A Picture says a thousand words

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

Note to self, Buy Toilet paper!


After my first few posts here on the HIVE network I'm starting to feel comfortable here. I Never used any social media for longer than 10 minutes before this, I don't blog and to be honest I don't even talk much in Daily life.

But with the lockdown measures in place this has become My new favorite bar, I can drink beer and wax lyrical while people around me pretend to be interested!

Originally I intended this post to be a bit of an introspective, Share a few laughs at the expense of my younger self.


Thats me The goofy looking bastard on the left, and no I didnt get My 2 front teeth for Christmas either so fuck you Santa.


A follow up to my introduction post if you like.

However when I started writing this a few days ago, I realized photos of me before the age of 18 don't seem to exist.

We never really had cameras and most of the pictures we ever accumulated were lost along the way. Either because of a Flash Flood, Dodging the landlord or getting the hell outta dodge before social services turned up.

Because of this, it got me to thinking, as I do when I'm particularly stoned and feeling introspective. Does it matter?


19 Years old, High and on a boat, Does it get any better than that?


I felt left out while trying to find some photographic evidence of my childhood, not because of any particular nostalgia for the time period but because it somehow takes away the evidence. That little bit of proof that shows where you've been and what you've done.

But Fuck it maybe that's for the best,You can't be tried for any crimes if there is no evidence!


Even if some Evidence Really should be Burned...


I guess the best thing out of this experience is that I found the Pictures of the best years.

I found Pictures from My wedding, photos of me holding my son just after he was born, pictures of my dogs and the odd cat who have been part of our family over the years. Places I went and Things I've done.


Dodging my fallen comrade, nearly got him.
Another day in the Pyrenees Chilling after Snowboarding


Pictures from some awesome parties and Raves I cant even remember going to.

Seriously if you know where I was when this was taken let me know...

As well as pictures of friends Who have sadly been lost along the way, and the good ones I still have today. (Damn that Rhymes,time to start poetry classes)

I consider the beginning of my 'Real' life the day I met my wife. I was young (18), arrogant and a bit rough around the edges. She brought out the absolute best in me.

It began what would be a combination of the best years of my life and some of the hardest. But I haven't regretted it once.


So what's the point of this post other than showing photographic evidence that I used to have hair?

What the hell is this guy rambling on about you ask?


only a few years ago now...


Its a big thank you to the HIVE community for making me feel welcome, and sharing their stories and experiences.

Its an even Bigger THANK YOU to my Friends and Family for sticking by me, and @lionmom & @edprivat for onboarding me.(and sharing some seriously shitty times with me recently, cheers buddy its been a blast!)

Most Importantly its a Big thank you to my wife, for sticking by me, Thick and Thin. Now I just have to get her to join so she can show off her mad crafting skills. (I've told her I'm going to Onboard her and she thinks its something dirty🤣)

Even from My 'married years' onwards I haven't been one for pictures, There are hundreds of my wife and son and way less of me. To be honest I prefer it that way.


But every time I bother to shave and look in the mirror its the same dude looking back at me, and these days I am starting to think he's done alright.

So here is my note to self, its on the Blockchain now.

My opinion now at the ripe old age of 37. I've learned a lot over the years and someday hopefully I will look back on this post and have a younger self to make fun of.

Today, Well this is me. The Balding Redneck you can see in my other posts. Still making a nuisance of myself and no plans on changing too much.


So In advance and anticipation: To the older me, You're still a Dick!

Thanks for Reading and on that Note I leave you with my most interesting photo, These are some of my Great Great Great Great (Getting bored of this) Ancestors just after the United States Civil War.

Banjos anyone?

(Obviously I didn't dig them up to ask for their permission to post this but I am sure they don't mind, but the childhood photo at the beginning of this post has full permission)

Sort:  

@rubido this is a great post. I don't just go handin out 99's. That's the Max, by the way. You're the only person who knows this, surprised no one's asked actually, but only Pura (wife) received 100's. She's not here anymore, though, perhaps I should consider adjusting that... 🤔 Where am I and how did I get here?

To this day I've never signed in, checked out, registered, whatever it's called at Instawhatever, the Face one, none of'em. Only tweet I know is the one I just typed. This is my only social media experience and I'm glad I found it. It's not a bad place to be. Here's another fun fact. On my ceremonial plaque when I die, all I want it to say is Not That Bad. Not sure how I got here, either. I should probably delete that last sentence.

This is fun though so ima keep goin. I'm glad Ed introduced you dude, you'll fit right in. There's a couple other really dry and funny authors I think you'd be interested in following. Add these producers to your to-do list. By the way, I've never dropped a buncha names like this and it doesn't mean you're special.

@coloneljethro @thebigsweed @nonameslefttouse @galenkp @plantstoplanks @glenalbrethsen @angryman and I'm probably leaving a bunch out. That's another thing I do—forget shit. Anywho.. welcome to Hive, I'm glad you found the joint and that better work Cuz I forgot was I was gonna say.

Ed told me.... I know, I'm still fuckin here. Eh, Ed told me you're from the states, I think he said The South? That true? And now you're in France or what?

99? Stingy bastard. ;)

Just be happy with your 57's would ya??

I just read my comment again, sorry I put you through all that.

