Home made salt cured olives

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

My parents have some trees in their house, lemon, apples, pears, almonds, and an olive tree. Last weekend my father called to let us know we could come by to pick some of the olives as they are ready to be collected. I like going there, climb to the tree, get some, and then cure them to eat after some months.

The tree is big and as my parents do not eat many, there is always plenty to collect.

IMG_20201017_130512.jpg

After about 30 minutes I ended up getting around 5kg of olives.

IMG_20201017_132816.jpg

You have to clean them in water and get rid of the floating ones as that is a sign they are rotten inside.

IMG_20201017_184525.jpg

After that, you mix salt with water at about 60gr of salt per liter of water. Some people like adding other stuff as a garlic clove or bay tree leaf. Put the olives into glass jars and fill them with the salted water.
All you have to do is leave them there for a few months.

IMG_20201018_112640.jpg

Here you can see the color difference from one of the jars I cured last year, the right one, and a jar from today. You can see the ones from last year have a brownish color compared to the green one of the recently collected.

IMG_20201018_115832.jpg

Once they are ready, after at least 4 months you can just clean them and serve them in a bowl filled with virgin oil, they will be ready to eat!

IMG_20201018_115703.jpg

Sort:  

Good evening @santigs, I don't want to be "pesada" 😂 but just to let you know that I prepared one jar of olives following your recipe. We will see in few months the result.
Thanks again

Great!
The more you wait to eat them the better. At least 6 months. Let me know when you taste them.

Keeping the receipt! Thanks for sharing.
@tipu curate

I can even bring some next time we have a meeting after this Covid nightmare ends. So you guys can try them 😉

Hi @satigs, thanks for the recipe. Please let me know if these can be made with the same recipe, I see from your photos that yours are green.

IMG_20201004_182254.jpg

You can use the recipe with any variety of olives. Some of the ones I collected had that color too as you can see in the pictures of the jars, it is the sign the fruit is ripe. The key part is getting rid of the ones floating when you have them in water for a while, usually several of them get a warm inside.

Ok, I will definitely try out the recipe! Thanks