Muzli -- A Must Have Tool For UI/UX Designers And Developers

in OCD4 years ago

Dear Hivers,

If you are a web designer or a developer working with the frontend, you are going to love this post.

I'm sure there are many occasions where you might have struggled to find the perfect layout or the right color pallete that fits your need. On many occasions, I find myself struggling for inspiration just like I suppose you do too.

Today I am sharing an awesome tool that will make your life so much easier.


BeFunkydesign.jpg


Screenshot 139.png

Muzli is a browser extension for Chrome and Safari that totally revamps your new tab. It works like a content aggregator which fills your new tab with various design inspirations and tech news from websites like awwwards, CSSwinner, DesignMilk, Tuts+ etc.

You can easily customize your feed to include or exclude various websites as per your needs.

Whenever my mind goes blank, I just open up a tab on my browser and after browsing for a while, I usually get an idea what kind of a design would look good for a particular project.


Screenshot 142.png

It also has a powerful search tool which you can use to search for various components.

Thousands of dashboards to choose from

For example, if you are building a dashboard and you want some inspiration for its design, you can directly use the muzli search bar and you'll get thousands of designs directly in the browser.


Screenshot 140.png

It also comes with ready-to-download color palletes or you can just copy the hex code of the color right from there. This, in my opinion, is an awesome feature and it has made my life easier by a long shot.


Muzli is not just for designers.

If you used to miss out on tech news before or just didn't have the time to check the individual websites, you can get curated news from websites like TechCrunch, Wired, The Verge. With this you can stay up to date on all the new happenings in the tech sphere.

If you liked the "most visited" sites feature on chrome don't worry because your most visited websites will still show up on the header. So there's nothing to lose and a lot to gain from this extension.

After getting used to this tool, I don't think I'll ever go back to using the old and bland new tab in chrome.


How To Download Muzli?


  1. Go to muz.li and click on download. You will be redirected to the store page depending on your browser.
  2. Create an account and customize your preferences.

So there you have it. It is a simple tool which has helped me on countless ocassions and I hope it comes of use to you as well.

Read my previous posts here --

Have a nice day!

Cheers,
Rahul.