2020km Challenge - Charity Fundraising Gets Amazing Boost Thanks To People On Hive!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)


Running/Hiking 2,020km

At the start of this year, I wanted to do my own year long challenge to try and get to a distance of 2,020 km (1,255 miles) by a combination of running and hiking for the Alzheimer's Society. I'd be lying if I said it wasn't a massive battle even without injury or illnesses affecting play!

However, I received a MASSIVE boost in motivation and heart felt warmth thanks to a genius initiative from Pauline (aka @livinguktaiwan), a friend I met on Hive (a bad ass social media site). Unlike Facebook and Twitter, Hive has its own token system which can be used to reward users for content, comment engagement and, in this case, fundraising!

DSC_8316.jpg
Image Source

Fundraising - "Adopt The Hive Forest"

During lockdown, Pauline decided to hand craft 60 little cardboard cut-out trees and over this weekend has run a kind of "Adopt a Tree" initiative where users can adopt a tree for about £1 (3 Hive tokens).

90% of whatever is raised this way will be sent to the Alzheimer's Society through my JustGiving page and the remaining 10% will be used for a raffle once all trees have been adopted.

DSC_8323.JPG
As you can see, she's been a busy bee! [Image Source]

I've been absolutely taken aback by the response from everyone - within 48 hours, 51 out of the 60 have been adopted and additional donations have come in!

700km Reached!

This inspired me to go out for a 6 km run today despite the ridiculous winds suddenly bestowed upon the UK! I was literally one strong gust away from producing a horrible rendition of Mary Poppins (only without the umbrella and a more spindly, spider like running physique) 😂

I'll have a full report as usual at the end of the month where I see how my progress matches up to where I should be but for the first time since mid January, I hope to be ahead of target by the end of May! It's taken 4 months to recover from the injury and illness ridden months of January and February but I'm so buoyed by this weekend and will do my best to get through the challenge all in aid of Alzheimer's Society!


Click here to find out more about Alzheimer's Disease

Thanks to everyone who's supporting the cause! If you are reading this and you're not on Hive, get yourselves and account here! Send me a DM or email on whichever site you're reading from and I'll help you get started!

Until the next time, take it easy!

Nicky

Thanks to @steempress for developing the WordPress plugin, which helps connect bloggers to the blockchain. If you'd like to add the plugin to your WordPress site, click here to get started.

Original article on my website

Sort:  

That's so cool Nicky! I saw that initiative and it really left me speechless to how connected we are to each other and the urge of offering our help really makes the difference! We finally make the right steps to a great community we've been searching for so long.

I know Gabriela! This is an amazing heart warming situation! Got me feeling all fuzzy inside and want to run every where now to get through the challenge haha!

Everyone that is helping this cause and is supporting you just show how amazing people can be during all times of life. I believe that when things get seriously tough, we all come in together even more than before. I am so happy that this is working out so good.

BTW I would have loved to have seen that spider like run, Marry Poppins style. Actually, that should be a giphy, one that I would use a lot! Made me laugh lol.

Yeah it never ceases to amaze me the good will of human nature shining through in all these extreme times! It's so heartwarming 😊

Lol, I was looking for a gif but couldn't find an appropriate one so will just have to leave it to the imagination of the reader haha

Wonderful way to help the charity, well done @nickyhavey and @livinguktaiwan

Thanks a lot Joan, this fundraiser and @livinguktaiwan has given me a huge inspiration and boost. What an amazing place and people have been so generous with their donations! 😊

Thank you Joan.

Many people not on the chain still have misconception about crypto currency, hopefully this can help dispel some of those misunderstanding

This bad ass social media site is filled with so many kind hearted people. Plus having our own token makes cross border donation so much easier. What's not to love about Hive ☺️

You're so right and you're one of those kind hearted people too! A great place to get involved with and you're right about the global donations from different parts of the world, that opens up so many possibilities!

Congratulations @nickyhavey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You are a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Hive Revolution - Call for missions