Making a silver coin ring

in OCD4 years ago

20200330_155229.jpgHere is my first video of me producing a silver coin ring from a 1937 British half crown, the task of making the ring is pretty straight forward if you have the tools but if your going at it just with a hammer and coin things can soon become awkward.

Here is a quick run down of the video

1, punch the hole
2, remove sharp edges from the hole
3, anneal the silver (softening the metal by hearing to a low red heat and quenching in water)
4, pressing the coin in cone shaped dies
5, ring stretching turning the ring every stretch
5, turning the ring over in the cone to reduce the size
6, remove inner lip
7, pickled in acid to remove firescale
8, polish
9, filing edge and re polish
20200330_192349.jpg
The making time of the ring was done within an hour and the video editing was 20 mins but uploading to YouTube was hours but to be fair the file size is over 2gb and I have done everything from my Samsung Galaxy S6 edge.
20200330_192450.jpg
Some other notes about this ring is that I only have a 1 ton Arbour Press and it is not strong enough to punch through, so I used a lump hammer to add some extra force on top of the press, I also used a sonic cleaner to remove the polishing compound from the ring. I also have a few little tubs I keep various grades of silver in and as this coin was 50% that will mount up and I will make a silver ornament for my shelves.

All my posts now support @steem.dao with a 5% beneficiary of the rewards, if anyone has any questions please leave them in the comments and I will get back to you and all quality comments will be upvoted.

Sort:  

Awesome @monsterjamgold a fantastic video you are very gifted my friend!!!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @tibfox and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Awesome instructional video, @monsterjamgold! I love it!
Be safe and take, my friend 🥰🌺🤙

Thank you and I will try to.

That was awesome dude! I have a couple of questions though. Can you do this with .999 silver? Is a 1oz round too big? How about a Morgan dollar? Nice video.

You could do this with 999 silver but the downside of pure silver is that it is easily worn and can easily distort that's why they use 925 as the copper adds strength to the jewellery and yes you could do it with a Morgan but I don't have the dies for one and I probably couldn't bring myself to do that to one, glad you enjoyed the video.

Wow 😍😍😍 beautiful work! I follow you

Grazie, mi è piaciuto il coltello che hai fatto.

Ring making like a Pro! Thumbs up


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for sharing my post 👍

!discovery 50

Thank you for sharing my post

No worries and keep going on sharing good contents!!

Excellent video, watched every second of it.

Not only can you can a coin into a ring which i never knew you could do, but you can also edit videos pretty well as well :)

Auto edit buddy and did it in two shots just by pausing it when I had to move to another workstation

Sweet! That's very cool. Thanks for posting

How many of them rings to a chicken or goat

I'd probably go 1 for 1 with a chicken. But for a healthy goat, I'd need about 10 of them. Lol


Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it Entra nella nostra community! hive-193212
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it. Join our community! hive-193212