Gender Equality, Sexual Harassment, or a load of S**T?

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Bit of an odd topic for me to be discussing, but this comes from a conversation I recently had with a friend. As many of you know, I'm not the most politically correct person in the world and so I know the contents of this post might offend some people. The aim is not to offend but express my opinion, have a bit of a rant, and have a healthy discussion.


source

Gender Equality. it's a good thing, right?
Well, I think so anyway. But what I don't get is why some women seem to get upset when one of the lads, talks to them like one of the lads. Or why some of these women will flaunt it, often using their sexuality to gain some sort of an advantage, and then cry #metoo when men, just act like men!

If we want gender equality, equal treatment, and respect as equal, then we have to return the respect. Why give men so much shit for being men. Men are just as hormonal as women, only most often in a way different way. Okay so equality has nothing to do with hormones, but it has everything to do with being human. Eat, sleep, reproduce, and die. The circle of life. It's part of a man's genetics. We expect man to tolerate our hormonal mood swings, but when they act out, it's oh #metoo. Like WTF.

If an attractive woman walks into an office, I think it's okay that men look. If an attractive man walks into the office, it's equally ok for me to be looking 😀. Women do it too. They will look at the attractive man and the attractive woman. ALL THE TIME. Stop fucking pretending.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not here to defend men either. In fact, I hate most of them anyway, but it just gets on my goat when those that say they want equality and acceptance, really just want to be treated like a higher species.

I expect men to take out the bins. Maybe deep down im a sexist pig too.

Political correctioness and sexuality(human nature) don't go hand in hand. And I would rather not replace human nature with political correctness.

source

Many years ago I was at a massive after-party. I had been to a gig, rave (with a well known European DJ) after which I somehow managed to find myself in the penthouse suite of a 5-star hotel at the afterparty. It was rather bizarre, to be honest, but all in all a great night out. At this after-party, there were many very attractive girls. Most of which were dancers. All of which were throwing themselves at both the DJ and the club owner. All competing against each other for these men, and using their sexuality to do so. The club owner was a sleaze bag. He was a big man, and not in the muscley sense, really bad skin, and sweaty, horribly sweaty. Simply put, he was a pig, But mega loaded. And that's what the girls were really after. The money. The free drink, and a few free lines of coke. Women are far from perfect.

At some stage, during the party, this sleaze bag came over to me. I can't remember what he said to me or even how the conversation went. I do know he was hitting on me and I remember he concluded I was a lesbian because I wasn't interested in him or the DJ, and called a dancer over to give me a lapdance. Oh man such a mega crazy night. I didn't feel very comfortable with the lap-dancer swinging her bits in my face but I can fully laugh at the entire situation. I can laugh at how stupid that man was, driven by hormones and full of coke. But that's men. Just like women, men are far from perfect. But he had an impression of women being loose and easy because that's how women were around him.

Not all men and women are like those at the party that night. And yes I accept sometimes bad things happen. But most often, men are just being men. You want equality, then you gotta accept their faults because until you do, there will be no equality. I want to be able to have a laugh with men and with women. If men said half the things to women that I say to men, they would get a terrible time.

Now that I have had my rant, I wonder who I will get attacked by more, the men or the women. I know I don't post often, but sure when I do, I might as well discuss something controversial. So whos worse, men or women? Have gender inequality and sexual harassment claims gone to far? Are we trying to change human nature? Are we killing the ability to have fun with the opposite sex?

Sort:  

I think it's about respect. If someone is happy to play those sort of flirting game then that is their choice, but you should not force your morals on others. You cannot judge someone just on their appearance, which they have limited control over. It's actions that matter. Applies to race as well as gender. As a white guy it's hard to appreciate what women and other races go through.

And other races and the ladies can appreciate what white men have to endure. I don't think its about gender or race, rather perception and mental state. Some can take a bit of banter, some get insulted by it. I'm not saying discrimination does not happen, but people jump on the band wagon very fast and they should often be looking at their own behaviour

There'a a lot of knee-jerk reactions going on. If there is respect between people then they can joke about gender and race. Otherwise feelings can easily be hurt. Rushing to remove any content that might offend can be an over-reaction. There's a lot of old TV/movies/music/humour that was not really intended to offend, but can look bad now, e.g. Fawlty Towers on Germans and others. It was written to mock those attitudes. Other stuff was much worse. Need to keep some perspective.

Anyway, I judge people by what they do, not how they look. I can even disagree with them over politics, but still get on.

Lol yeah some of the old ads on the telly were nuts. We can blame globalisation for ending those.

Politics and religion, always makes interesting discussions. Life would be a bit on the dry side if everyone agreed.

Stop fucking pretending

Strong 💪 words. I’m gonna use this and Tweet something cool

Strong words to express a strong feeling. I will keep an eye on twitter 😉

Or why some of these women will flaunt it, often using their sexuality to gain some sort of an advantage, and then cry #metoo when men, just act like men!

I don't think it's a good defence to say "it's just men being men". We are more violent than women and I expect this is due to our evolutionary make up. But you wouldn't accept men being violent towards women (or other men) because it's 'a man thing'.

