Me, and Her Music

in OCD3 years ago

Today went off without a hitch - no interruptions from my daughter during the training event, and I feel kind of weird about it. She looked after herself for a couple hours completely - She is growing up too fast.

Like many in the world, Corona has forced changes on families that have disrupted the natural order of things and while some might be for the better, some are likely for the worse. It wasn't until we ewre forced home for work that we put Smallsteps in front of a screen to entertain her if we were both in meetings at the same time and since then, it has expanded a little, but not that much. Still, too far for my liking.

However, what I am quite glad about is that more often than not, she will find something else to do instead of looking at the screen. She is lucky as far as children go, she has a lot of things to play with, some soft toys, some cards, pencils and paper and a collection of toy instruments.

IMG_20210502_114729.jpg

She has always been interested in music and is constantly singing songs she makes up, whether people are in the room or not. She is like a musical chatterbox and now tries to get the words to rhyme, even if they don't make complete sense - let's call it poetic license.

IMG_20210502_114754.jpg

The earphones aren't even plugged into anything, she just likes wearing them when she plays.

My family has a pretty strong musical background, but I have none of it by way of singing or instrument, though I can say I do have a pretty decent ear for rhythm - enough to dance at least. Though, this year I hope to get a piano teacher for Smallsteps so that she can get some of the formal background to build upon. I think she will love it.

When she is famous, these will be part of her origin story:

A couple of my favorite videos. Rock on.

I don't care about fame at all, I care about her well-being and I think that music can bring massive value to a life, especially if it is music created, as it is an art like writing, a reflective experience. Some people use it as an escape from life, as entertainment, but it can be so much more than that.

I am one of those fathers who thinks their child is pretty incredible, but I often step back and try to look at things objectively too and observe her. Each time, I rediscover how awesome she is and even though I miss the little her and all the quirks a she had, every day she is becoming far more broad than I thought was possible.

I only have one child, so all of this to me is new and I assume that all parents go through the same discovery process, but I am quite confident that she has been graced with some gifts too. I do not know where she specializes, but she does seem to be quit broad in her talents and perhaps she will be more a generalist of sorts, which might serve her well in the changing needs of the economy and society. Being able to move across domains will be valuable.

She will be home again tomorrow with me, but since I only have a couple meetings, I will put the rest of my work on hold for Friday and spend as much of the day with her as possible. It is always so much fun with her and I do not think I have ever laughed as much with anyone in my life. I have friends that complain about their children, which I do understand at times because of life pressures and obligations, but I can't say that I have anything to complain about when it comes to her personality - although I am pretty sure that in time, she is going to make her parent's stubbornness look like amateur hour.

We all have our sharps and flats in our personality, the trick is to know how to combine them to make a life flow like music. I don't think I am very good at it myself, but thankfully, I get to hear her songs daily.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

Yeah you got to love it...our daughter is into all things too right now, and we try to embrace it all for her. Music, books, bugs, bird poop (she just looks at it and crosses her arms in disgust), even baseball to some extent (like 20 seconds). I have no idea what I'm doing as a parent (my wife seems to have some idea, however), so I'm just going with the flow and trying to expose her to as many of my interests as I can.

As far as spending time with her while working at home...my goodness. Last year this time, we had her home with us and it was the best few months of my life. Being back to normalcy since June last year, I do really miss those days now. So, enjoy tomorrow!

I have no idea what I'm doing as a parent (my wife seems to have some idea, however)

I wonder if it is innate, or she is a better faker ;D

I think that all we can ever really do is our best, but our best is going to depend on how we pay attention to our world. In regards to Smallsteps, I just try and see what is taking her interest at the time and see if I can flesh it out a little more for her, so she can get a better understanding - for some things she gets even more interested, for others it is enough.

It is great being home with her, not so great having to catch up on all the work later :)

Enjoy your coming day :)

I love those videos! That may be all her, but, she learned that somewhere! :)) She is such a sweet little girl and I am so glad that even though you have meetings and have been forced to use the screen babysitter, she has been trained enough beforehand that she can put herself to better uses.

I have three children and two of the three were musically inclined from birth. I did the piano with all of them and the one who got the most out of it was the one that couldn't care less about music. She is absolutely brilliant, but, then, I am her mother.

