Four Weeks Into Being A New Dad - SO TIRED!

in OCD4 years ago

I've Never Been So Sleep Deprived

I have to admit, I completely forgot how utterly exhausting it is to have a newborn. I've basically been a walking zombie for the past 4 weeks. I don't know what day of the week it is, what time it is, or often if it is morning or night!

Putting on a happy face! On the way to the gardens for a walk - The only time we leave the house these days.

You see, my wife and I started off taking turns waking up to feed the baby. But that wasn't really working out. We initially would put the bassinet next to whomever was going to be waking up to feed him, but we both kept freaking out and waking up with every little sound. After about a week of zero sleep for both of us, we decided to change it up.

Can't you see that I'm awake? Pick me up, already!

For the last 3 weeks, I have been staying up all night, and sleeping in the morning, while my wife sleeps in the evening. Unfortunately we live in a loft apartment, so there are no doors to close and no way to get away from light or sound. So whoever is sleeping has to wear a mask and earplugs.

We having been reading this book called Twelve Hours' Sleep by Twelve Weeks Old by Suzy Giordano. So far so good. Basically, starting at around 4 weeks, you begin training the baby to get all of its food in during the day, then they sleep for 12 hours at night. Obviously we've just started, so we have a ways to go.

He sleeps just fine as long as he's on your lap. Don't dare put him down!

I've had a bit of difficulty getting used to the routine because I've also been getting some pretty severe bouts of anxiety from what I believe to be a stomach ulcer that formed during extreme stress while my wife was giving birth. She was having some complications because every time she had a contraction, then baby's heart rate would drop from 150BPM to around 50. They ended up having to do an emergency c-section. Unfortunately, all of the stress must have done something to my stomach because it has been burning ever since! I've been to a doctor and hopefully we'll have it worked out soon. But it has been super rough!

I don't know if I'm coming or going. Holy crap am I out of it...

On the up side, I've seemed to have gotten little Ricky down to about 1 middle of the night feeding (at around 2am) and another one around 5am or so. Part of the problem is getting him back to sleep once he has eaten. By some miracle of God he went right to sleep this morning! I am posting this at 4:13am, so fingers crossed he'll sleep a bit longer.

Dreaming About Dreaming

All I can say is that I love the little guy to pieces, but boy am I looking forward to the day when I can get a full night's sleep in again. I am certainly feeling the pain of being in my 40s! To all you 20 somethings... Don't think it's a long way away because it isn't. I promise you! My wife and I got together when I was 29. We went nuts, traveled around the world, visited all kinds of places. We had a ton of fun and finally settled down for a couple of years in one place. All of a sudden it hit me that I was over 40.

These toys are stupid! Just carry me around all day. Or I will scream!

Where the hell did the time go? I'm telling you - it hit me like a pile of bricks. All that being said, it is a miracle that I am able to do this - be a dad again. I just hope that I can survive this sleepless stage!

Sort:  

Dear Rick, you might know all this already, but perhaps this may give you some more info about ulcers. I had stomache problems myself and whenever that occurs, watching my diet sure helps. I recommend these articles:

  1. Stress Ulcer
  2. Stomach Ulcer Diet

It is important that both of you stay healthy and strong for your baby. These first few months are trying times, but soon will be over, and everyone will get a good night's sleep.
I was 10 years older than you when my youngest son was born. Yes, time flies. He is 23 years old now.

Thanks for the links, @thermoplastic :)

I have a history of generalized anxiety as it is, so all of this added stress has really exacerbated it. I have been trying to follow the 'low FODMAP diet' which is designed for people with IBS. Basically foods that irritate the gut. I'm going in to get everything checked out soon just to be safe, but I really feel like my main issue is stress and anxiety. Mostly because my symptoms are so intermittent.

Sometimes they are really strong, and other times I feel almost completely fine. But there is always this nagging underlying anxiety issues. More than anything, I think I need a really good psychologist. The problem is, I hardly trust any of them.

I remember it all too well, mine is 16 now and way past this stage. We had those dangly toys too!

Dude I am dying here.. hehe! my other son is 23 now. I was no where NEAR this tired back then. In fact, I was 19 years old and worked a night shift. Then I came home and took over the baby while my ex slept. Now, I can't even work. I've done like 3 hours of work since this kid was born.

Your doing fine... Might have to change some thing to fight father time.. diet number one as I see it...

It is a whole new way of life for sure.. he requires attention 24/7!

Hola @nuthman… He elegido tu post para mi iniciativa diaria de reblogear. Este es mi aporte para Hive…
Sigamos trabajando y aportando ideas para crecer en Hive!...
alegria.jpg
Hello @nuthman... I have chosen your post for my daily reblogging initiative. This is my contribution to Hive...
Let's keep working and giving ideas to grow in Hive!

Oh man you really look tired. Hope you can get some rest soon.

Me too.. it is aging me even faster.

I remember it so well Rick, sleep is precious and no time for yourself ~ However, the first month is the hardest, as so many will tell you! Only upwards from here, eat lots of red smarties (they used to make my daughter so hyper!) that we removed them from the tube eventually 🤣

Hehe.. I hope you are right. Entering month 2 now. Hoping he will start sleeping more at night. Also the gassy tummy has made it miserable for him and us.

Looking at that little guy .... it will be worth the temporary insanity and lack of sleep. :-)

I look forward to it! So difficult for now...

Even though boredom is part of the parents' obligation to take care of their children, have a nice day @nuthman. Cute babies, hopefully they will be obedient babies to their parents.

I wish it were simply boredom. It is the sleeplessness that is getting me!

Congratulations man! Of course it is a miracle! 😊

Thanks! It is also a miracle if I survive it. Haha

Such a cute boy! Newborns can be stressful, you just have to enjoy every bit of it.

I am enjoying it as much as I can! Half asleep, but loving it all the same. haha

Hi @nuthman, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rehan12!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Wow congratulation new dad. Your baby is so much cute.

I cant imagine what a baby goes through during a C-section . The Shock is very different than normal birth . I would think that when he is on His mum or dad s chest ( heart beat ) it is soothing its stress of the shock of the change .
I would try few hours like that each of you , might work and yeah the food , i hope she is feeding the boobies .
Yeah you tired but , so much more knowledge to bring after 40 years of life , so much more than at 25 , different love , that is the biggest gift for him and you , beside the biggest love .
Touch his skull and neck , stretch the body .
Hey , you look pretty decent 😉

You are doing a great job! Little Ricky is growing day by day!