Old house new

in OCD4 years ago

Next week we will be moving house, but due to the potential issues with getting materials, we are trying to organize as much as we possibly can as early as possible. This is far from easy, as it requires getting contractors in, which is a bit of a challenge currently.

Today though, we had a guy walk through with us (we arranged with the ex-owners who have almost moved completely) and had a look at what we are planning on doing, and what is actually possible. We are on a shoestring budget, so compromises will have to be made.

There is a lot to do and therefore, many compromises.

IMG_20200324_150731.jpg

I took this picture of @smallsteps on the basement stairs. The basement is currently cold, but we are planning on heating it if we possibly can. We have to change the entire heating system and that gives us the chance to put in floor heating in a few areas quite "easily", which doesn't necessarily mean cheaply. But, with the loan stipulation meaning we need to get it above a certain evaluation in a short period of time, it is likely we will do our best to get it done - as it will immediately add value to the home.

Speaking of the loan, due to extraordinary circumstances, we might be able to extend the short time frame we have so that we can get a little bit more time. If we can stretch it into 2021, it will mean that we may be able to push some of the work to next year and take advantage of tax breaks. While not a huge amount, every little bit means something.

As I walked through the near empty house, I was visualizing what it could be given the time and materials, meaning also the resources to do it well. I am still hopeful that crypto will be able to help out in this in some way, but I do not pin my hopes on this, as this is much more lottery than investment at this point. However, it would be nice to be able to have all my sweat turned into parts of my home and be able to walk through and hodl something tangible.

As I have said before, because I have never used any of my digital earnings in the real world, a lot of this is unreal for me. It has to become real one day though, otherwise the investment side of it becomes irrelevant, as investments have to have practical value with what they return. There is not much more practical than building a roof over the head of one's family.

I am really looking forward to getting in there and started, but currently there are just so many things going on that it does seem a little daunting. Yesterday, I did a 17 hour work day plus writing and there will be very little foreseeable letup to come and then, there is the added pressure of being largely house-bound and working with makeshift equipment and processes to get normal tasks accomplished.

What I am glad about though, is that while the tasks are daunting in their size, small actions will lead onto the large and eventually, we will have built our home through what might be one of the most turbulent global conditions for a very long time. While I hope it isn't the case, I think things are going to get worse before they improve and subsequently, a lot of people are going to suffer, some of whom have never suffered before. People act poorly under pressure, be prepared.

For now though, I am appreciative that I have the ability to "self-medicate" through my writing in order to relieve some of the pressures of the daily grind and give me the energy to move forward. I commented today that personal essay writing should be a part of the education system, as I believe that the process of refection would add enormous value to people's lives. I find it interesting how some people seem to focus only on the negatives of experience and then wonder why they feel bad so often. Perhaps thy should spend a little more time on the solution side of the equation.

That takes skill and work though - two things that people seem unwilling to invest into and choose easy instead. Upcoming life isn't going to be easy, and it will be harder for those who have been taking it easy until now. Hopefully, this latest crush will give people something to reflect upon, but I predict that it will be mostly met with the search for someone and something to blame.

Like normal.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

@smallsteps look really happy about having her photo taken!

I'm surprised you're able to get anything done, we're in lock down from today.

Hopefully you won't have to cash in any of your HIVE, then again we have just been gifted several thousand dollars, and that can devalue so maybe cashing out now isn't a bad option, bit painful though!

she doesn't look happy, because I told her off for jumping on the stairs :)

Not planning on selling any Hive (anytime soon), I have some buy orders in though.

Lockdowns are starting now.

Yes me too on the limit buys, for several thousand in fact. I've also got limit sells in, only for 800 but at several thousand satoshis! You never know. Crazy times.

I like the blocktrades thing, it's pretty even transferring between Steem and Hive atm, almost 1-1 - it does make it a very tempting way to manage the PD of Steem! Mind you, who knows what that ratio will be next week!

It is going to be interesting. I am definitely lowballing and hoping to pick up a dolphin soldier bee or two worth

Patience is the key there!

You are totally getting the evil eye here! Oh, heated floors are such a luxury and if done yourself, the savings is amazing! Good luck with those. I'm actually quite excited to see the house. I have been delegated to working the night shift while we are in lockdown mode, so I am missing so much, but, that is life for now.

I haven't used any of my digital earnings for life yet, however, I actually bought a tidy amount of shared of Royal Caribbean Lines and for a firesale and 1/2 hour later, they shut their trading and 2 billion dollars was pumped into it to keep it going while times are bad.

Boom! two days later, I doubled my money. Talk about having an angel on my shoulder!! I never dabble like on a whim as i did. I ail with Royal and was curious about how their stock was.

Anyway. Stay well - you and your family! Remember to keep that proper social distancing thing going on!

!tip .20

I'm actually quite excited to see the house.

Before we move in, I will take pictures for the "before" hoping the "after" is different :D

I have been delegated to working the night shift while we are in lockdown mode, so I am missing so much, but, that is life for now.

There is not much to be done, but better than no job.

I am pretty sure that the airlines are going to do the same, if not already.

Be safe :*

I AM WORKING THE NIGHT SHIFT TOO! And have been for weeks. Another reason for my absences. Can't get it all together quite yet. But, I will. And yes, it is what it is for now.

I look forward to the before and afters. So happy this was all done before it all collapsed around us.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Our time is no longer our own.

Yes! Be safe!

So happy this was all done before it all collapsed around us.

That might be the after :D

Optimism suits you better! :)

A little house on the canary

Are you living in the Spanish Canary Islands? Your daughter is cute! I hope that the economic difficulties will be solved and you will live in a good home.

Are you living in the Spanish Canary Islands?

What makes you think this?

A little house on the canary

You said your little house was on Canary. So, I guess you live in the Canary Islands. I am a Korean who is poor at English.

Ah no. There is an old TV show called, Little house on the Prairie. Just a silly pun when I write about the Tweets to Twitter. A canary is a bird.

Oh, was it the title of the TV show? I laughed a lot . Hahaha

🎁 Hi @tarazkp! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hope you're able to get the extension as we're in somewhat extraordinary circumstances. And that all the renos are smoother than expected because it's about time something went smoothly XD

You have a basement at the new place? You know all horror movies happen in the basement right ;D

You have a basement at the new place? You know all horror movies happen in the basement right ;D

Yes. and I am not white, so I will be the first to be dragged down there and killed :D

It isn't a very scary basement, and the garage is down there too :)