You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I just got scammed. 4425 HIVE gone

in OCD4 years ago

Sorry to hear this. You have to be so careful and not everyone will know the risks. I actually only recently updated my Hive keys. Having them different to St++m gives some extra security. My HIVE is all powered up, so they could not get it immediately anyway.

!BEER

Sort:  

Is updating your keys simple?
What way did you do it?

I’m oblivious to this stuff and could do with keeping on top of my security.
I’d love to know how f you wouldn’t mind sharing?

That wasnt that difficult actually. When you are in hive.blog you go to your wallet and there you see a thingy with password change which requires you master password.

In peakd in wallet there is a little tab next to your avatar when you are in wallet where you can change them.

With both you get new active and new posting keys. 2 minutes in and out. And dont forget to save you new keys..

It worth doing I can tell you @ashtv !

Thanks for the advice!
Does it ‘give you’ new keys automatically and randomly? Or do you literally choose something?

Is it letters and numbers?

Sorry for my ignorance 😆

Just go to your wallet and you'll see the tools there for generating a new key.

Thanks!

In peakd from the Actions menu you get to Keys & Permissions then Change Password. Need your owner key to authorise this. It's fairly simple really.

Perfect - glad I asked!

Having the keys different was the first thing I should have done. And luckily my powered up HP is still there @steevc