PeakD lies and statistical ties

in OCD4 years ago

manyhives.png

While I am not there yet despite what PeakD says, I might just be the first 80 Rep made on Hive. Technically as of this moment, I am a 79.995 rep - and when I cross over, I will be the 15th 80+ rep on the blockchain - Still a long way to go until I catch The Haej - who sits up at 85. With each level being 1.5x more difficult to get than the last, I think that it will take me about 4 more years and another 3500 posts to get there.

image.png

Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be a great deal of metric sites available for Hive yet, but I got some information from https://hive-db.com/ - which is the old Steemdb. It seems to be working a little better than it was earlier, and I guess that means that @jesta or someone else is somewhat maintaining it again.

There are still many bugs and the like, but it is nice to get some numerical feedback and I am crossing my fingers that there will be a lot more development in this area as it is a massive draw for users through a gamified experience. Personal feedback is important and I would argue that it affects uptake and retention in the positive very heavily.

image.png

While the reputation score doesn't amount to much in the world of Hive, I know that I am not the only one who still finds some personal significance in it, as it ticks slowly along. The beauty of the blockchain tech is that it is highly auditable, which means all kinds of numbers can be pulled, like @abh12345 does with the engagement leagues for comments and curation - and the affect it has on active participants should indicate the importance of the numbers. I would love to see more application metrics sprinkled around - I don't like the idea of plugins for this - but websites are fine.

But that aside, what I would like to see is a lot more engagement going on around the platform, more comments and discussion. It could be that for the next few months, people are split between Hive and Steem, but I think those looking to grow either are doing themselves a disservice by posting but not engaging. While posts are great, the relationships are made below the post, in the comment sections.

Yes, comments aren't overly rewarded (although I have been trying to bring comment voting back despite the penalty), but it is through comments that it is possible to ask questions, get clarification, have discussions and get to know one another. One of the great things of early adoption on a social platform is that there is the chance to actually engage with the authors and get a response - at least from most of them.

Later however, when a platform grows and there are increasingly large names and egos taking part, it is next to impossible to actually get a response, as there are either too many comments or, the ego is too large to be bothered. Success often brings blindness and a loss of memory of where the roots were strengthened. If you are posting and not replying to at least some of the comments you do receive - you likely don't deserve your rewards. Don't forget where the value comes from and -don't forget that eventually the autovotes will stop, for one reason or another.

If you want engagement, be engaging - and engage.

Personally, I am coming up to about 34,000 posts in total and the comment to main post ratio is about 10:1. While not the greatest ratio, it is about the bare minimum to gather an audience in my opinion. Although, the opposite happens too. I got a comment from someone the other day references another account that they are trying to help get to 50 HP and when I went there, the only content the account posted for about a year and a half was an automated actifit post - ummm, yeah - that isn't going to cut it.

Perhaps people forget what it is to build an audience as very few have ever had to before - the audience was delivered to them through friends and family on Facebook and Instagram - a pre-selected viewership that was already accepting of the content, because your mother likes you. Getting strangers to see what your mother sees is a little harder - getting them to pay you for it is harder again.

Anyway, just some thoughts on the pending crossover to 80 and a couple of wishes for the platform - engagement and people serious about building a presence here - not just a wallet. If people want the value of the token to increase and raise the floor, the value of the platform has to increase and become the kind of place that contributors love, because this is where their viewers are - it is a tall order as it has to compete with companies that have billion dollar turnovers, but we are different here, as each user has the potential to earn, own and influence the outcomes.

Reputation means little, except to those who don't know you.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

With each level being 1.5x more difficult to get than the last

The early numbers were fast to climb through (just this morning, I raised a noob account from 25 to 33 with my upvote) but I found that things really slowed down by about the mid 50’s.

Yep, it is a slog at the top.

Agreed - I found I slowed to a crawl around rep 65

Gratz on your 80!
Being 50, at last, is pretty much an achievement for me so it's cool to see people going to where you are with the efforts.

All part of the game. Enjoy the numbers as they come and have fun with or without them :)

Reputation means little, except to those who don't know you.

It is still a number, and people are pretty smart, you don't need to be a rocket scientist to be able to look and see how long they have been on Hive/Steem and how much they have earned, and based on a persons own experience one is able to get a feel if the Reputation Number is real.

I still find value in the number, and I am enjoying watching my own number grow ever so slowly.

to be a rocket scientist to be able to look and see how long they have been on Hive/Steem and how much they have earned

This actually depends on when they joined. Those who were earlier earned a great deal more, but because everyone was low rep, it didn't climb very fast.

It is a number though and is a feedback metric :)

Hmm, while PeakD might not think you're 80, Hive.blog does.

getting closer! :D

image.png

Not even a hitoshi, wtf.

