Renewing My HIVE Vows: Remembering Engagement Is About Hive Community Kindness

in OCD4 years ago

What happens when we post something amazing on HIVE, but don't go and engage in community?

Nothing. Well, not much. Perhaps you say something like this:

'Nobody loves my writing - I got no comments at all!'
'Why do THEY get all the engagement and not me?'
'I have no time to comment - but I wish people would comment on my post'.

image.png

But saying nothing when you scroll through the HIVE feed isn't the way of HIVE.

Last week I delegated to @garybilbao's project, @elcomentador (cool name, by the way!). Why? Because his heart was into how commenting adds value to this platform. People need to be seen and heard - and without that, HIVE is nothing. People drift away and give up - and that's no good at all. You can read the introduction post to his project here, but it reads, in part:

For that reason, when we do something and nobody thanks us, praises us, or comments on it (even if it is to criticize us), we feel restless, sad, discouraged, and believe that it is not worth doing something for anyone again. The same thing happens in #Hive, those of us who have been here for a while know that the beginnings were hard, and if we have stayed it is because we learned to love this platform, because we were discovering the way to get ahead and stay afloat. However, many left because they saw no monetary or emotional rewards. They did not feel that invisible touch through a word of praise or even constructive criticism or teaching. They felt ignored, minimized, undervalued, and preferred to go on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter, at least there they were given likes and comments that satisfied their sense of importance, their desire for recognition, their longing to be appreciated.

I've definitely received my fair share of emotional rewards on HIVE. What a beautiful buzz it is to spend time crafting a post and for people to comment back, appreciating your efforts or your content. And from that, friendships are born - and genuine community blossoms. And from genuine community arises abundance. Long time users here will vouch for that! It can be financial gain, sure. But it's also fun, and giggles, and knowledge, and compassion and love and friendship. Tell me another platform does that as well as HIVE. It doesn't - because if it did, you wouldn't be here, right?

I've hit the point on HIVE that I don't really need to look at my post rewards, but I still kinda feel sad when people don't bother to drop a comment. I've learnt to let that go a little because there's lots of reasons that people don't comment - your content doesn't interest them (that's fine - I find it hard to feign interest in motorbikes or guns - sorry @galenkp, I might wanna learn to shoot but reading about them is probably as thrilling for you as reading about yoga!), or it's a quiet weekend on HIVE. And if you're a new user, it's likely because no one's seen you in their feeds yet. Don't worry, they will. Because you MATTER!

How are we told to overcome this invisibility on HIVE from the very beginning?

ENGAGE.

And it's far, far easier than you think!

Sure, we all have times when we don't want to be online for various reasons, or can't be, but when we are, commenting on HIVE doesn't have to be a chore, but something you genuinely enjoy doing - bringing value to the platform, and that warm fuzzy feeling to your insides knowing you've made someone happy.

How do you know it makes them happy?

Just remember the time that you spent hours and hours on a post, pressed PUBLISH - and then the Great Silence. How did you feel? Disappointed? Rejected? Fed up? Undervalued?

Now remember the time when people commented. Felt good, didn't it?

I absolutely loved the method @artemislives uses for her habitual commenting. Here's a woman that does it because she cares not only about financial rewards, but the very platform itself, and the little HIVERS who don't get seen so often. She (in short - I've dropped a link to her post below):

  • Sits down with a cuppa and mindset of enjoying commenting - a ritual that punctuates a quiet and peaceful time in her day.
  • Makes an effort to comment on all kinds of people - not just those in her immediate circle (I love this one, it's important - everyone matters)
  • Sets herself goals eg 'twelve comments a day' 'answers all comments on her own posts'.
  • Checks her mentions religiously - it's discouraging when people include you, but you don't respond.

Simple, eh? Not a chore, but something that can be part of our everyday HIVE experience. Because unless you do this, you can't complain about no one commenting on your posts, right?

When @garybilbao said that people leave because:

They did not feel that invisible touch through a word of praise or even constructive criticism or teaching

my heart melted a little. Here's a guy who believes that comments matter because they are kind. It's not all about financial rewards, but caring for your fellow Hive beings.

So do join in the comment party, even if it's sitting down on a Sunday night with hot apple pie and icecream or a beer, and not stopping til you've made twenty people happy.

