My introduction and proper beginning of the Hive adventure

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

Hello Hive!

I'm here to introduce myself.

My name is Pusen. I'm from Norway where I work as a teacher. Hive was something that I really only stumbled upon while browsing Reddit. I did some research and decided to sign up for it. After lurking around for a couple of days now, getting a better understanding of the platform and finding my bearings, I decided to power up and go for it. For anyone interested in a fun fact I can tell you that Erling is an old Norse name meaning "son/descendant of jarl". In pre-medieval times in Norway the jarl was basically a territorial chieftain.

IMG_0444.jpeg

My hobbies and interests change from week to week. I'll go from a full on craving to learn how to draw one week to dropping it and learning how to cast my own dice the next week. I'll find out that casting dice was to hard so I'll start writing my own D&D adventure instead. That's way to time consuming so I'll read a book about birds instead. My attention span is not always the greatest. Although my interests are all over the place I do have some mainstays in gaming, Dungeons & Dragons, Geocaching and writing.

The great thing about writing is that it can be done about anything. Not only that but writing about the things you love can make you appreciate them more. When experiencing something I like to sit down, reflect and put it in writing. Pictures can sometimes be enough but I find that after a while the context fades. Pictures accompanied by text on the other hand can keep the memory alive for a while longer. And why not go the extra mile by putting it on the blockchain where it's, theoretically, eternal?

That has been part of my fascination with this place for the last few days. Every word and picture put up here lives on as long as there are nodes. Forever chained up in the network of blocks. Quite poetic. Not only that but the people who are providing this space with content and experiences seem to genuinely care and that's the really captivating part. I want to be part of that.

What I hope to provide

The things I would blog about can't really be generalized into something else than different kinds of life experiences. These could range from:

  • Finishing up a video game and reflecting back on it.
  • Something cool and/or fun my D&D (Dungeons & Dragons) group did.
  • My general experience of being a DM (Dungeon Master) of D&D.
  • A great hiking experience.
  • Some cool and interesting finds while Geocaching.
  • Something I learned. About myself or just about anything.
  • Daily life.

I need to stop the list there because I feel like it could really go on forever. My question now is: Is this the kind of content people would like to read? If so, do you have any pointers as to which communities I should explore?

I'll end it here. I have this thing that if I start talking I'll sometimes never stop. I've told my pupils that if that happens they have to just stop me and say that enough is enough. We need to get some actual school work done. It's a blessing and a curse.

I'm looking forward to getting to know the community better. See you around!

WhitagramImage.JPG


A special thanks to @daltono for reaching out and welcoming me. If not for his open arms and informative pointers I'm not sure if I would have written this post. It's not hard to recognize that this man is a giant and a gem to the community. Now that I powered up with some HP I'll start to actually respond to your comments.

Sort:  

I am from the future. You will be an amazing person and an important part of the community! People will continue to rise under your wisdom. You'll help me love the Hive and we'll be good friends. At least that's what I expect. I love you my friend. Come back and don't deprive me of your great posts.

Hello and welcome! 😊

My question now is: Is this the kind of content people would like to read?

That's the exact content a lot of people would like to read and do read! 🙂 I would highly recommend the Hive Gaming community, though I'm uncertain about where your other hobbies would belong. There is a weekly thing called the Wednesday Walk -- tagged #wednesdaywalk -- if you ever go hiking on a Wednesday! 😁 Also the #actifit community might be a good fit.

I hope you like it here! Welcome again!

Thanks a lot! That's great to hear. I've already joined the HGC both here and on Discord so you'll see me around there every now and then. I'll also make sure to check out your other mentions. I've lurked past them once or twice already. Thanks!

I have been here for some years and I always love to read about people's lives, their job, what they eat and where they live.

Since we are a worldwide group it is actually interesting to see what you eat for lunch...

Welcome and big ups.
Loving the beard, man. Hoping to learn a thing or 2 about dnd from you. Heard a lot about it but never got into it.
Big ups to @daltono , I think everyone is more than happy that you've made an amazing buddy to rocket launch your journey on hive.

Thank you! I tend to say that when I have the ability to grow a beard like that it would be a waste not to. DND is such a great hobby. You can really let your fantasy flow while playing. I hope my experiences can get you interested.

Does the beard come with the ornaments or are those a dlc? HAHA!
I will be looking forward to DND.

Interesting how you flow from one activity to the other, I hope to see some of those short experiences on here Erling. Welcome to Hive!

Welcome here on Hive @pusen!

Read the suggestions above and start discovering this new world. If you are a photography interested, I created a blockchain-like photography contest. It Is free, for fun, and you are welcome. If you want to know more, visit my blog, the #photochain tag or read the last edition at

https://hive.blog/hive-190931/@davidesimoncini/photochain-challenge-53rd-edition-start

The only thing: you have to adhere to some complicated - or not? - rules.

If you will join in, good luck 🙂 If you will not, good luck for your future here anyway. I Hope to see you soon on Hive 😉

Thank you! Your contest seems fun. Random themes that let peoples creativity run loose. I'll see if I manage to enter this week!

You're welcome :)

Welcome to Hive my friend 😁👍

Hi there and welcome @pusen you can make write under the education community if you want to share some educational posts. Bring your friends, we are building a strong community there.