Just kidding—I'm totally not!

I'll take whatever you're dishing out. ;)

Is that pie dairy free?

If you'd shut your pie hole long enough it wouldn't matter!

mmm Pie...Gonna have to make one now...

Much nicer to eat than take one in the face, haha!

Hey, @dandays.

Not often I get summoned somewhere anymore, so thanks for that.

I'd probably say I'm more dry than funny, but I'm happy to be included in that prestigious and distinguished list of yours.

You're like a genie in a bottle...Give it a rub and there you are!

Hey, @galenkp.

Apparently, we both are. :)

Can I make a Wish? I want a pony

pony-54014_1280.jpg

Your wish is granted.

Damn that's one happy pony, now I really want one

Don't mind a rub here and there.

Ah, you were an alternate.

Nice. Lower expectations. I like it. :)

That's what I mean @rubido.

Me thinks Im gonna fit in here nicely.

Thanks for the shout out mate...Now I better live up to your standards. Not sure how, but I'll try. Lol.

Well, I knew you'd try. It was a total sympathy mention.

@dandays No Worries, I appreciate the 99,and would be equally happy with a 57, shit who am I kiddin ill take a 5! When I go I think my all I want on my memorial is 'Please Turn Over' That will confuse the bastards.

I have followed those names, and me not special? Of course I am I can count to 10 if I use Both hands! See now that's special.

As for for where I'm from, Yeah I'm Originally from the states, My Family are from Georgia and the Bayous in Florida, Real Banjo city. I was born In Ohio and raised There, Detroit, Kentucky, West Virginia and essentially Anywhere That didn't chase us off with flaming pitchforks.

I prolly shouldnt admit this one but I was so embarrassed my vote was only worth .001, I had to power up haha, Its not a big vote now but it makes me feel better.

Don't trip on your vote value. I promise you we see it. When someone tips all they can afford, that's what we see, not the value. You're doin great. While I'm on the subject, don't worry about upvoting my comments and I'm sure that extends to everyone else you're engaging with. Upvote the shit out of our content!! Don't get it twisted, but save your comment upvotes for other content producers who are releasing original content or consider adjusting that technique after you got some power.

It doesn't mean you're special, it just means you have 10 fingers.

Man I've never been to Detroit. I've been through at least 40 states and lived 30 days or more in 30 of them. It's that upper eastern region the eludes me; conn, Maine, de, penn, RI, those states. But there's a couple bordering Canada I haven't toured yet. Been to Michigan, all through the U.P and up into Wisconsin but never Detroit. I call Virginia "land of the trees," I even wrote lyrics once about it. Never seen trees like that with multiple colored flowers blooming 200 feet up in the air.

Pura and I are gonna tour Virginia Beach in about 3 weeks. We thought we'd be outta here before now but still no flights. Looks like we're gonna be here a little longer and I can't sit still. What do you know about Virginia Beach, anything? The lease is up here in August so we'll be nomad again.

Not That Bad

ok I shall save my votes for content at the minute, duely noted! as for Virginia beach check out some of the obvious ones like the first landing state park and the boardwalk, Chesapeake bridge etc. But check out Any of the dives behind the main boardwalk that are busy, The foods great and half the price.

Also check out the coves further along the waterfront there are some amazing places 30 minutes from the main drags. If you like a bit of Urbex there are also tons of old abandoned buildings on the outskirts.

The old railway lines are a great place to start on google maps can find some cool locations.

That's what I'm talking about ! Now we're getting somewhere! How many words Rick? That's what this block chain does to people, it tends to make you think at things you didn't even know you were thinking about.

780 hahaha, true I've got a few things burning a hole in the back of my brain while I'm mostly too slow to get out and about. Its a fun exercise and gets the old noggin working.

Old nuggin's just fine!

Welcome aboard mate, and thanks to my brother @dandays for tagging me or I may have missed you altogether. He probably set eh bar far too high, in respect of myself, but you can see for yourself and put me in the trash if that's where you reckon I belong. :)

Seriously though, welcome, I look forward to seeing you around.

Congratulations @rubido! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Hive Tour Update - Communities

Hey, @rubido.

Welcome to HIVE. Glad you found the place.

I'm pretty sure I've seen that pinstriped suit somewhere. Oh, yeah. My closet. Doesn't fit nearly as well as it did when I was younger, though. :)

I also identify with the receding hairline. Except mine is probably considered strictly receded now.

My wife deciding she would marry me is among my happiest days on Earth. So are the births of my two sons, along with the three grandchildren so far. It's amazing how that works.

I don't have much photographic evidence of my childhood, either. However, I believe there is a treasure trove of pictures at my parents' place. Just need to unearth them. :)

I love this post mate. The reflection of what’s changed and the honesty about your life. Maybe now is a time to take more specific pictures about things you love in your life?
Maybe it will be interesting to look back on in 20 years to see how your priorities might have changed again.

Sounds like you’re in a good place man.

Good luck with onboarding your wife 😉😂

Cheers Mate Its appreciated, I Have started taking more photos and uncovering new ones. I appreciate the feedback and have been really enjoying your posts as well. Its kinda therapeutic posting on here so I have been really enjoying it!

Glad you’re enjoying it mate!
I feel the same. It’s like a therapeutic journal!