It is impossible to practice this piece | Bach, Triosonate BWV 525, third movement

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

thumbYT.jpg

After I practised the first two movements of Bach's Triosonate in E flat major (BWV 525), it is now time to practise the third part. I was not looking forward to it, as it looks like a terribly difficult piece with lost of fast notes and spots of complicated hand feet coordination. Now that I have started practising and playting the piece it becomes clear that my fears were unjustified. In fact, it is actually a lot of fun to play it.

And that presents another problem. Like Vidas Pinkevicius (@organduo on this platform) will tell you: practice slowly! Only when you've mastered all the notes and can play them without error in slow tempo it is time to speed things up a little and work your way towards performance tempo. That is rule number one for any musician: practise slowly.

Only, I can't. This composition contains a few bars (and they appear in both sections on the composition) that I simply adore. They are fun, witty, ful of sunshine and 'joy de vivre'. And they just don't work when you play them slowly.

Even if I start to play slowly, as I should, when I reach those bars, my tempo goes up to what I think should be my performance tempo. Luckily I never tire of playing these bars and they are not too difficult. The rest of the piece however is difficult, and I invariably run into problems in later bars.

Sigh.

I really need to get a hold on myself, I need more self control. Does somebody know where I can order some??

The video demonstrates what I mean. You'll easily see which bars I like so much. This fragment is from the second half of the piece. That looks the most difficult to me, so I atarted working on that section. With this lack of discipline it'll be a long time before I can properly play this piece.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Sonus Paradisi, of the Klapmeyer organ in the St. Nikolai church in Altenbruch (http://www.sonusparadisi.cz/en/organs/germany/klapmeyer-organ-altenbruch.html).

Sort:  

Man, you play Bach so well! Yeah, practicing slowly seems to be the answer to a complex music piece. My mom used to fill our home with Pachelbel's Canon in D. So beautiful. And she played it ultra-slowly, since she was practicing, and it turns out now I much prefer the slow rendition of that song. Most of the recordings of that song are too fast, I feel. It can be a real emotional movement at the right pace.

I fear I'm far too impatient to play something really slowly. I've actually never played that Canon. Should perhaps try it one day.

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!