The Moringa Soup for Breakfast

in OCD4 years ago

I am not really sure where I got this principle: let be your food become your medicine. Maybe an article I read a while ago. But I have been trying to apply this principle whenever it's possible, especially at home.

Working in tourism industry (before the covid-19) some time I had to eat whatever was available or served to me by restaurants or hotel I visited (It's free meal). And in my place, there were many fried food sellers, and not many healthy food for snack.

At home, especially in the village, where I stay now, I have more options to apply this principle. Today,we cooked some moringa soup, fried fish and raw egg plant sambal (condiment). Moringa is called "the magical plant" since it has a lot of health benefit.

The moringa leaves contain vitamin A, B, B2, B3, C, calcium, potassium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, and zinc. It is believed to be effective in nourishing skin and hair, protecting liver, antibiotics, nourishing bone, reducing high blood pressure and some others benefit.

There are few moringa plants in the garden outside the house. We picked some leaves today for our food. I will share to you in short how we prepared our moringa leaves veggies today.

wqbnbp.jpg The moringa plant.

39c62j.jpg We picked moringa leaves from our garden.

First we have to pick the moringa leaves or to separate them from their stems and put them into a big bowl. Next we cleanse them in running water. Then we boiled the moringa leaves until it is half cooked.

z6c6hd.jpg We separated leaves from their stems.

For its ingredients or seasoning we used: lemon grass, galengal, garlic, a pinch of salt, and water. All the seasonings are crunched lightly with pestle and mortar, then mixed with water. Later this seasoning is boiled together with the half cooked moringa leaves. Let it cook for 5 minutes, and it's ready.

ylwf3w.jpg The seasoning: lemon grass, garlic,galengal, salt and water.

ul0g1h.jpg Boiling the moringa leaves.

jr2q8h.jpg the soup was ready.

And when the soup and everything else is ready, then we have our breakfast. Here is what our breakfast look like.

gofki3.jpg Our whole breakfast setup this morning.

After eating quite a big breakfast of moringa leaves veggies soup, I felt sleepy. Maybe I eat too much of it, since it was tasty.

The moringa leaves has a lot of great benefit for health, but when consumed too much there is a side effect, like feeling sleepy. (For example, moringa has a benefit of lowering blood pressure, but if it is too much, the blood pressure can go too low.) So, I needed a cup of coffee 😁

Let be your food become your medicine is a great advice, but always remember the side effect.

DISCLAIMER: this post is not a health advice, please do your own research before trying anything.

Reference: https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/319916#what-are-the-benefits

Sort:  

Oh I like this idea of letting food be our medicine. Beautiful moringa leaves too.

I love moringa, I have the tree in my house. I take the tea but I think this soup won't be a bad idea.

They grew a lot in my country too. Thanks for visiting.

Ok. Regards to your family.