You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abuzz in the bonnet

in OCD4 years ago

Lovely macro's here and maybe that guy was out scouting for a suitable nesting site.
Near something sweet and water.

What I would like to know is how does a Yellow Jacket get to Finland from the Western Cape Province in South Africa. Or visa versa?
They fall in the family "Vespidae" (Paper wasps)

Amazingly we have 9 provinces and the yellow jackets only appear in the Western Cape Province.

Ps.Just read in our bug book that they are an exotic species, imported from Europe!

Regarding your reading matter here, it all depends on what one focuses on. FUD news or real life.

Sort:  

We have yellow jacket wasps here too; Pretty aggressive wasps, will sting multiple times. Not very welcome.

Hahaha, I think that you know the story about me strapped in a Dive Bomber ride and hit several times in the chest by a wasp my friend?

Real little buggers and we have different types here that build mud nests under the roof overhang (also posted before) I keep going around with a broomstick knocking the new nests off before they are populated,

Little buggers. We get those European wasps too...Quite dangerous. Just another thing to add to the list of bitey, stingy things. 🤔

Hahaha, thankfully they don't have the same poison as bees.... else I would have been done for a long time ago, as I am allergic.

I know a few people who are allergic to bees; Quite a serious condition really. I'm not. Been stung a few times...Bloody hurts. Little buggers. 🐝

3 stings thus far resulting in 3 short emergency hospital stays my friend.
Swelling of the face and throat, losing vision and difficult breathing.
Heart palpitations, sweat and shaking.

Sounds not too good methinks.

Yep,it must be frightening to experience...Luckily I don't have to but have seen a little kid get stung and he was allergic...Wasn't pleasant. He survived fortunately.

Yep, the paper wasp (i did my research) has yellow antennae and is slimmer - but this is a yellowjacket. There are also different sizes of them out there and this doesn't seem to be on the smaller side.

Regarding your reading matter here, it all depends on what one focuses on. FUD news or real life.

We are what we eat and are influenced by what we surround ourselves with.

!ENGAGE 25

Our book says that he is of the paperwasp family and there are many species in the family.
So you are correct, he is not an actual paperwasp but one of the species in the family. The scientific name of the family is "Vespidae"

Truth also in you next answer. I think that's why the saying, to "surround yourself with like minded people" comes from.
The thing is that everyone is not of sound mind and they are attracting their own likenesses.
People with "broken wings" will attract others with "broken wings" as my psychiatrist daughter told me.

Hope that you guys will have a good week and thank you for the "Engage"

I prefer to surround myself with a wide range of mindsets, so then I am not as siloed by the people I surround myself with. Broken wings indeed, often they get into relationships and circles that rather than mending breaks, keep the wounds fresh.

A good idea, as many different worldviews to draw from.

In a few cases some broken wings couples have managed to heal each other, but most often it results in dysfunctional families. Alcohol and drugs are taken to escape from life's realities and we have some case where both parents and children are hooked on the stuff.

Alcohol and drugs are taken to escape from life's realities and we have some case where both parents and children are hooked on the stuff.

Lol, I just wrote a little on this, not quite directly related, but close enough :)

Well in some ways I am afraid that are just a wee bit like minded my friend.
I will go and look for it!

Where did you post?

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you kindly for the tokens @tarazkp