Picturesque architecture of Luhacovice, hidden gem of Czech Republic

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

When leaving the Azores Island after the quarantine imprisonment about a month ago, I said I was looking forward to exploring some beautiful places in my Czech homeland. I am happy to say I have just spent a couple of days at such a place and it is my pleasure to share the beauty of this place with you in my today´s post.

The hidden gem that I am talking about is called Luhacovice and it´s a picturesque spa town located in the Zlin Region, close to the border between the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

Home to just a bit over 5,000 people, Luhacovice is a very little town but its abundance of mineral springs actually makes it the fourth largest spa in the country. Local water is unusually rich in minerals that help heal a variety of diseases and health conditions ranging from respiratory system issues and metabolic problems to liver cirrhosis, chronic pancreatitis, stomach ulcers, skin problems and much more.

However, there is another thing that Luhacovice is famous for and that is the local picturesque architecture. The most dominant architectural style that can be found all over the town is the very distinct Art Nouveau style of Dusan Jurkovic, a prominent Slovakian architect who designed dozens of highly impressive buildings in this spa town. Other significant architects who shaped the appearance and layout of this adorable town include Oskar Poriska, Emil Kralik and Bohuslav Fuchs.

Surrounded by lush deep forests and hills of the Vizovice Highlands and the White Carpathians, the spa town of Luhacovice is situated in a valley so most of the magnificent houses here have an astonishing natural background behind them, which only adds to the beauty and very special atmosphere of this place.

Without further ado, let me now show you the appeal of the renowned Luhacovice architecture through these 23 photos that I took there just a couple of days ago.


IMG_20200704_133009.jpg


IMG_20200704_170659.jpg


IMG_20200704_143408.jpg


IMG_20200704_130404.jpg


IMG_20200704_132110.jpg


IMG_20200704_133629.jpg


IMG_20200704_170450.jpg


IMG_20200704_134042.jpg


IMG_20200706_141456.jpg


IMG_20200704_165958.jpg


IMG_20200704_170104.jpg


IMG_20200706_130554.jpg


IMG_20200704_132920.jpg


IMG_20200704_170416.jpg


IMG_20200704_133926.jpg


IMG_20200704_170128.jpg


IMG_20200706_125836.jpg


IMG_20200704_131517.jpg


IMG_20200706_130757.jpg


IMG_20200704_133710.jpg


IMG_20200704_143219.jpg


IMG_20200704_170317.jpg


IMG_20200705_140508.jpg


I hope you enjoyed this special photo collection dedicated to the architectural beauty of Luhacovice, a picturesque little town found in my Czech homeland.

I must admit I was really amazed by the unique combination of the majestic Art Nouveau buildings and the lush greenery of the surrounding nature.

Also, as you could see in the photos above, we were lucky to have nice sunny weather for the most part while there so that all of the vivid colors of the houses could stand out nicely in the pictures ;)

Hopefully, next time, we will also get to explore some purely natural sites of the area. I have heard that the natural beauty of the nearby White Carpathians is really spectacular. Actually, a good friend of mine @onlavu just visited these mountains and he is already working on some posts covering his adventures over there so let´s see what he will come up with :)




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving! :)

Sort:  

Wow, Luhacovice really is a beautiful place, thank you friend @phortun for sharing this post with me, I really fell in love with the place since I saw the series. I love the decorative forms that the cladding of the structures have and the combination of innovative elements with traditional elements.

If one day I have the opportunity I will visit this town in person.

Cool, glad you liked the photos of your new favorite Czech town :D :)

Bravo!! Massive tremendous brilliant post!!💪💪👏

...a to tam ani není Ottovka a oplatky! :D ;)

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #903.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Yesss, thank you so much Donica! Always a plasure to be picked as one of the mentions in your daily digest :)

You're welcome @phortun👍🙂

Ohhhh it really is a gem!
Architecture remainds me of my hometown Ljubljana. We have a lot in common my Czech brothers :)

Thanks for sharing!

@tipu curate 4

Oh really? I wouldn´t expect this kind of architecture in Ljubljana. I need to find my way there to check it out :)

Thank you so much for your support my friend!

Oh, tremendously nice houses! Which one is yours?
Thanks for mentioning me 😆😉

You are welcome :) Hopefully your posts about the White Carpathians won´t disappoint :D

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

These are so sweet to the eye.

Luhacovice is a genius.

Thanks man :) Local architecture is really pleasing to the eye.

Yeah. You are welcome

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @yousafharoonkhan on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Wohooo, thank you so much guys!

That's a great bunch of photos. Well done, @phortun.

Thank you :) I am glad you enjoyed this special photo collection.

Tak tam jsem ještě nebyl. Koukám, že je tam hezky.
!BEER

V Čechách máte lázní dost, ale už jen kvůli té krásné architektuře se do těch Luhačovic vyplatí zajet ;) Ber to jako tip na výlet :) A díky za plzničku :D

To určitě :)
Není zač ;)


Hey @phortun, here is a little bit of BEER from @jjprac for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Really architectural beauty. I liked.

My pleasure :) Thanks for stopping by Serpil.

Luhačovice jsou nádherné. Před pár lety iniciovaly zápis lázeňských měst do seznamu UNESCO. Kromě Jeseníků a západočeského trojúhelníku se k žádosti přidaly lázeňská města z celé Evropy. Takže do seznamu by měl připsán Baden Baden, Spa, Vichy, Bath, Vary, Mariánky a Františkovy Lázně a další, Luhačovice z nominace bohužel vypadly.

Díky za doplňující informace, to jsem nevěděl :) Škoda, že se na Luhačovice nedostalo... Snad příště :)

Wow! What a beautiful place and buildings! Good that you can walk through your country :)

Thank you Sofia! :)

@phortun i think that you are a very lucky man! Always traveling the world! Great pictures.

Thanks man :) These are actually from my own country so not much traveling was needed :D

Gorgeous architecture! I have only been to Prague.I wish I had the chance to explore the countryside and other gems of Czech Republic. My former boss was Czech and he highly recommended it.

Nice :)) Prague is a must of course but there are many other places in our country that are really worth the visit too ;) Hopefully next time. Have a great day!

Absolutely amazing i would feel right at home there just the perfect town to be living in 😊

Haha I can also imagine living in one of these adorable houses :) Thanks for stopping by my friend.

Seems we have similar taste of living expectations 👍

👋 Hi @phortun, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community