I'm going back to play those videos again. That second picture rocks.

I don't know where she got her memory from, but I am glad it isn't like mine :)

I did the piano with all of them and the one who got the most out of it was the one that couldn't care less about music. She is absolutely brilliant, but, then, I am her mother.

Isn't it annoying? The ones who don't care are often the best at things!

I have to wonder if it is the attitude? Not worrying about being the best, making it easier in some ways to have a nonstressful relationship with it?

Or perhaps it is Murphy's Law that if you want it bad enough, you will be made to work harder for it?

Aw, giving her confidence to express herself and to feel good in her creative soul is where it's at. By doing this you'll ensure she has that vehicle of expression throughout her life, fingers crossed.

COVID's certainly brought it's challenges to those working from home! Thank goodness I didn't have children at home with me - nor was I working, so small blessings I suppose. I hated teaching online so hope we don't go back to it, here in Victoria.

Teaching kids online must suck!

Sometimes I wonder if supporting creativity is the right thing to do - all the great artists were tortured souls! :D

Maybe. Intelligence can be a prerequisite for depression, and ignorance is bliss. But creativity can also bring joy, and catharsis.

We just recently took the TV away entirely and I thought of you and small steps. It’s been such a great change in our son since then! He’s had a fantastic imagination which has been great but he was getting distracted and sucked into the old tube and that turned into some negative things for us and his behavior. Removing the TV had largely fixed it so it’s been a wonderful change. Some days when I’m in meetings and Siena is doing some difficult work with the business it’s hard to keep him occupied but he finds a way and causes a ruckus at the same time.

Children are really wonderful to experience and I’m with you there. I hear a lot of parents complain about their kids and our son has his moments but he’s such a genuine and loving kid it’s hard to be negative about it. He’s got a tune to him as well, has enjoyed humming and singing his whole short life so far and we love it. We go out for bike rides and he’s singing now on them and all the people we walk by crack up, it makes my heart melt listening to him and just hope we can keep this innocence as long as we can and let him grow up the way we want.

We tried signing him up for a music class but he wasn’t interested in it at all lol he was more nervous but that was two years ago so maybe we can try again this year or next year. The China flu is still the rage so next year might be the year for it.

Some days when I’m in meetings and Siena is doing some difficult work with the business it’s hard to keep him occupied but he finds a way and causes a ruckus at the same time.

Yep, this is the thing for the most part. It is hard for customer deliveries from home though, and my wife is interviewing people for jobs. There are limits to understanding :)

For almost 4 years we made it with no screens for her, but I guess at some point, it was bound to happen. She is still not spending much time in front of it and no time in front of it when we are available.

We go out for bike rides and he’s singing now on them and all the people we walk by crack up, it makes my heart melt listening to him and just hope we can keep this innocence as long as we can and let him grow up the way we want.

It is pretty wonderful, isn't it? I know a lot of people are pretty negative on having children these days - yet I also think they don't understand what they are missing, nor do they realize how important it is for a functioning society to value children.

It’s nice to see she naturally prefers creative play rather than screens, instruments, art and general play does she like gardening or getting close to nature watching bees etc?

Posted using Dapplr

She loves being outside - but is ill so we aren't heading out much. Hopefully on the weekend we an get back in te garden as it sorely needs something done to it - though she isn't much help :)

Amy Shark doesn't have a relationship with her father; and just released this one a couple of days ago.
https://music.youtube.com/watch?v=-rUYRpY0RU4&list=RDAMVM-rUYRpY0RU4
Blows my mind. Not just what she's missed, but what he has. Parenthood is such an incredible privilege, denied to many.

I haven't heard of her before - goes to show how distant Australia is at times.

A lot of people are negative o having children for many excuses, but fail to recognize how they connect us to the future, making us want and work for a better world.

Real musicians wear headphones when they're playing, everyone knows that ;D

vaguely reminds me of watching the kids "game" with J when they were toddlers, they each had a controller but only J's was plugged in, though he'd keep yelling encouragement/instructions at them like they were XD

If she's figured out self-regulation she'd probably find other things to do even if you'd given her unlimited access to screens anyway, or at least that's what mine were doing. They started spending more time on their screens as teenagers but that's a progression I remember with myself as well as interests and random brain developments take you in different directions, as well as being a convenient communication medium.