So while I think it's wrong for men to be overly aggressive in hitting on a woman, I do think women have to understand that it can be more likely to happen if you dress and act a certain way. So while it is wrong, people do need to take a measure of personal responsibility. Are women as responsible for the outcomes as men in these situations, no way. Us men need to start moving into the modern times and stop being evolutionary brutes. And this is coming from a large strong male who played all full contact football codes here in Australia. I don't need some right-wing twat claiming I'm a cuck or a not masculine enough. I don't define myself on my masculinity. And I think people who do are shallow idiots.

Awesome, I ranted too! :D

edit: I'm not implying you are a "right-wing twat", in case it came across that way.

Great rant. Its feels good right !!!!!@

Yes men are often stronger and no I do not accept volience. When things go that far, then it is not acceptable. Believe me, I know bad things can happen. And I'm not talking about these more serious things, and maybe I am more tolerant of the less serious stuff because I am so aware of the more serious.

Have gender inequality and sexual harassment claims gone to far?

Yes

Are we trying to change human nature?

Yes

Are we killing the ability to have fun with the opposite sex?

Yes

That's the problem with the PC crowd. They take the fun out of everything. Why can't we just empower women to say "Fuck off" when men are being sexist pigs? Why does everyone have to play the victim?

Saying "fuck off" to a man can get you hit or killed. We are a violent sex, and on average a lot stronger than women.

Most often it doesn't end this way. I'm happy to tell a man to fuck off. Hormones do not = psycopath and not all men should be labled this way. I lived with a psychopath, although it took a long long time to get a diagnoses after our relationship ended. Meds keep him calm now.

I think that equality has been reached for men and women in this arena, a lot of them are pigs and swine, congratulation to the women for reaching full equality with men in the pig sty.

Damn dude you put that perfectly 😃

I think there's also an element of knowing yourself here @paulag.

I was born and raised in Denmark, which is typically considered one of the most gender-equal societies on the planet. I now live in the USA; I'm married to an American.

Some years back, we went to Denmark and took our (then) 19-year old daughter. It was interesting to see her own internal struggle, because she loved the ideal of the egalitarian nature of Denmark, and yet really struggled with the idea that (as we called it) "pulling the girl card" to get things was really not very acceptable "currency" in Denmark.

So when I say "knowing ourselves," I think we get to look at whether were truly at ease with where the reality of the ideal differs from our perception of the ideal.

I don't have a direct answer to your question... but I do think that parts of the "blame" lays across gender lines. A woman's statement like "all men are pigs" exists in part because many women shrug and say "boys will be boys" when a guy grabs her ass. There's not a uniform response for what's acceptable...

Interesting discussion!

Very interesting comment about ur daughter. Society differs so much, what is acceptable by some is not by others. Some comes from nuture, some from experience, some from ignorance. But underneath it all, no matter what the gender, we are all human and all unique 😀

I thought for sure the after party story was going to end with a marriage. 🤣

You make some really good points. I think it all comes down to just being a good person to each other. Interact with people that actually affect your life, and stop fighting against an invisible "they" that you'll never encounter in your life.

"I thought for sure the afterparty story was going to end with a marriage."

It was love at first sight really, I was just playing hard to get. A sugar daddy might be nice 😂🤣😅

Good rant! And you gracefully avoided the mega-exploited trend of the moment about colors.

Phew, glad I got that off my chest. I always feel better after a good rant.

Well, I won't attack you since I totally agree with you on all accounts. 🤣

Some people are just idiots, others are gold diggers. No matter if they are men or women. That's just how life is...

so which category do I fall into idiots or gold digger 🤣😂

Hopefully none of them. 😇

Great answer, ur safe so 😁

Political correctness and all that incumbent BS, is the thin end of cultural marxist wedge - in an attempt to promote 'right think'. (a la Orwells, 84).

Equality is a concept, not a reality. Mutual respect can be a reality.

'We' , all of us, have been brought up in a paradigm that's not in sympathy with natural norms, but more of a psychological experiment being played out on us.
An intellectual, sociological, experiment.

Corrupting reality is an essential part of the communist doctrine, for it ever having a chance to work. (communism being installed in the west since WW1, just under the falsely named guise of 'free market capitalism').

Political correctness didn't 'just happen', it was engineered by the leftists entrenched in academia.
The concept of equality (not mutual respect) being part of the same twisted attempt to force a square peg (intellectual leftism), into a round hole (reality).

People are now waking up to the wool that's been pulled over all our eyes for this last century.
Truth and reality will always win out, it's just that it can take a while sometimes. Unfortunately.
The price of the time it takes to get there, is broken homes, divided families, purposeless lives, mental illness, and financial hardships.

On the upside, the speed of it's collapse will be a 1000x quicker than the speed of it's construction.

From everyone on Hive, your response to this was rather perdictable,but no less valid 😀

lol.....I was gonna start with coke fueled after parties, but was in a serious mood..

the days of me attending parties like that are a distant memory now, but good memories all the same, I may have taken some by surprise with that 🤣

Mine are probably not quite as distant as yours, but fading...

(did you ever slum it 'the shaft'-shaft- , btw, after pod?)

Lol yes

you must know the bar guy (upstairs) then, Ken? - looked bit like rob lowe -bodybuilder.
(not gay, but eye candy for the punters. lol)

Congratulations @paulag! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 62000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 63000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!