You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The cold, hard, light of day

in OCD4 years ago

this is all giving people what they want, giving them what they ask for. It's not giving them what they need.

Yes, but what we want we are also conditioned to want it in various ways also - advertising being one. The companies creating want profits atoo, and that comes before anything else. As I have said many times before, to change supply, demand needs to change - that is up to us.

People are just objects that can be adjusted, modified, and standardized for general purpose.

Yes and when they are no longer useful - discarded in favor of whatever flavor is to follow. Trends come and go rapidly - people are gone just as fast - "15 minutes of fame" isn't what it used to be and hearts and stars can't be traded for goods and services.

But you wouldn't think it based on how little time is spent teaching young people to figure out their core values and their life purpose.

Parents have removed themselves from this role further and further also - they prefer to be liked by their children and have the free time for their own entertainment consumption.

One doesn't just get out of bed and figure these things out.

Those who take steps on the path are often those who have experienced enough pain to ask, is there another way?

Sort:  

On that last point, that was me. I was constantly struggling and unhappy. I took solace in alcohol. Until one day, I got fed up with it all and decided life could be better. Since that day, I have worked and improved myself. My values changed from that day forward. As a result, the lives of my family is much better now than it ever was.

I often compare that moment to Scarlett O'Hara's decision to never go hungry again in the movie Gone With The Wind. Something clicks.

I think many people have a limit as to how far they will allow themselves to suffer. For others, they may not know that they can set a limit. Or, they may not want to set a limit. Or, maybe it is better to not bother than to try hard and fail. There is no telling what people value, especially if they haven't asked themselves that question.

As humans, we have a great propensity for adjusting to conditions and when they are worsening, we keep winding ourselves down - saying one day it will get better. I liken it to the lobotomized frog in the slowly heating pan of water.

Many people seem to need rockbottom to become curious. I am glad you are doing better in life now -I wish there were more.