May Hive Post Payouts (V's steem May '18)

in OCD4 years ago

Hay Hivers. Its been a while. Too long. Since the Hive began, I have struggled to find the time to be active. With kids off school since mid-March and set to be home for another 12 weeks, trying to find the time to work is difficult let alone time to spend on hobbies and passions. I trust you are all well??

But today I decided to sign up for the HiveSQL database for a month. I really want to get back in the saddle and no better way than committing to a month's subscription. The problem is, I forget all the SQL I had learned in the past and I have no idea of the database structure. Maybe @arcange could direct me to some documentation on Hive SQL and @abh12345 will be there for me to ask SQL questions. And with any luck by the end of the month, I will be able to produce some great data posts

Today I started simple and I explored some data around Posts for the month of May and I also found a May 18 post from steem so we can make some comparisons.

There were 9763 unique authors with a top-level post on May 20 creating a total of 116,197 posts. In May 18 the number of the top-level post was 1.178M. Less than 1 tenth of the posts on Hive than there was on steem the same time 2 years ago.

Hive - May 2020
1.png

On May 20 on Hive, the gross payouts were 234,737. Right now I am not sure what this value means and how it is stored in the DB. I need to confirm if it is Hive, HBD, or US$. I do think it is the USD$ equivalent. Maybe @arcange can answer in the comments?

Almost 14% of posts have no payout. Almost 51% have a payout of less than 1 and only 5 posts have a payout of 100+

Lets compare this to 2018 on Steem. It is important to remember back in May 18, the price of steem was between $2 and $4. This is considerably different from the price of Hive which has been trading between $0.24 and $.38

Steem - May 2018
2.png

What is interesting to see is that in 2018 on steem 14% of posts had no payout, which is consistent with Hive. However, on steem there was considerably more post with a payout of +$100.

The top authors on Hive in May are as follows
3.png

Great to see some names I recognize well rising to the top. Do you remember the names below? These are the top-earning dudes on steem in 2018. It feels like a little blast from the past as I remember the drama at the time around the top name

4.png

Just some quick stats so on May Payouts.
5.png

The mean payout on steem in 2018 was $2.73. That’s not too much different to now.
I also tried to look at the top categories, but they are mostly communities and I am yet to find out how to get a list of communities with the Hive account name to map these across (shout out again to either @abh13245 or @arcange, maybe you can direct me here)

In May 18 the top categories were as follows

6.png

Although I don’t know what community it is, there is an active community on Hive earning 17% of all Hive rewards. That’s way greater than the 5% the photography tag was earning on steem back in 2018.
7.png

It’s really interesting making these comparisons, although its like trying to compare apples with oranges. The price of Hive directly impacts the value of a vote and the payout value and 2 years ago steem was trading at x10 time what hive is trading at today. There was a crypto boom and steem was a few years old. Whereas Hive is brand new and there is not much of a crypto boom right now (although I hope we don’t need a crypto boom for Hive to succeed).

So there you have it, my first and not so exciting blockchain data post in what, a year and a half. I have a lot to learn about Hive and exploring the database is a great way to understand what is going on and who is going down. I just need to figure out what and where everything is in the database and I am sure I can produce some interesting insights. I'm looking forward to your feedback and comments below and I do hope that you will share this post 😃

Sort:  

For those who are curious.

Hive-148441 = GEMS
Hive-174578 = OCD
Hive-105017 = Hive CN
Hive-196037 = DTube
Hive-140217 = Hive Gaming
Hive-181335 = 3Speak
Hive-100421 = 3Speak Old
Hive-193552 = Actifit
Hive-156509 = On Chain Art

The top ones aren't surprising at all. I'm guilty as well for putting a lot of stuff into OCD. And @threespeak should probably occupy #3 spot. And dang...can't believe that one dude used to be around 1% of the total gross payout.

Awesome, thanks

Hi Paula :)

My friends with kids are (also?) pulling their hair out free time seems at a premium.

There's a communities table in hivesql with Title being the friendly name of the community.

Can't believe I made 10th in content earners last month, likely my best month ever :)

Good to see some more data posts, I think people still like to see what's going on, although this stuff looks a lot better in a bull market!

Hi Asher - good to hear from ya,

I really need to explore the entire DB again, I remember nothing, it's like starting from scratch. Let hope I can pull something good together soon.

Well done on your best month ever, I was delighted to see your name up there.

Pulling out my hair is an understatement...12 weeks to go before the schools open, let hope there is no second wave

Thanks :)

I'm sure you'll get back into it, the DB hasn't grown that much, but maybe you have forgotten a lot!

Three more months, ouch - hopefully there will be a bit more to do in the day.

Quick search: 148441 = GEMS

https://peakd.com/trending/hive-148441

Very strange/interesting that this community would drive 17% of the total rewards pool!

It’s 3 big accounts just curating their so people dump it with posts all the time to try and get a reward no surprise their, it was a good idea in the beginning but I had to unfollow it’s such a shit show and makes no sense just random posts smashing your feed

"curating" at its laziest...

LOL totally, when you getting your 50% on whatever is dumped in your feed, why not? You got a steady stream of upvote beggars wiling to supply you with tinder to keep that profit machine churning

Well, they ran bidbots before - didn't they?

Interesting. I guess not much has really changes round here

The OCD Community curates and even curates other communities - like it always has :)

Point taken, lol its a pick between Hillary and Trump kinda vibe

This makes sense now...

Gems yea, well that's a new one for me. I will have to go check it out

Ah good old SQL. It’s on my list of things to learn which I may be able to do now that I might be working remotely permanently. Will cut down on time spent commenting so I can spend a bit of it learning things like this.

For a newer listing like hive, I think these are good numbers. The more we put out content and get the peakd and hive.blog address out there the more likely we will be found in more search results. Long term games!

Those accounts are probably still on here just under different aliases. Bernie changes over to xxxxxxxxx now but same old story with him.

LOL I call it the Donnie method, you know if anyone is going to fuck my cousin, its going to be me, out of respect you know? So why let these horrible people milk it, when I milk for truth and justice

Lol too true, don't be like Donnie!

We can learn together so. I also need to polish up on my power bi skills, it's better than excel for this sort of stuff

Oh, Paula, I get you on the time thing. That high earning tag is the Gems community which is run by @bluemist who continues supporting folk through @appreciator. Eclectic content and quite a few members.

Lol Fiona the most valuable commodity right now is time.

Great to see your data posts :)
Looking forward for some more.... I'm sure you will be back on track with the SQL

About the $ value ... did you calculate it for each day ... like each hive/steem token earned daily per author and then converted in $ with the price for the day? Or its some average $ price?

I'm sure you will be back on track with the SQL

Ah man I feel like a total noob

As for the $, I took the gross payout column directly from the DB. I did no conversions.

Oh .. yes ... I forgot there is such a data in the comment table :)
I usually use the VOAuthorRewards table for author rewards.

The best :)

Although I don’t know what community it is, there is an active community on Hive earning 17% of all Hive rewards.

https://peakd.com/c/hive-148441/created

Same folks as before.
Only corporatespeak need apply.

Congratulations @paulag! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This reminds me that I urgently need to update the HiveSQL website. More work! 😅

It never rains but then it pours 🤣😂

Oh yes,
I remember the 2018 Steem drama 😅

@paulag - any chance you will be making a Hive Udemy course in the future?