ENGAGE ON HIVE: Weaving ideas.

in OCD4 years ago

buhiedit.jpg

Cpg

Hey guys, have you ever done anything in your life that you really love? Something that takes away your sleep and keeps you thinking about it all day? As a child I was passionate about many things: dancing flamenco, reciting, having a new book. When I grew up, I discovered two passions: write and make bracelets.

I have always written to communicate, to express myself, even to fulfill academic assignments. This activity requires attention and affection. When I write I try not only to put words together but also to put my essence there. Writing at Hive has been my passion lately, there are nights when I can't fall asleep with all the ideas dancing in my head, there are days when the first thought upon waking is an idea for a post, and I can't wait long to develop it.

Bl.jpg

I've been weaving bracelets since last year, I learned through a 10-year-old girl who taught me a pretty simple pattern, the rest was self-learning through youtube, web pages and pinterest. I discovered my most creative side when I was weaving bracelets and I put all my heart and personality characteristics into them, for example, I like the threads to be tightly woven (I think it looks nicer that way), I like them to be unique, colorful and happy bracelets, but without exaggerating any aspect.


Writing and weaving is learned, and it improves with practice. At the beginning I could be a bit clumsy in both activities (and I still have a lot to learn), but by exercising my fingers, my mind, my creativity and my wit I started to get incredible results of which I am very proud.

Cbla (1).jpg

Pi (2).jpg

My two passions as therapeutic techniques:



I prefer to do these activities when I am in a state of neutrality and tranquility, however, they have also served to sublimate some dysphoric emotions. When I am sad I write about what I feel, what I miss, what I want. These things I write from sadness are very personal but after a while when I read them again I reconcile with myself and understand from another point of view what I was going through. I've also woven bracelets when I was a bit upset or worried, however, I start weaving like a spider at the speed of light, while listening to my favorite songs and time flies by. Concentrating on weaving calms my thoughts and when Its done I feel much better.

Cuando las palabras se desvanecen, la música habla (1).jpg

My two passions as a job


When I started making bracelets I thought I could sell them, I decided to open an online store on Instagram, its name is "Buhissima". There you can find a whole catalog of bracelets for women and men, for couples and relationships (best friends, sisters), necklaces, anklets, among other accessories. In my virtual store I put all my effort in the accessories I make but also in the photographs and the presentation of the product. The best thing about this work is that I share it with my mom, @Aurodivys, she works in Cumaná (a city on the coast of Venezuela) and I work in the capital of my country, Caracas. Sharing this has brought us much closer, and I thanks her for continuing to work with me because I am a bit of a demanding person with all the productions.

insta.png

When I was little, I was known in school as someone who liked to write and some girls even paid me to write love letters to their boyfriends. I thought, my God, this is so easy for me, fun, and I get paid for this, how crazy! And there I was, making up the sweetest words of love, making up a love story that I didn't really know. I can say that at the time I was writing fiction. Going back to my blog in Hive and seeing the numbers I was getting made me think that this could also be a job, right now I see it as a possibility to save up money and emigrate from my country.

Can I consider them jobs if they make me so happy, distract me and relax me? I think so, because they generate income and at 21 years old I can happily say that my jobs make me passionate, something that not many people can say.


I hope you are doing exciting things at this time in your life, and if you don't know what they are yet, I hope you find them soon! Perhaps you can use my secret to discover what my passion is: That which takes away my sleep. At least it works for me that where I lay my head I fall asleep.

C).jpg

I was inspired to make this publication while making the bracelet of the cover photo in this post. I leave you part of the process, I hope you enjoy it!

Bn.jpg

Do whatever makes you happy,

without hurting anyone

Chj(1).jpg

Some of the pictures in this post can be found in my online shop at instagram Buhissima. You can see more about my work here
All the pictures are mine.

Sort:  

This looks rely good. Weaving is not an easy task. Requires time and energy.

Certainly, it takes dedication and energy. It takes me about 45 minutes to make the bracelet I show in the post (45 minutes if I don't make mistakes)

Hi Sofia, thank you for adding this entry to the posting initiative, such a creative one too.

You know, I started writing as a little kid also, and reading, and it has been a huge part of my life bringing me a lot of enjoyment and even solace at times when I needed it. I understand your passion to write, to create. I see it as similar to you making these cool bracelets I guess; Both are creative and both come from within you. I assume they both have a benefit of course also.

This is a nice post and I'm really pleased you took the time to enter it. (Thanks also for the little videos showing the bracelet process.)

Have a great weekend.

Oh, thank you very much @galenkp
That's right, both activities require creativity and imagination. However, one requires more manual dedication (and I can listen to music while doing it), the other requires more intellectual dedication (and for this I prefer silence). It was a pleasure to share my hobbies here.
It's wonderful that you have kept the love for reading and writing, since your childhood.
A hug!

At my age it's amazing I can remember to tie my shoes, let alone write, but I find the ability to do so at times and really enjoy the process. I write a lot with music on, it depends what mood I'm in but rarely does it impede my process too much...I think weaving bracelets might be beyond me though, especially if I was listening to music. I'd mess it up for sure.

haha interesting! It seems to depend on personality characteristics.
Believe me, I'd love to write by listening to music considering that it's something I do a lot lately, but I'd be very easily distracted (singing the song, changing it if I don't like it) even if it was only instrumental, hahaha.
So, are you also the type of person who reads books while listening to music?

Nope, when I read I like no music, although I can do so when in a cafe and block the world out so I guess music wouldn't worry me too much. It depends on the topic. I'm a voracious reader, fast, and tend to be able to take in everything quite quickly with very few re-reads...You know, when you have to go back over a line or something.

So, I'm focused when I read. Same as when i write...It carries me away. I'm writing a post about the fist book I read as a nine year old right now The Hobbit, and the special place I'd hide myself to read it...It's a post for tomorrow, inspired by your post as it turns out...Because your love of reading made me think about mine.

I really admire your ability to "eat books." I'm glad my post inspired you in that way, I'll read you tomorrow. For now, I'll sleep, it's already 1:40 am here

Sleep well, catch you when you're around. Night.

Lovely hobby, I like that your braceletes are so colorful and inspire quite a joy! Thank you for sharing😊

Thanks to you for reading me and for making such a nice appreciation. Greetings!

El empeño, la disciplina y la dedicación que aplicas a todo lo que haces es tu marca personal y esto te llevará alcanzar todo lo que deseas, @sofiaquino98. Para mí es un reto placentero trabajar contigo. Agradezco lo que de ti aprendo cada día, vida mía.

¡Esta es una buena y hermosa publicación, que la suerte te acompañe!
Mi abrazo amoroso para ti.