What's Life About?

in OCD2 years ago

pexels-photo-1028930 - 2021-12-23T123812.086.jpeg
[Source]


I know we all have a lot to say about life and it's a topic that never runs out of fashion because life happens every day. The interesting thing about life is that it happens to everyone and it varies. We all have our life stories, we all have a similar yet varying thing about life just as we all have that unifying thing also about life. Life is broad so are the experiences that life dishes out to us.

We all have stories even though most people are scared of sharing theirs while I believe we also have dreams but not everyone is capable of living in that reality. As they would say here in Nigeria, it is what it is.

Despite how life deals with us or favours us because I want to believe good and bad lie side by side, so we get to experience both worlds even if for some, it could be fleeting and momentarily. Regardless of what we experience about this life, we should never forget to learn from it. That's something we should all be able to relate to because with experiences comes the ability to know how to navigate through life. Life isn't easy and there are so many regrets flying around in the air. Life sometimes gives us a second chance or many more chances and oftentimes, life doesn't. Once an opportunity presents itself and we don't see it as such, then, we are bound to live in regrets all through our life.


pexels-photo-91224 - 2021-12-23T123934.781.jpeg
[Source]


Someone shared in the comment section of the post I linked to this post where he said "We really have dreams that we wish we have pushed through. The point is that it is never too late to pursue them all." I totally understand his point there but in reality, when we don't have to go motivational and decide to be realistic, some dreams are too late to pursue. I wish I can go and play football again professionally but age isn't on my side. Maybe I should have done that after I left University but dad's death hit us all so hard that it won't even come up in my head but rather we were focused on how to survive.

What am I trying to say? I am saying we have to live and learn and that's what life is about. Life is actually the only school that would give you a test before giving you the lesson which is alien to our educational system.

We sometimes feel we understand everything but in reality, we don't...not until life happens and you have to learn and relearn just by initially unlearning what you thought you knew. You will always see those who life has dealt with more than you and in case you feel you are the only one at the receiving end of life's cruelty, wait until you meet someone else. In my language, we usually say, "You would always think your father's farm is the biggest until you see another person's father's farm." I guess that explains that. We all need help at some point in life and it's never a shame to ask for it.

We sometimes don't get more out of life because we are not ready to learn. We get so level headed to think no one can ever teach us anything because we feel too confident that we know too much. Wait and see how life would humble you because even nature has a lot to teach us. Our ability not to learn from life makes it hard for us to get the needed strength to forge ahead because life is always teaching but we are not flipping the page nor taking time to know. We sometimes listen to respond not to know and that's why I always tell people this wonderful phrase: "May you get more out of life than just a cup of tea."


pexels-photo-103127 - 2021-12-23T124106.508.jpeg
[Source]


We should all be open to learning especially when we take into cognizance our varying attitudes because you are bound to repeat a bad experience if and when you don't learn from it. I've learnt how to relate more with humans with the way things turned out when my dad died. Social skill and understanding human behaviour is something we all need to take into consideration.

There are billions of people in the world so we need to know that life isn't just about our views or what we think. We need to consider others. Understanding other people's views doesn't mean you have to do them but it keeps you informed and gives you options in making a decision. You have to respect the opinion of others even when you disagree with them.

Be open to the views of others, take into account the lessons in life and what nature and life's experiences are trying to teach you. I don't have to agree with what you say but you can beat your chest confidently that I would defend your right to your opinion.

What do you think life is about? You can either respond in the comment section or make a post out of it which would be cool too and you can tag me because I love to learn and see life through other people's lenses.


This post also appeared here and it's my original work on my blog on Read.Cash.


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor's order.

Sort:  

Great content a d am glad to read through

I am glad. Thank you.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks a lot for this.