Late Spring Solitary Bee update

in OCD4 years ago

A few of the bee boards has had its holes completely filled in, this is great as they are taking to what I built for them. I see mud all the way to the front of the opening, one of those tunnels is completely filled in. Mission complete by a ms Mason Bee.. hah

So this is a sign that the boards are working, and hope to see more filled in soon. As I pan my camera across the boards a Bee takes cover inside its home. Though they have not been without their problems. I found a dead Bee inside one of the homes. It was just laying in there and not moving. So I pulled them out with plyers and left it off to the side. Ive found about five of them dead like that so far, but out of hundreds im not too worried about it. As long as we get more cocoons its okay as its just the cycle of life. More will die as it gets closer to the end of their life cycle. Im not stressing it.

I also check inside the bee house and show off a few covered holes that the Bees have completed. I point out which ones they filled in but the Bees did not want my fingers in there so I quickly gave them space. They wont sting me but I can tell if they are bothered by something. Just a day or two ago Luci the dog sticks her snout in the bee house and tries to eat them. Lol.. we think she may have gotten stung by one while trying to eat the Bees. Since then I moved it up higher up so she cant get to them.

Really glad the Bees are taking to them, after all the work I put into building their homes. I am looking forward to filling them in.

Since these boards have worked so well for me, I need to make some more and figure out the costs of them. And then offer to sell the bee boards on Hive and other places.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Sort:  

Looks a bit complicated to me!

It was a steep learning curve when I started but now I'm getting the hang of it. Started with much simpler homes for them.

Well, things will always improve once a person gets to really understanding the ins and outs of it.
We wish you well in your project my friend!

That's great, would be bummer if they didn't use them... So now you know what it's like living with a bunch of Scary Mary's ... :-)

QmQiqjYdiEmjTrgXmu2g4mLogesGjGrrvCPrspQVvXRHVc.jpg

Treat her right and she won't bite.. In you case "sting"...:-)

Hehe yeah I'm glad too. And luckily these bees are more predictable than cats.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening