Drawing & Reflection : Life , Liberty and Pursuit of Happiness

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

IMG_0838 (4).JPG

IMG_0741 (3).JPG

It was morning 8 a.m and I was sitting in terrace during lockdown. I looked at birds chirping and taking flights from one area to another with absolute freedom. I perfectly felt content for their freedom when entire world is in quarantine.

At least, birds are free to visit any anywhere and these thoughts reminded me two precious word "Freedom" and "Happiness" . With this in mind, I recalled words of Independence Declaration which says ,

we hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they're endowed by their creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

Now, I ask myself what was the intent of founding fathers when they said these words. And is it necessary to have state for protection of these rights. So, I know I can answer all these questions for myself but what if someone still struggles to find answers. So, I tried to write these three words in stylized writing and drew statue of liberty on the same page.

First I would like to tell you how did I make this drawing and calligraphy and what are the requirements.

Accessories used for this art

  • Plain thick paper
  • Fountain pen ink

  • Pencil colors

IMG_0539.JPG

  • Sketch Board

  • Flexible Nib Pen for calligraphy

  • Fine Nib pen for drawing borders of statue.

IMG_0538.JPG

IMG_0535.JPG

Steps followed in making this art :

  • Step 1:
    I grabbed a pencil and plain paper and started drawing sketch of Liberty statue.

IMG_0530 (2).JPG

I took this photo from different angle while drawing so that I could show the beauty of drawing.

IMG_0542 (2).JPG

Portrait Image while drawing.

IMG_0542 (3).JPG

Picture of the base of Statue of Liberty

IMG_0554 (2).JPG

  • Step : 2

Here, I completed drawing from heel to the top of head.

IMG_0567 (2).JPG

I wish I could have drawn nice looking torch.
IMG_0573 (2).JPG

IMG_0585 (2).JPG

  • Step 3:

I wrote these three beautiful words in stylized writing.

IMG_0634 (2).JPG

IMG_0643 (2).JPG

  • Step 4

With Turquoise ink in my fountain pen , I drew borders with fountain pens. Also, I erased pencil sketch.

IMG_0670 (2).JPG

  • Step 5
    Finished drawing statue and stylized writing .

With brilliant red ink, I painted torch of Statue. Also, I colored statue with light blue color. I didn't make it vibrant because that could have sharpen the image.

IMG_0793 (2).JPG

Contrasted this image so that stylized writing can give stunning look.

IMG_0809 (2).JPG

Grayscale image

IMG_0835 (2).JPG

Added Temperature effect to image.

IMG_0790 (2).JPG

Look at the vibrancy of ink. I just love applying this ink to every art.

IMG_0838 (4).JPG

I placed beautiful gems on paper.
IMG_0748 (2).JPG

I thought every word is precious gem itself why not to place it near the words.
IMG_0730 (4).JPG

IMG_0737 (3).JPG

Thanks for reading post now I will come back to question that I raised what was intent of founding leaders when they said these words.

Reflection

Institutions and systems are product of human minds. And founding fathers envisioned state that would provide basic human rights to every citizen that includes granting freedom and promoting peace to keep citizen happy and prosperous. That's why no matter how small or big country is, it needs to be governed by values and ideologies upon which everyone is agreed. And we call it a constitution. Just like we need constitution, we also need an authority to ensure those rights. For this reason, we have state and we have political and economic institutions.

The fundamental question is how liberty or autonomy can be given to its citizens. An even more important question is what freedom requires ? Is too much freedom is negative or positive . What is difference between community and individual freedom. Similarly, if a state wants to treat their citizen, how much equality is required and whether or not every one is agreed that equality is good thing. Likewise , what role state can play to promote happiness and development?

These are the incisive question that I would answer in my future posts. For now,
I would like to hear from you about my drawing and the questions I raised in my reflection.

I would be highly indebted to painters, artists , calligraphy writers and philosophers who can suggest what else I need to include in my art.

Constructive criticism and suggestions would be highly appreciated.

Thank you for reading post.

Follow me on my account @sufyaan-duggan If you want to receive more posts from categories like calligraphy , painting , writing and reading.
Sort:  

ESTM Boosting refund to @ylike7!
Due to one of these reasons:
1. Post is not published with Esteem apps.
2. Post is already curated by Esteem team.
3. Post is not curated by our curators within 24 hours.
4. Post might be too old post, try more recent content.
5. Author already received vote in last few hours, try again later.
Install Android: https://android.esteem.app, iOS: https://ios.esteem.app mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.esteem.app
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem