Baby, There Used to be This Thing Called:

in OCD4 years ago

I recently had my fourth baby and her brother and sisters and I have been having fun playing a game called: "There used to be this thing..."

In the game, my children and I take turns telling baby about things that used to exist before 2020.

It started with my oldest realizing that the baby would probably never watch Netflix. Why would she, as Disney + exists now, and is strictly made for an audience 13 and younger.

Beige and Gray Minimalist Quote Instagram Post.png

There used to be this thing called netflix.

There used to be these things called commercials.

We made bets regarding whether baby would ever need a drivers license. Grandpa thinks for sure she will. I am starting to doubt it.

There used to be this thing called Birthday Parties.

Cream Cupcake Birthday Party Invitation.png

Followed by jokes as to how many people she is related to. We don't see them anymore, now they are just "relatives."

There used to be these things called restaurants.

There were these places called Movie Theatres.

They had huge televisions and we would watch movies with complete strangers. No we didn't have to stand six feet from everyone.

Before, when someone went to Disneyland, they would have to stand in these things called lines.

There used to be this thing called school... and we would have to go every day.

We used to do this thing called grocery shopping, we used to go as a family.

Yes! We would all go together, and mom would let us all choose something to put in the cart. It was awesome.

Manifesting The Perfect Mindset 4.png
a little glimpse at a project I have been working on

You know those target boxes we get delivered to our front door?

We used to actually go to target, and we always convinced mama to buy us trinkets and popcorn and soda and sometimes even a tiny pizza.

And it wasn't just target. There were shoe stores, and candy stores. Clothing stores. And also these things called dollar stores.

You used to be able to buy stuff for just a dollar

We used to get pizza delivered to our house.

YES, delivery people would bring hot already cooked food to us. No we wouldn't disinfect it, we would just eat it.

Sometimes we wouldn't wash our hands! No, nobody died...

Beige Eagle Badge Police Business Card.png
In Alameda, Police Officers used to drive around and give free ice cream tokens to kids who were riding bikes wearing helmets. Earlier this week, those same kids protested and those same officers knocked them to the ground

Now, I read that police are getting defunded.

Baby, there used to be these people called Police Officers.

I think that's the biggest change of all.

I knew 2020 would be a year of change ever since I knew I was having a fourth baby. I just thought it was change for my family, not the whole world.

What about you? What do you miss about 2019?

Pink Brush Strokes Beauty Cosmetics Facebook Cover.png

For those of you who are wondering, my baby is completely healthy and so am I. I am in Alameda County and very close to riots but they are in my backyard, not my home. I can hear the helicopters and sirens at night, but I can't see them. My children and I are rolling with the changes, and, perhaps even still thriving, as we all continue to be well fed and healthy. Also, we have come to Northern California for some weeks which means the kids are now getting lots more exercise.

Sort:  

We are still staying safe. We do have a little more movement because we are at my husbands house and he still goes to work, but he is very careful and we are still social distancing.

It is kind of funny to talk to the baby like that, we realize it is for our own entertainment. Still though, we realize that speaking to the baby helps build her language skills and we do it as much as possible.

Thanks for visiting .