I thought that would have done it for sure. May as well unvote.... :D

Let's see if my vote does the trick.

Congrats! I'm at 64 now and I remember having a big mental celebration when I reached 60s. (Focus on "mental.") My next milestone is 65 and I can feel it within my reach already.

I know how personal significant these things can get!

Will you throw a party? :)

Maybe! But probably when it's 70, 75, 77 etc...

lets see what I can do with one vote.

image.png

edit. 1x100%

image.png

This post reminds me the value of being engaging. Just switched over here from my old steemit account. Found out about the fork, albeit a bit late. Really excited about the community feelings over here on HIVE. Excited to be here, excited to be more engaging :)

At least for me, the engagement has followed over here - but is near dead on Steem. Pity, there was potential there....

And gratefully I believe the potential has switched to HIVE.

Yes, it will take some time to build, but I believe that it will be stronger i the long-run

I very much agree. Time is nothing when you compare the benefits I believe this platform has to offer. I don't just mean for me -- but for an entire community of people globally. These are very exciting times, infancy even! Part of me wonders if individuals pledge to release quality content on these platforms over and exclusively on HIVE.blog or even 3speak... how much could that drive the vision of the future for HIVE and the like really?

Inspired some great thoughts with this post. Even now at 80 (how exciting!) I do believe this is just the beginning here. For you, for all of us. I am excited to see where we are in 20 years, 30 years, 40 years. This vision takes time to cultivate.

"Yes, comments aren't overly rewarded (although I have been trying to bring comment voting back despite the penalty), but it is through comments that it is possible to ask questions, get clarification, have discussions and get to know one another. One of the great things of early adoption on a social platform is that there is the chance to actually engage with the authors and get a response - at least from most of them."

This reveals the code is misaligned with societal needs. The mining of rewards does not reflect social interactions, but deprecates them instead. This is not an unavoidable property of rewards, but code creates profit opportunities for folks more intent on their profits than their people.

Comments would be as large of portion of distributions as they are of social interactions if code was written to simply reflect functional society.

Of all the changes that came from EIP, the demonetization of comments seems to best exemplify the disconnect between society and DPoS social media. I can't help but feel we're missing an opportunity to strengthen society during immensely socially destructive times, and mining it for tokens instead.

Another cool feature of comments is the attention they give to the authors, motivating them to new articles.

I heard it on the Bee Hive

80? You don't even look half way there :)

More stats, numbers, and gameification please. Hope I can help with this a little moving forward.

Slowly creeping my way there my friend.
All hard work with nothing in my rep paid for.
I would love my vote to push you over the mark, but I am sure that you will get it soon even without my vote.
Congratulations.

Oh! And I think that it is rude not to reply to comments.
But what do I know, as I am old school:D

Congratulations on Getting your rep to 80 champ, the road you took must have been a hard one. Keep it up champ. Cheers!

Still a long way to go until I catch The Haej
Dunno if thats something to aspire to lol. He got there through having his mates upvoting him.

80 rep is an acheivement well done!

Well, congrats... it's an impressive milestone, particularly given that you didn't start in June 2016!

Hive-now.com says you've made it!

Taraz80.jpg

I do very much agree with you that engagement is key in surviving and be - somewhat - relevant for the long term. We have too less of engagement ongoing on HIVE, that is for sure. That said, I think it are those users that end up in trending pages having a relatively easy way of entering engagement. Top rewarded posts get attention, and with attention they get others to comment. By far the majority in our community doesn't belong to this category of users. They do not get users to read and engage on their posts. These users need to spend so much more time to get engagement going, since they need to read posts and think of meaningful comments.

I think it shall be made a little easier for all the longtail users, to be discovered. Discovery drives responses. Therefore I think we need to have a channel where posts are preented in a random fashion. Maybe this channel shall be the prime channel, while trending and other channels are secondary channels. With prime channel I mean: The channel that is shown by default. Currently the prime channel seems to be the trending channel on all UIs we have on HIVE. I think that is a missed chance to get the larger community to enter the engagement 'game'.

ps: I almost always vote for comments, those on my own posts, and those I react to, and even those I do nothing with other than read and I like. Regardless the fact that this may bring in less curation rewards, it is one of the KEY methods to drive engagements. A vote - even when it is little - shows appreciation for reading the entire post and subsequently the attention given to respond.

I have come back from the land of '0' after a long almost 6 months of being hidden. The nukers are still around. I am not sure what will happen here but know that a disagreement of opinion can still result in nuking that fake score.

A mathematical rounding difference is far from a lie sir.

Congratulations!

523DAD4B-5754-4FD1-95FA-A2FA377C3362.jpeg

I enjoyed the post, but especially this:

Getting strangers to see what your mother sees is a little harder - getting them to pay you for it is harder again.

LOL 😂 very true