You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: G-dog gets propositioned

in OCD4 years ago

“If somebody offers you an amazing opportunity but you are not sure you can do it, say yes – then learn how to do it later!”

― Richard Branson

This always grated on me. It's dishonest; and shows a huge amount of disrespect to someone who's contemplating investing in you.
A lot of this blog focused on your ability to perform the role; and to do so well.
I like to think I'm the same.
If your mate tapped me on the shoulder and offered me a tonne of money to market real estate developments, I'd thank him for his confidence in me and turn him down.
Not because I couldn't use the money or that I'd dislike the job; I just couldn't give him his money's worth.
Good luck with it, mate.

Sort:  

You know, he and I discussed this very thing today and I said to him that if I didn't feel I was capable of adding value to the business I would turn him down. I value the relationship more than a few bucks. Of course, he frothing to get me in the door and whilst he won't do anything to compromise his business, he will do what he can to make it happen.

At this stage it won't conflict with my job, what I do on my day off (they forced me to take at reduced pay) is my own business, and it's not in the same space as what I do now, so there's no conflict of interest. We will see what happens after tomorrow and in a few weeks when business plans are finalised. It could be a very good opportunity, or it may go nowhere.

Thanks for your message. Luck is good. :)

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.