You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opening taps and a UX focus

in OCD4 years ago

I have been pretty happy with the work they have done so far and there has been plenty of laser measuring during the tiling stage, so i ma hoping that things are aligned well. It is definitely one of those things that will annoy me if askew - though I guess we can learn to live under worse conditions too :)

Precision isn't something that most tradespeople are known for here.

Sort:  

I was lucky to have an Italian master as my mentor during my apprentice years.
The employers picked up quickly that I was accurate and that I could problem solve.
Another luck was that I can work with both hands, so if one hand went lame, I simply switched the hammer to the other hand and continued.
At the beginning we had to assemble the load bearers for concrete to be cast for concrete floors of new high risers.(Tall buildings)

My five years were divided in a year at every aspect of construction and after the 5 years I was to complete a formal theorectical and practical trade test.

During my third year I approached the employer and requested to be sent for the trade test. The agreement was offered was that if I failed I would carry the cost of the test and a penalty of one year would be added to my term.
Needless to say that I passed and in the next year I was promoted to foreman.

Reason that I mentioned the above is simply the fact that tradesmen have become slack. I tell you that not one of the guys that I see working here would have been employed by me for even one day.
Everyone is after the money and the easiest way to do things.

Reason that I mentioned the above is simply the fact that tradesmen have become slack. I tell you that not one of the guys that I see working here would have been employed by me for even one day.

A friend of mine is a now retired, professional hockey player. He played til his early 40s, a grandpa so to speak. He said that while so many young kids had dreams of being in the NHL, so few had the dedication to even come close. He knew it immediately after every often season, most were a bit fatter, not fitter.

Your friend is so right.
In the army at one stage I was in charge of the LL (Lame and Lazy) squad.
Can you believe that I helped a few of those guys to become top performers.
The rot started long ago.

The youth are degenerating each generation and it's going to take a miracle to swing things around!