Gah she's too cute I can't cope XD

vaguely reminds me of watching the kids "game" with J when they were toddlers, they each had a controller but only J's was plugged in, though he'd keep yelling encouragement/instructions at them like they were

:D

I think that overall, she is pretty good with it and she is far more capable of self-regulation than I was at any age in my life. I think part of it is due to her dietary restrictions too, as she is accustomed to only having a tiny bit of something to taste, or being around others eating all kinds of great looking food that she can't have. When offered the wrong thing at daycare, even if she wants to try it, she will decline and remind the teacher she can't have it. She has done this for years already. In some ways, it is terrible, in others it has taught her a lot.

She is cute :)

Oh I just love those video clips, she's awesome. Having children has been one of the biggest blessings in my life. I agree with you, when I hear parents complain about their children I am puzzled. Sure they're a bunch of work and require lots of attention, but just think of all the free entertainment, not to mention all that love. Grab every moment you can with her, you will blink, then the next thing you know, you are walking her down the aisle to kiss her then give her hand to another man. My daughter, our youngest child and ONLY daughter will be wed this October.
I guarantee there will be tears shed, from me but more from her dad, I am sure of that. She is her daddy's girl.

when I hear parents complain about their children I am puzzled. Sure they're a bunch of work and require lots of attention, but just think of all the free entertainment, not to mention all that love.

We have created a society where the focus is on entertaining number one, not caring about others. No room for parenting in that scenario - though kids are entertaining :)

Grab every moment you can with her, you will blink, then the next thing you know, you are walking her down the aisle to kiss her then give her hand to another man.

I dread the day. Whoever her partner is, they are going to have to have a very strong will themselves.

I guarantee there will be tears shed, from me but more from her dad, I am sure of that. She is her daddy's girl.

Doesn't this mean you have done something right? :)

Yes , yes and yes!
What has happened to us, every one is me, me, me! Every one should know giving is when you really receive.

My daughter found the perfect partner, the strong silent type, so when he does have something to say, she listens. He is so smart, he understands that's who she is, always wants to be in charge. But she is really good at organizing and getting the goal met. He has said many times, she motivates him to get more out of life.

A resounding YES, it does prove you have done a good job, it's a great feeling.

Ha, I was not going to miss this post with that picture of the little rockstar, and those videos are classics.
Marian says, "she is lovely isn't she and shame she is so small" :)

I am ambidextrous and can only play the fool, but I think that my voice is the best thing that I ever heard :)
During shower sessions I belt it out and the old lady next door, where we used to live, would go and hide under her bed with her dog during my operas in the shower.
I am sure that she got drunk the day that we moved:)

Just imagine if she does become a rockstar - those videos will be in her bio-film :D

I am sure that she got drunk the day that we moved :)

Lol - I have a massive fear of singing in public - but I sing with Smallsteps all the time. She even knows I have a terrible voice, but humors me :)

I wish i was ambidextrous. I tried to teach myself as a kid to be strong on my left as well, but couldn't stick with it.

Hahaha, no I cannot wish for her to be a rock star, as I think that she is destined for greater things.
Rememember my words one day.

Ambidextry is a curse my friend. One can never find what one is looking for as your hands both think they are right hands and they put the same things in different places.
For instance I keep my pen in a specific place on my desk, then I find it is not there and I start searching for it, but cannot find it. Only to sit down later and to find that the pen is in my pocket.
I don't even want to tell you about the car keys and other things hahaha.

A little rockstar in the making hahaha. I admire that she is able to say no to more screen time, for a kid that is very cool. All parents want their kids to succeed and observing their talent is key to knowing how to guide them. Wait until she grows more and sees all of her cute videos. Lovely job, you are a dedicated dad Taraz👏

I hope there are jobs for her in the future - it will be a shame to learn a lot and then end up having nothing to do but watch TV :D

So cute baby 🥰🥰

She is so adorable. You can tell that your daughter is having fun! You are indeed blessed. Thanks.

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 820000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 830000 upvotes.
You made more than 42000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 43000 comments.
You received more than 168000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 170000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

False-Positive phishing alert reported by antivirus software
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!