You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good grief

in OCD4 years ago

Life is either death or success by a thousand cuts

I chuckled at this because it is so bloody true but ludicrous at the same time lol. What a choice, huh? Yeah I get very contemplative when I have these mood funks and lethargic spells, funny thing I never, ever beat myself up for them anymore... I used to, you can imagine what a mood enhancer that was!!!

Sometimes we have to accept the cyclical nature of life, mood and everything else that goes along with it, maybe if we surf the wave of that experience often enough we become a proficient surfer and learn the best ways to navigate such times.

It seems the near to midterm holds challenges of the toughest kind my friend. You seem to have a grasp on how it will be, of-course we are never quite right but with such things being in the right ball park can be the difference between 'sink or swim.'

You appear to have a somewhat more enlightened approach to life than most. I am certain that stands you in good stead for being able to cope when times are tough. Wishing you all the very best for more 'blue sky thinking' and contentment with your progress in life.

An inch forward is an inch closer.

Abso-bloody-loutely! People always look to the mountain peak before embarking on their first training session. Incremental changes are all it takes to be better tomorrow than today.

I was hoping to comment on your Re-Quoted idea. (but heading out for nightshift). It's epic I love quotes and the whole idea of a repository of sorts, resonated massively.

Hope the weekend is awesome for you and yours Taraz :D

Sort:  

funny thing I never, ever beat myself up for them anymore... I used to, you can imagine what a mood enhancer that was!!!

Maybe it is in the realm of "practical maturity" - know enough about life, one understands that life isn't all flowers, and that's okay.

of-course we are never quite right but with such things being in the right ball park can be the difference between 'sink or swim.'

I think that the ball park means that when we inevitably have to adjust, we don't have to move that far. The work now makes the future gaps smaller.

Incremental changes are all it takes to be better tomorrow than today.

Spread them out across a range of influencing factors and you have a compounding approach that supports world champions.

It's epic I love quotes and the whole idea of a repository of sorts, resonated massively.

I wish I could code!

Enjoy the weekend mate.

One of my all-time favourite books is 'The Compound Effect' by Darren Hardy, somebody I quote reasonably often in my posts too, incidentally. It basically speaks of ideas that are certainly not new but makes them a little more dynamic and analyses the end results of these tiny ongoing changes over time. From the way you think I would not be the least bit surprised if you know it already.

His examples are as seemingly insignificant and mundane as not taking a handful of M&M's from the bowl on the reception desk at work each day and tracing the effect that would have over 6, 12, 18, 24, 30 months and translating this in to potential pounds earned or deferred. Many struggle with results they cannot see today, tomorrow or the next day and so often decide that delayed gratification simply doesn't work. However they will develop bad habits and bad health via the exact same model... Wow!

Hope you and yours are doing well Taraz :)

I have never heard of the book, but I did fail accounting at university enough to learn about compounding effects. For me, I use them in my training business to speed development and change.

Many struggle with results they cannot see today, tomorrow or the next day and so often decide that delayed gratification simply doesn't work. However they will develop bad habits and bad health via the exact same model... Wow!

Incredible isn't it? We are wired to favor the present feeling over the future probable feeling. Ask a resonably athletic 15 year old if they want to be fat, they will likely say "no way" - see the same person 20 years later and ---- what happened?

Hope Monday wasn't too rough on you :)

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

!ENGAGE 25

I forget to put these in my comments :D

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.