[Blog #58] Cycling is Freedom | Photography | Post-Quarentine Thoughts

in OCD4 years ago

Heya Quarantiners! Have you stopped to think about the collateral effects of being locked inside?


After cycling 3.000 km from Poland, I had just entered the UK on that cold and absolutely humid January. Despite the winter conditions in Europe, the bicycle trip had been a blast and a roller coaster of emotions, where I had freely slept in all sorts of weird places, such as farm fields, under bridges, bus stops, hostels, couches, on the forest, on valleys, near rivers, by the shore and especially under the freezing snow. The image I have from that trip was of a happy Europe, full of life and Christmas vibes, of people getting together and enjoying themselves outside.

Fast forward two years, to our current moment, I'm sitting at home and taking a break from the heavy economy studies I've been burried in since last year, when I came back home from that adventure in Europe. I'm also editing some old photos, that's where the motivation for this post comes from. I remember how everyone could enjoy their freedom without fearing for their life and most importantly, without fearing of breaking the law.

A cycling photo, because cycling represents freedom

Photo taken by me in the UK


After studying so much, without seeing my friends nor leaving my home much, I decided to go back into cycling last January. It felt great once again being able to freely camp and explore on the simplest way as possible, with only a tent and other essentials. I was also regaining confidence to post travel stories and feeling motivated to work on my book. It didn't take long though, for the Coronavirus to hit the world and everything to change.

As much as I try to think positively, that this lockdown is providing me with more time to write and develop new skills, it also gives me time to think on the collateral effects that will come once we are allowed to go outside. Will there be depressed people in need of help? Will there be people with panic attacks?

How are people going to behave? Will there be changes?

The answers I don't have, time will tell. What I fear is about what law enforcements those in power might put upon us, however, I'd like to leave the questioning for those who might come to read this post and enjoy the photography here presented.

Post on the comments your opinion on how our society will be affected after the Coronavirus quarentine. Will there be collateral damage? How's the quarentine affecting you? How will it change your life?


If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 3.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.

Sort:  

Parabéns, seu post foi selecionado pelo projeto Brazilian Power, cuja meta é incentivar a criação de mais conteúdo de qualidade, conectando a comunidade brasileira e melhorando as recompensas, obrigado!

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

In Iran, we are like 70% back to normal. Our economy already had major problems, so most of the people car more about their work than the corona-virus.

Based on statistics, we are doing OK corona-wise.

I was already the loner type, so I didn't feel much pressure from the virus, but businesses that most of their sell is in a month before our new year (February 21 to March 21) were hit badly by this virus.

An interesting thing for me was that how this virus showed the world that our way of life is so against nature. Yeah, we knew it before, but it was like an undeniable proof to everyone.

Yeah, I believe we undervalued nature and the power of being outdoors. Like yourself, i've always been a solo type guy, and generally enjoyed being inside. But dang, it hurts not being able to cycle and camp freely.