Well It's 'THAT' Time Again, But I Gotta Ask, What Sort Of Name Is HIVEPUD???

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

As the title would suggest, it's that special time again...

Children looking out for reindeers, wrapping gifts and trimming the tree and carolling for the... Oh wait... I've made a foolish error, it's not Christmas. It's even better, it's HIVEPUD!

HIVEPUD - WHAT'S THAT?

image.png

If you are asking yourself this very question or indeed screaming at the screen because you think I may have lost my sense and sanity and started talking complete gibberish, let me explain.

Are you sitting comfortably? Then I'll begin.

a long, long time ago in Bethlehem HivePUD is short for Hive PowerUp Day.

I like to describe it as the day we make a collective decision to demonstrate our huge belief in the future of Hive, the solidity of our blockchain and the awesometastical strength of our amazingly diverse and wonderful community.

For new community members. Where to find your Hivepower figure, in your wallet.

image.png

I stole the below wordzzz from a previous HivePUD post of mine, explaining just some of the amazing benefits of powering up and growing your stake. (Although can one ever really 'steal' from oneself?)

Powering up grows your stake - increasing the vote you reward others with and also the curation rewards you that you earn. DOUBLE-WIN, Right?

Powering up helps to create a stable economy, imagine if we all grabbed our rewards, stuffed them in to a loot-bag and headed for the hills, laughing maniacally whilst crying out,
"It's mine AAAALLLLLL mine!"

Powering up lets others know your intentions here and helps them understand that you are around for the long-term.

Powered up Hive currently attracts A.P.R which is an incredible added bonus for staking your hive for the future. If you ever wonder about the current rate, it is displayed in the 'Hive Power' section of your wallet and will be communicated as shown below, rate correct as of now.

image.png

image.png

Check out THIS POSTto ensure you understand the rules of engagement and to ensure you follow them all to the letter to ensure you get your special #HIVEPUD badge from the awesome-bloody-tastical @hivebuzz for being a powerup rockstar!

YES I am aware I used the word ensure 3 times in a brief period back there, it was a conscious decision and I wanted to ensure I managed it...

Here are the rules in a nutshell although I still recommend checking out the post above for a detailed explanation of what is required.

image.png

If perchance you are new here and newly embarking upon your Hive adventure, you may not yet understand the importance of powering up your stake.

Although it is not the only metric that determines how seriously you are viewed as a member of this spectacular community but it is an important one. Those who are growing in stature, reputation and influence on the blockchain are telling the community a great deal about their belief in Hive by choosing to powerup their stake to demonstrate that they are here for the longrun.

If you were choosing people to build solid relationships with in our community, just consider how you would view somebody who has a large powered up stake in Hive. It is not a financial thing but indicative of a person who is gonna be around for some time. They clearly accept the Hive-journey for all it's up's and down's and stand shoulder to shoulder with all who reside in our unique ecosystem, right?

That sounds like my kind of person, you agree too, right?

Here is my powerup before and after. I haven't been actively saving up for today so am not likely to be among the prize-winners, that's because I always powerup! I have zero doubt that Hive is going to reach a point of exponential growth soon and I am going NOWHERE!

Before

image.png

After!

Yesss! I smashed through the 3000 HP mark. I am very happy with that milestone. 😎✨🕺

image.png

I received this message from @hivebuzz almost immediately after...

image.png

Hey wait one cottonpickin' moment, did I just mention prizes? What the... BUT... Who... What...

The thing I haven't yet mentioned, because I did not want to make it the central piece of this post because it absopositivolutely should NOT be...

There are prizes for many HivePUDers too!

I have already given you a ton of great reasons to become a HivePUDer extraordinaire but this little bonus aspect may help seal the deal. You can find details of the prizes HERE IN THIS HANDY DANDY LITTLE POST

Don't forget to stop by and say Hi to that epicfrikkintastical @traciyork Rockstar Dudette of the highest order and let her know just how awesome-bloody-tastical you think she is for the work she puts in to make this all happen and bringing it all together with the help of some super duper Hive squirrels offering delegations and such.

Disclaimer - Delegators and prize providing individuals referred to in this document (although quite categorically superstars), may or may not be squirrels and no suggestion of actual gratuitous squirrellishness is guaranteed or indeed, surreptitiously implied!!! #dontsuethemessenger

Once more in to the breach wallet Dear friends. Let's state our intentions and stake our future today, HivePUD day. If you should happen to live in one of those freaky timezones that mean you are living in the future and you fear you have missed your chance to take part lean close and I will whisper a little secret in your ear...

Despite the fact that doing what I'm about to suggest may or may not leave you with the new designation of 'scurrilous rulebreaker', I happen to know that that wonderful @traciyork will calculate the results incredibly close to the end of HivePUD day UTC time, so there is every possibility (if you hit your keyboard NOW and write a HivePUD post), that you will do what I have done my entire life, fly under the radar and sneak in at the last second and hope no one notices!!!

I salute you POWERUPPERERERS. Let's make the 1st of March the day Hive steps up it's impetus and MARCHes on to bigger and better things.

Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post and if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each-other both here and in the 'so-called' real world and try and look after each-other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am an incredibly proud member of #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable RoastMaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member and would like to be added to the teamUK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

Sort:  

Congratulations @stevenwood! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

awesometastical...

I nearly spat out my tea! I had to read that again....

When I read your heading, I thought for a minute, you were serious and was ready to come and explain - in . words . of . one. syllable 🤣

I did acknowledge in my own post, that I have moments of stupidity!

untitled.gif

Fiona you have moments of stupidity? I have entire MONTHS!!!

Thank you so much for stopping by with the possibility of trying to fix my incredibly broken mind with monosyllabic assistance, I usually need the syllables breaking down 'one more time' though 😁

I hope you are doing fabulously well, it's been a while since we crossed paths, strange how the blockchain does that to us, right? Take great care and thanks again 🙂👍

Well, moments run into minutes, into days, into weeks...🤣 And clearly little help needed...

Yes, it has been a while. Things are looking up in my little patch of the world, thank you, and hope that all's well on your not-so-little island.

Alas, madman King Boris still has the UK under lock and key until he finds his hairbrush!

I think some semblance of 'normal' will return to us all in the coming months, I remain incredibly optimistic despite a mounting wall of experience and evidence to the contrary. Very happy you are on the UP! 😎👍

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

While we have had a reprieve, I suspect we could revert at the drop of a hat.

Boris's brush is in the post.

Hi @stevenwood,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I Gotta Ask, What Sort Of Name Is HIVEPUD?

I also interpreted it as some type of pudding reference. Tasty hive pudding with extra custard! Or a bottle of HP awesome sauce 😂

Congrats on the power up... and happy pudding day 🙂

For quite some time ,the reference completely went over my head every so often I would see people referring to the PUD and think, Jeez they're so hungry they can't even focus on blogging anymore!

Once I understood, I loved what it stands for, the idea of a chosen date, obviously the 1st of the month, when we get to come together and demonstrate our faith in the future of the chain, the future development and my favourite part, the community.

I see it as my way of saying I am here for the long haul, I plan on going nowhere. I absopositivolutely do not.

I think deeply about this stuff... Not your average ket-head 😂

the idea of a chosen date, obviously the 1st of the month, when we get to come together and demonstrate our faith in the future of the chain, the future development and my favourite part, the community.

Ha ha, well you're in good company as I know many powered up this PUD and I did myself about 600 hive.

The future looks bright my friend 😀

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @stevenwood! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.
You distributed more than 50000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 51000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.

Congratulations @stevenwood! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages