Depth Series, Painting about Pain

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

captivity.jpg

"I don’t know." I hear myself say.

I couldn’t comprehend myself, I don’t understand what I feel and it just hurt me the more I think about my emotions.

I can feel my heart spilling out. I could hear it beating and it only give more questions than answers.

This was 2018, I was in my deepest sorrows and was feeling heartaches in physical pain. My heart felt like being crushed and ripped apart.

The ghosts in my head haunted me of the past, telling lies and wanting my soul to rot.

Yet I know I was strong and these things shall pass. I poured my heartaches into colors, painting watercolors at night dripping with tears and pains.

captivity.jpg
Captivity
Watercolor on Paper

Captivity was a tug of war, where I was losing. My grip was too tight, but the rope wasn't so strong it needed to break away from me. The rope flew into the hands of others.

tears.jpg
Tears at Midnight
Watercolor on Paper

Heartaches for me wasn't just an emotional pain, it was also a physical one and I felt it so deeply that my heart went weak.

Tears at Mignight rhymed with the stitching process, crying that time was like a needlework, but for the heart.

adrift.jpg
Adrift
Watercolor on Paper

For two years, I felt drowning and my thoughts were just to deep. All that I write were tinge with darkness of the deep murky waters of depression.

For those who loved and lost, it will not be the end of the world. In my darkest days, I used painting and writing as an outlet to for my unsaid words to be turned into art and poetry.

Art and writing became my friends when my thoughts became my enemy.

View original: Depth Series


PREVIOUS POST
Daydream Series, A Painting of Dreams
In that dream, I saw swirls of storm in blue and black. Like storm clouds grueling, marching on the horizon—waiting to bring heavy downpour.


HiveHealth BETA
Check your performance in Hive, find out your top performing post, and more. TRY IT!

HiveHealth Weekly Reports (2020-08-01)
Welcome to HiveHealth's weekly reports!


Curious about Crypto?
Buy and Sell on Coinbase
Get Started


About Me

@oniemaniego is a test engineer, but outside work, he experiments in the kitchen, writes poetry and fiction, paints his heart out, or toils under the hot sun.

Onie Maniego was born in Leyte, PH. He grew up in a rural area with a close-knit community and a simple lifestyle, he is often visiting his father's orchards during summer and weekends, which has a great impact on his works.

Don't forget to vote, comment, and follow me.


Not yet on Hive? Earn while blogging.
Sign Up

Sort:  

I like your Tears at Midnight and Adrift. Both of these give a sense of what happens after. Tears at Midnight gives a sense of recovery. Adrift gives a sense of having completely lost.

Thank you so much @shainemata! It has been my habit to paint when I'm down, also, it has been more than a year and I'm doing fine already.

I hope to paint again and it will be about happiness and gratefulness. Most of the aspects in my life have improved a lot and I want to immortalized this wonderful life into paintings.

Due to the pandemic, I can't still find an open shop that sells art materials, but as soon I can order it, I plan to paint again. ;)

You do a great job with your paintings. They evoke emotions. Perhaps it is more correct to say that they evoke empathy.

I don't think it is easy to do for many artists, at least many whose work I have seen. Most of what they evoke is anger at their monstrosity and at their parents for not having drowned them as children. Of course, I am joking. Still, I have trouble accepting what passes for art these days.

Your paintings, however, very easily connect with the viewer's emotions. They remind me of Edvard Munch's The Scream.

Hahaha! I don't consider myself as a good artist as I only have the curiousity, but less talent, though I can see a potential in myself. :D

Based on what I've read before, most of the artists who made a lasting impression may had traumatic experiences in life, were battling anxiety and depression, and/or were suffering some health conditions.

I don't want to be in any those states just to make good art, so I will find a way to paint with happiness, not to show off of course, but to explore the process of painting happily.

Thanks a lot for the compliments, I appreciate it a lot :)

So emotional and touching. Keep it up

Thank you so much @tolukeys

Congratulations @oniemaniego! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs

Thank you 90 🐝

it's beautiful !