Hello and thanks! I've noticed there was a educational community on here. I'll probably be contributing to it every now and then.

Welcome to HIVE blockchain!

Hi Erling ! Welcome to hive and have fun ! Nice to meet you !

My hobbies and interests change from week to week

I think you're an interesting person to follow.

Welcome to HIVE

Thank you! Appreciate the warm welcome and kind words.

Hello, fellow Erling.

  • A great presentation in Hive that I wrote with much love and passion. Now, it only remains to put into practice everything you put into practice in each paragraph.

  • There is a Video Game community and that community will fit you like a glove.

A big hug from Venezuela, my friend!

Bienvenido.gif

Welcome to the Hive blockchain.

Welcome to hive @pusen. I hope you will have a lot of fun here. According to the first picture in your article I assume that. I hope you find some interesting users to follow and I wish you a nice journey to explore everything this great blockchain has to offer.

Thank you Florian! I hope so to. Love your photos. I'll be wanting to see some more of those in the future!

Loading...

Welcome to Hive. I used to go geocaching all the time like 10 years ago. I have gone some pretty cool places while geocaching.

Thank you! I was introduced to Geocaching about 10 years ago but only just started this year. Absolutely hooked.

Welcome to the great Hive adventure, @pusen! I found your post thanks to @daltono's tweet - speaking of, if you happen to have a Twitter account, there are lots of awesome Hive peeps there promoting our blockchain. Be sure to shout out with your handle if you do & I'll follow you on my personal and @hiveblogshare accounts. 😊

Writing & gaming are two awesome places to start your blogging journey here - there's FreeWriters & The Ink Well for the former, and Hive Gaming for the latter. Oh, and there's currently a Gaming Selfie Contest going on that I just discovered today & there's still a few days left to enter.

I'll leave it at that for now, but please feel free to shout out with any questions and again - welcome!

Thank you! I'm not big into social media so I don't have Twitter. If I do end up on there in the future I'll follow your advice.

I'll be checking out the communities you mentioned. They seem promising. I already joined the selfie contest actually. I sort of rushed into it before fully understanding what Hive was. Luckily I did because it got me in contact with @Daltono who helped me fuel the fire.

Welcome to the Hive community @pusen!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and Peaklock,
  3. The owner password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and
    be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own
    .
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
  7. Do Not open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @brittandjosie and @jamerussell from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hivians available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Thanks for the warm welcome! Some great tips here. I'll keep them all in mind going forward. If I have some questions I know where to go now. Thanks!

Hello Erling!! It’s really interesting for me to know the meanings of the names! Welcome to hive and good luck 🍀👌♥️

I’m glad you decided to power up and do an #introduceyourself post dude!
Never heard your name Erling before, but I like the meaning of it, Norse mythology is bad ass. Having a name connected to a leader during those times is something to be proud of.

Am I right in deciphering your username @pusen to mean Cats in English?

I too have phases for which hobby occupies my life the most, I think we all do. Variety is something that is worth experiencing.

There is a local company that makes my favorite beard oil, they also specialize in customs dice. Too bad they only ship to USA.

One of my favorite things about having a blog on Hive is that I can do whatever I want with it. It’s a daily habit to post something, but there is no limit on what topic I must choose. It feels good having full control of what I create.

It seems like you have a great understanding for how the Hive blockchain works. It’s a great place to safely store your date and experiences.

I also invite you to join the OCD Discord which is an awesome place to meet more active Hive users and ask questions.

Welcome abroad my friend!

My name isn't that common anymore. It's sort of an "old mans name" in Norway now. I'm glad you like it. I'm named after my great grandfather which is pretty cool cause I have a lot of effects after him with his (our) name engraved on them.

Yes, pusen is a word for cat. I guess the correct translation would be “the cat”. I love cats and have a weird little one.

That’s such a random and cool company. If you love two things why not combine them right?

Looking forward to spreading my content around. I don’t know if it’ll be a daily habit to me. I have a lot of stuff going on but I hope to have something up at least 2-3 times a week.

I’ll be checking out that Discord! Thanks again for your warm welcome! Legend!

Congrats on getting started here!

untitled.gif

Welcome on board, @pusen.

P.S.: That "Christmas tree" in your beard looks really funny.

Welcome!
Hive can be many things, so you can shit focus as much as you want :)

Welcome to Hive. If you like to write, you have come to the right place :)

Welcome @pusen! 😊

Posted using Dapplr

Hi @pusen and very welcome to our platform!
I enjoyed reading your post and thank you for taking the time to prepare it.
I like the fact that you have so many different interests, I am certain that you will love time spent here and you will certainly find many more interesting things to do/research/experience :)
I wish you a beautiful ride on hive :)

Welcome to the community. Is Daltono your bro? 😄

Thank you! I don't know him personally, but he helped me understand the platform a bit better.

You're welcome bro

I like the fact that you decided to power up because that would enable you to dabble around different communities here and have fun while doing what you do best

It's good to see you and I hope to see more of your works

Thank you! I decided it was worthwhile. The message telling me I didn't have enough RC was getting old fast.

Welcome pusen!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Download Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com, desktop: https://desktop.ecency.com apps that helps you to connect.
Earn Points to promote and boost your content.
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Congratulations @pusen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Welcome! I hope you don't get bored of this project too fast - although it sounds like you love writing.

Hope you enjoy your stay..