Diamond heart

in OCD4 years ago (edited)


Diamond heart


In another life we would have made it,
another time you would have stayed.
all that time we spent each day
~ and all those nights whiled away.
The moments they come and go
and the mesh of the gears crunch out of sync
Toward the edge you push and push
and soon enough toes stand at the brink.
How many ways can it be said
and how many more can it be shown -
down a thousand paths you were led
and after so many signs you must have known.
This is the world you have created,
a place where all the trust is gone
as too many times it has been heard
that change will arrive but I wait alone.
For too many years and through so many tears
held back from all but the walls,
into the depths the new world will stretch
and into the light it will fall.
The best of you brought out the worst in me
and the worst crushed down my soul
Under the pressure of a million strikes
a diamond heart turned to coal.

Sort:  

Wonderful! “ a diamond heart turned to coal“. What a final words!! Greetings mate

I was pretty happy with that line myself. When I write, I never really know where it is going to end, it is more like a meandering path I walk through my mind.

Oh I love it! A diamond heart turned into coal....

...
"The best of you brought out the worst in me
and the worst crushed down my soul"...

These lines intrigued me. Do they have any special meaning?

Well, I see a healthy relationship brings out the best in people, and if the best in one brings out the worst in another, the worst is going to create a highly unhealthy and negative attitude. I think that when people see the worst of themselves, they are not going to feel good about it.

I think that when people see the worst of themselves, they are not going to feel good about it.

And the masochists?
On this note, I'm going to sleep :)

they enjoy the pain of course. Worse are the Narcissists, as they see their worst as their best - like all they do ;D

I think daffodils don't care about anything, even when they spit on them, Except for themselves. Such pofigism still needs to be learned.

Oh my, what awesome prose! I love it! 🥰🌺🤙

Thank you very much :)

I thoroughly enjoyed reading and contemplating your poem. Nice surprise that you wrote poems too.
The two intro lines entice the reader to read on.

In another life we would have made it,
another time you would have stayed.

Love the contrast in this sentence

The best of you brought out the worst in me

And then of course as everybody said that very striking end

Under the pressure of a million strikes
a diamond heart turned to coal.

Thank you for sharing. 🙂

I am glad that people actually read these, as mostly I write poetry for myself - as I think that is the way it should be. However, I think that because of this, there is a human connection through it that ties people together, it is relatable at the most personal of levels, even though we might not know each other at all.

Thanks for stopping by, as always :)