Daydream Series, A Painting of Dreams

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

I’ve been working on abstract paintings lately, and I do find my style should use oil or acrylic instead of watercolor, but right now I’d stick to what I have.

There was a lack of creativity and motivation as I have to shift more focus on life and rest, and I feel exhausted at the end of the day.

So far I haven’t seen improvements, but just the sole urge to do art.


Strawberry
Acrylic on Canvas

Strawbery was painted for fun. My sister is a painter and she'd cut her own canvas, leaving tiny pieces of it. I took two of it and stapled it on a DIY wood frame.

The painting is quite old and was once left to dust, when I went home one time (I'm no longer living in our house), I cleaned it up and hanged it in the living room.

Strawberry isn't fancy, but I hold it precious as it was my first acrylic painting. I would keep painting it again (I did a few using watercolors), but I would still keep this original painting.


Storm Inside
Watercolor on Paper 210 x 210 mm

I took inspiration from my dream, which supposed to be an oil painting on a 3-canvas continuous painting as a backdrop of a diorama.

Storm Inside came from vivid dream of s series of life-size paintings arranged in a manner that looks continuous when perceived on front side. One panel stands in front and two others behind it.

In that dream, I saw swirls of storm in blue and black. Like storm clouds grueling, marching on the horizon—waiting to bring heavy downpour.

The dream haunts me to paint it in acrylic or oil, someday I will. I promise myself, I would paint this diorama of Storm Inside.

Few other painting were not included in this post. After the pandemic, I intend to splurge a bit with oil. I dream of oil, but can't seem to afford it back then.

As a start, I'd practice with abstract paintings before I find my own style. For watercolor, I see loose watercolor as my style. For acrylic and oil, I still don't know yet.

Painting is my outlet for emotional outbursts, most of my paintings in pre-2020 were the product of anxiety and depression.

But in the next years, I would paint happiness and my canvas would be filled with bright and cheerful colors—because that is what I am now, happy and full of gratitude for this beautiful life.

View Original: Daydream Series


PREVIOUS POST
Fantasy Series, A Painting of Dreams
Writing was always my escape when my thoughts overwhelm me.


HiveHealth BETA
Check your performance in Hive, find out your top performing post, and more. TRY IT!

HiveHealth Weekly Reports #1
Welcome to HiveHealth's aggregated weekly reports!


Curious about Crypto?
Buy and Sell on Coinbase
Get Started


About Me

@oniemaniego is a test engineer, but outside work, he experiments in the kitchen, writes poetry and fiction, paints his heart out, or toils under the hot sun.

Onie Maniego was born in Leyte, PH. He grew up in a rural area with a close-knit community and a simple lifestyle, he is often visiting his father's orchards during summer and weekends, which has a great impact on his works.

Don't forget to vote, comment, and follow me.


Not yet on Hive? Earn while blogging.
Sign Up