome!

Cheers bud. I could sit and watch the way the smoke come off an incense burner for ages. Its amazing the way it comes off in a straight line like the first red image and then turns into a load of repeating ripples like the second red one.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

The third one, I like that one, the deep swirl it makes is great, almost a red twisted mobias strip turned inside out, even though I know there is an inside or outside to a mobias strip.

Yeah that is one of my faves too. I thought it looked like a staircase descending into hell :)