Making concrete pots for plants

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

I saw a video of some other people making these and thought I'd give it a try. Using concrete, lime, wd40 and some plastic pots mixed. a
And poured into the plastic pots and then worked the concrete lime mix to build it up the walls.

20210123_141224.jpg

I ran out of lime on the last two so one of them is mostly concrete and the other I mixed in some grass seeds to see if that would help make it workable since I ran out of lime. Sand can also be used but I had a big bag of lime so I just used that.

20210123_125908.jpg

The concrete used is quickcrete and each bag weighs about 60lbs. I had some left over from pouring in a hole to set a pole by my bee houses.

20210123_123958.jpg

The first couple I made were quite thick. And I found the concrete worked better in the plastic pots with very little water in them.

20210123_125857.jpg

I first spray wd40 in the pots to help keep it from sticking. And then I pour most of the needed concrete mix into the pots. I use a small shovel and my hands to work it up the sides of the wall. And as it slowly sets it becomes more workable. The lime helps to extend this time to make it quite workable.

20210123_125901.jpg

Finding the right mix is important. Too much water and it does not hold its form and too little it just crumbles.

20210123_125912.jpg

As I work up the walls I add more concrete mix and build it up all the way up the pots.

20210123_131130.jpg

Its important to add enough oil to the inside of the pots to help it from sticking. Otherwise you may lose the plastic pot when you try to remove the concrete mold.

20210123_141232.jpg

In the last pot I ran out of lime and had to use what I got. Using some grass seeds I added it so it would not be so lose. But honestly it did not help as much as I was holding it would.

20210123_142737.jpg

Those damn seeds left my hands green. Should have probably used something else. But curious how concrete with seeds inside does.

Two of them are about 50/50 lime and concrete. One of them is about 25/75 lime concrete and the last one was just concrete and grass seeds.

When they dry I will remove them and do a follow up post on this. I want to put my mint, and other plants that tend to overgrown in the pots and hang them up on some old tree stumps.

Sort:  

Just a reminder to seal the pots inside. Lime leaching out will make you soil mix highly alkaline and be a death sentence for some plants

Good point! So far my pots made of lime are completely falling apart, so I may just use sand next time. And then I dont need to worry about coating the inside.

thanks for the tip

Will be interested to see how they turn out. Pots can be expensive. Will you paint them?

Nice, check out my post from yesterday on the updates on it. And yeah when I find a suitable mix I will paint them after, the outside at least. I saw a style of specking paint on them which looks real cool.. want to try it.

Cool my question is what kind of flowers are you going to put in there

I think ill start with mint in them, its the toughest plant I know of.. And then maybe some flowers eventually.. Some Daises would be nice.

I know of one plant that is even more Hardy than mint!!!

and it is a shame that you can't grow beautiful flowers in front of your lawn...

Although my yard would definitely be harassed greatly

Hehe, I plan on growing that plant you are talking about when its legal where I live.

Growing outdoor will be fun, I dont really have the space inside where I live to do anything fancy. But maybe by the time Georgia or the fed legalizes Ill live somewhere I can grow them with LEDs in a room.

Job well done. This is creative

thanks much

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @stevenson7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!