And then watch the abundance bloom into something you helped co-create.

How do you manage commenting on HIVE? Encouraging you to read the following posts and consider why it matters, and how you can get involved.

Building a Great Hive Engagement Habit by @artemislives
Hive Comments Interaction Iniative by @theycallmedan (this one might get you upvotes!)
Engagement: The Foundation of Enrichment by
The Commentator is Born by @garybilbao

So ironically, as I write this, I'm well aware that I'll drop off on my commenting over the next few weeks as we go off on holiday and I'm out of reception and enjoying the bush. But when I am here, my vow is to ensure I leave valuable, meaningful comments on fellow HIVERS posts, and be part of a genuine community of real people, whose every post matters - no matter how small or seemingly trivial to some, they deserve a kind word, to be heard. Will you renew your HIVE engagement vows?

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain



Sort:  

"A nadie le encanta mi escritura, ¡no recibí ningún comentario!"

Esto es algo que siento cuando veo mis post y no hay comentarios, me pregunto ¿será que tengo que hacer todos los retos e iniciativas, para que me vean o comenten? ¿Entonces debo dejar a un lado mis temas preferidos donde me inspiro para hacer los retos?...lo que he decidido es hacer retos o iniciativas que me llamen la atención pero no perder el norte de mis escritos...que van encaminados a emociones, pensamientos y sentimientos y que el ser humano vaya adentro a conocer su mundo interior y así mejorar su entorno, y por supuesto su relación consigo mismo...es muy necesario el comentario.Saludos...@elcomentador

Important, if you want the support of the community and you want to receive those comments that you need to read to motivate you, then do it yourself, without expecting anything. To the creator you have visited you have to let him know that his post has been valued and read without any problem. Commenting is not a science, it is something that should come naturally. Sad for those who don't comment, but then complain that no one comments.

!ENGAGE 25

You've been an AMAZING Hive comment person!!!! xxx

Thanks you, for me it's a pleasure to continue commenting because this way you can see the value you have in a post, yo're also one of the best commentators of the posts.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Very true words.
I think it's psychological.
Because people want to be praised for their efforts and when they do not receive love they feel bad and walk away.
The Hive is better of course,social blockchain compared to other social media platforms where the reactions are weightless.
Even though they do not relate to you,a little bit of extra knowledge and information wouldn't hurt.
You might just need it in the outside world
I read @artemislives article earlier this morning and I really love the way you lay more emphasis on this
I feel like I read it in your own voice.
And most importantly I'm glad that @theycallmedan has started this initiative to make us realize that we all need each other for the community to grow.

@artemislive's article made me vow to comment on the first three posts I see in my feed, even if I think I might not like them! I think that's a good habit to have! You are right, and I believe the same - it doesn't hurt to spend time helping people feel valued and it's unfair to just leave it up to others to be social when we're all here as part of one grand social experiment that has the potential to be super amazing. xx

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I'm not good at coming up with things to say, unless something in the post sparks it. So I comment when I have something to say, or to say thanks!

But I read every post I vote on, and sometimes I hasten to get my comments down and forget to vote! I often find a post the next day that I read and commented on with no blue heart... So I'll fix that then!

I don't think you NEED to vote all the time - sometimes my voting power is low so I'll only comment, or the post has HEAPS of rewards so I dont think my vote matters much. I always, always appreciate your comments, dear @goldenoakfarm - I light up when you come by and you are so diligent with your engagement it puts me to shame! xx

My son says it's my OCD.... I prefer to think I'm stubborn. LOL

Anyways, I don't post for rewards or for comments, etc though it's fun reading what I do get. Mostly it's an alternative to FB, so my family can read what's happening on the farm. They can't comment as none are on HIVE, but at least they can see what's happening here.

Sometimes I won't vote when the rewards are so high. But mostly I do...

Oh, and PS I don't leave you ENGAGE tokens as I'm not sure you'd use them anyway! But if you think you would, I can?!

Naw, that's stuff is far beyond me. It's all I can do the keep dumping what I get into HP. LOL But thank you anyways. Let those who have a clue have them. :))

I'd say, my level of commenting is not at the highest level yet but I do so with posts that resonates to me and interests me. I'm trying to up that a little these days and hopefully I see more improvement in my engagement stats soon.

You should also do what FEELS right for you. It doesn't have to be a chore. I am sure that as you engage you'll see more engagement back. The very fact you commented here makes me click on your name to see what you've written lately!

I know what you mean, it's all about time with me. There seems to be many 'engage' posts recently, but I still don't have any extra time to comment no matter how many times it is pushed.

That's true as well, and no one should feel pressured either. I have weeks where I barely have time to upvote let alone comment!!! I guess these kind of posts are aimed at newer users who might complain no one engages but they don't engage themselves. For me, it is a reminder that sitting down for 15 minutes to comment whilst dinner cooks is an enjoyable and worthy part of my day
Xx

New users don't really know what the crack is on here, post and expect the comments and votes to flow. Most leave when it doesn't happen.

Brought to you by @text2speech. If you wish to convert your post text to speech then reply YES or NO.

Well-said, I do often drop the bar myself and fail to use time to comment and engage outside of my usual circle. Luckily I'm curating for a few communities, and these responsibilities have often led me to new authors and content creators.

Seems like there is never enough hours in the day sometimes, but I'm glad my new curation projects constantly lead me to discover new Hivers.

Lovely post @riverflows.

Sidenote, have you ever thought of an altered ego profile....@roverflows perhaps?

Omg @roverflows is amazing!!!!!!! You know, I need a new insta name for the Landrover thing - we are Buttercup.109 but now we also have a 130, so what will we call it? Roverflows is genius!
I'm now doing the first three in my feed no matter what (unless its gaming or splinterlands which I know nothing about) - its quite a fun thing to do!

Thanks so much for sharing this perspective. I'm fairly new to hive and striving to bring as much content and value to the platform as I can. I'm still learning how it works and I'm loving the platform and see big potential in the concept. I've told a bunch of people about it and it seems like people are waking up to the idea that centralized social media platforms may not have their best interest at heart.

Looking forward to reading more, seeing, more and hearing more of what your beautiful minds have to give. The wealth of knowledge inside each one of you is spectacular and priceless. I'm incredibly excited to see how the platform evolves and see the evolution of the community as well.

Much love and stay well.

Thank you for joining this initiative. Thank you also for your support with your delegation. You are an author who every time I read you I notice your quality and human warmth. You are sensitive and that, in my opinion, has made you gain so much relevance in Hive. You are committed to commitment.
I'll keep this that you wrote:

'I have no time to comment - but I wish people would comment on my post'.

And from genuine community arises abundance. Long time users here will vouch for that! It can be financial gain, sure. But it's also fun, and giggles, and knowledge, and compassion and love and friendship.

I agree with that, that if we relate to each other, the money will come to us alone. Some of us don't understand that, but those of us who have understood it have experienced it.

Por aquí pasó | El Comentador |

@garybilbao

You've certainly inspired me to set aside a special time to engage @riverflows, as I know that warm fuzzy feeling when someone responds to one's posts, like you and @artemislives regularly do!
We really need to encourage those who make the effort with their posts!

How true! Those simple comments mean almost as much as the Hive rewards especially if there is more engagement then "nice post!" And I value the people I've been able to engage with here on Hive - folks that I never would have in my normal circle of friends.

Greetings. I visit your publication attending the invitation of the @elcomentador. I have enjoyed very much reading your publication, I found it edifying and enriching. It is true that not seeing comments in the publication causes confusion, doubts and even frustrations. Many feel discouraged because they do not have that emotional support that a good comment leaves, where you realize that your effort was worthwhile. This initiative has allowed me to know very valuable experiences of people like you, who have been generous enough to share their learning. Congratulations on your publication. Excuse my bad English, I use the translator.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

I think you are amazing because you are trying to communicate in a foreign language. The translator can be difficult. I am glad you told me so I can moderate my English. I am glad that you feel supported. We try to help as many people as we can.

Thank you very much for responding. Have a happy day.

Hello @riverflows, I have experienced that feeling of wanting to leave many times especially after losing my first account where I had achieved a good participation. Now I am starting again but putting the comments into practice. That definitely makes a difference. The proof is here and the momentum is thanks to @elcomentador