You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just under a few words

in OCD3 years ago

Agree wholeheartedly. Comments on Facebook are drying right up.
I've found I often read a post, start composing a reply in my head, and then just not bother.
I remember a few years ago, I'd post a thinkpiece and my replies would go bananas as dozens of people would weigh in. I assumed I'd been shadowbanned for posting crypto/Steem/Hive stuff; but I've noticed the same with a heap of different friends' posts. Controversial or mundane, we're just not engaging.
I think the novelty's worn off and the energy's gone. Either we've worked out that it's manipulated and pointless or we're each spending more time on different, competing sites.

Sort:  

I've found I often read a post, start composing a reply in my head, and then just not bother.

I think many are doing this, where the discussion is had internally, but not a "real" discussion. Where does it lead, other than a higher risk of doubling down on already held thoughts?

Either we've worked out that it's manipulated and pointless or we're each spending more time on different, competing sites.

Both I suspect - the sites that are just consume with little thought probably do okay - The "cute hair/ dress/ bag" kind of stuff.