You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abuse Fighting Groups: Let's Talk Solutions (Art Edition)

in OCD4 years ago

@hivewatchers
@guiltyparties
@jaguar.force
@logic

I don't really know much about what you all are dealing with on a day to day basis. Would love to hear from your perspective if this sounds reasonable or ridiculous or somewhere in between.

Sort:  

Initially I can say this: I think your definition of plagiarism is inaccurate, impractical and even to a certain degree intellectually dishonest, for you know most of the "taking the work of others and passing it as your own"(plagiarism) in art is done by reproduction/rephrasing and not by outright art theft.
Saying only art theft is plagiarism is as obtuse as saying its only murder if done against a wall and with a 7.62 nato round.

It is a sort of argumentative Synecdoche fallacy (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synecdoche) where the part is taken by the whole or the whole for the part, in this case you take plagiarism to mean only a very reduced part of plagiarism, namely, straight out art theft is plagiarism, but there's obviously much more to it....

I will reply further later.

A more accurate description would be the difference between 1st, 2nd, and 3rd degree murder. All of them are bad. They all end with someone dead, but the punishment of the accused varies dramatically.

And while you might disagree, you can't honestly say I'm being intellectually dishonest as this as always been my stance which you're well aware of.

Ok, so lets do plagiarism 1st, 2nd and 3rd degree then

I like mine better.

you like red, I like blue, we can perhaps agree in a perfect violet?

Let me get some thoughts together and reply properly on this.

Hi,
I read your poste yesterday.
You can see my opinion in comments under juliakponsford's post.

I like your idea about state laws as long as they are not abusing Hive.
If some art contest or community sets up such rules, then it's all good.
To avoid confusing between understanding what rules what communities/posts have, the posting user could give short and well visible rule intro in the post, Hivewatchers can keep up to date about different "state rules" specific to different posts.

I think that makes sense. In general the way I'd see it working is primarily around Communities(States). If someone doesn't post in a Community I think it would make sense they can do whatever they want, as long as, as you mention they aren't abusing Hive.

I think the next step then, is to as clearly as possible, within reason, layout what we consider abusive to Hive at least regarding art.