You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Journal 2020 | June Had High Temps, Flash Flooding, And More

in OCD4 years ago

Always fun to see your experiments. We just can't ever seem to grow peppers. Something eats them just as the seedlings start to sprout. I'm sure it's something we're doing because I can get peppers galore at the farmers market--bell, shishito, jalapeno, poblano, and a number of other types. Mother Nature doesn't make it easy on us sometimes. We had quite a bit of rain for a while, too, so a few of the cherry tomatoes we had pulled off had split, but they were still edible. Our dill was doing well for a while, but it seems like it goes to seed very quickly here. I try to enjoy it while it lasts because it is one of my favorite herbs. I hear you on the pesto, too. I think that's why I usually make oregano pesto--that grows like a weed so there's always more than enough. Hope your peppers bounce back and your tomato starts shooting up like last year!

Sort:  

I’ve given up on trying to grow things from seeds at least this season. Everything was at least a tiny plant when I got it which helps greatly. As I’ve had things just come and eat stuff like the chives.

Yeah, it can definitely be a challenge to start from seed. I think peppers are definitely one that would be better to buy as a plant in the future. Some of the other stuff is fun to get different things than they sell as a starter plant, like the squash and cucumbers we never have a problem starting from seeds. Always an experiment either way!

Cucumbers sound like they be fun to try. One of these years I’m going be able to set up some raised beds and go wild with a bunch of different stuff. Than try out things like canning.