The Hot and Cold of Hive

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

I have been feeling a little cold tonight and I thought I might be getting sick or have a fever, which is obviously not quite as routine as it once was. I can't remember my last sick day from work, but I don't think I took one last year for myself - though I know I took one or two for my daughter when she was ill. One of the good things for a parent in Finalnd (at least for mine and many companies) is that it is possible to get the day off for a child's illness.

Do you like this picture?

Snow_Cold_10_2_17 18 of 23.jpg

It was taken just around the corner from our old apartment a few years ago when the weather was similar to now, very snowy. As you can see, I added a tint to it (just a moment ago) as I wanted something a little warmer, but still cold. Changing the tint slightly can make a big difference to the feel of an image, but this one has shifted quite a lot. Also, I don't normally position the subject in the middle of the shot and normally go with the rule of thirds and a little bit more where the subject is a little off the third line toward the edge. It makes an image slightly awkward, which I like. I am not a photographer, but I do think through the various components of my posts in the hope that there is something in there that most people could find to engage with.

I was talking to someone today and while he "has never liked me", it doesn't really matter with content. as I have mentioned several times before, I live the "rule of thirds" when it comes to my assumptions on social interaction - One third of the people will like me, one third won't care, one third will dislike me. I am okay with that and on the internet, it is likely that there will be more engagement with the "extremes" than the center, because that is the way the internet drama works. Polarization.

Is it cold in here?

Screenshot_20210114_235717.jpg

Yes, that is the current temperature, but more importantly, do you see how the background color works with the color of the tree image? as I was feeling cold, I went to check the new heat pump in the basement. This is the first time since we have it that it has moved to full electric, as at this temperature, the air water heat exchanger doesn't function well.

The heating was off and there was an error message on the display. I reset it, but I have no idea what the error was. It should be heating again now, but I will have to keep an eye on it for a little while as at this temperature, the house can get cold very fast and I don't want Smallsteps getting chilly.

No one likes to be too cold, with "too" being a personal preference. I personally prefer to be colder than warmer, even though I actually like being warm. Finns tend to dress up "too warm, too early" so that means when the weather really does get cold (-22C is -7F), they have no more to wear and are "too" cold for their liking. I am just a little bit cold all the time and for example last year, I didn't wear a winter jacket at all, while my wife looked like the Michelin man.

So, back to not liking me. It is okay not to like someone, what they do or how they behave - and it is okay to be okay with not being liked. Some people are perpetual victims in this world and so immature that they are unable to play nicely with the people they don't like. My daughter is four and she has more maturity than that.

The thing is, that often, even though people don't like each other for various reasons, it is necessary to collaborate and cooperate in order to accomplish some goals. It is ridiculous to think that in a large group of diverse backgrounds, skills and personalities, that everyone would like each other because they are working on the same project. It is as ridiculous as stereotyping a person based on nationality, even though individuals within the borders can be highly diverse from each other - polarized in view even.

I find it funny when there are people who can't stand to be around people they don't like and act like asses, and then wonder why they don't get support for their views. TI also find it interesting on Hive that while people complain about content discovery (it isn't great), birds of a feather do tend to flock together here. At least, all the people who complain about the place (yet are still here wanting reward for it) tend to find each other. Also, generally the people who are willing to work and invest long-term, find each other too.

This I think highlights the success of a real social platform and the difference between building relationships and content discovery. Content discovery is about finding individual pieces of content that can be consumed now - but relationship building is a long-term process that requires repeat visits and time and energy investments into it.

I could for example take a piece of content and drop it into a discord with a couple friends and say, have a look at this, of which they would likely support it. But, I can't build a relationship between them and the author in the same way - the best I can do is give them the introduction for the initial handshake.

However, because I have a relationship with them, when I introduce them to someone else, they are likely to be more open and willing to invest a bit of time and effort into building it further because they trust me. This is social networking - but what most social networks actually do is content discovery and sharing. It isn't about building relationships, it is about "selling" content. This isn't bad per se, but what it does mean is that content is king, the person behind it is irrelevant. Everyone wants better content to consume, but they also want to get consistent support.

I wonder what would happen if each day, 50% of the pool would be stacked onto one piece of content, one author and let's say it was definitively the best content on the platform on that day. Would your content ever get that vote? How many people would be able to get it multiple times? Yet, people also aren't happy consistently getting a few cents or even dollars on their posts.

What is interesting about this scenario is that for the most part, if content discovery was working very well and people could easily find the best content on the platform for their tastes, most people wouldn't earn anything at all. The distribution would be very narrow because while people can disagree, people like me will outperform most others, due to background, experience and skill. I am not the only one of course, there are plenty of great content creators on Hive doing all kinds of things.

Centralized platforms know this, which is why they suggest some people over others, as they are looking to not only build hype for free marketing, but also attract that last third, the people who don't like them. They want to boost people to the top and then create a bit of drama around them to polarize the audience into a love or hate position. This attracts attention and clicks.

Because they pay some people very highly and with 500 hours per minute or 720,000 hours a day of content uploaded, there is an endless stream of potential replacements. Fuck up, and they will demonetize and switch your fans into someone else's fans near instantly. And, with all the polarization and nit-picking that goes on around the "rich and famous", fucking up is easy to do.

But, we are on Hive and on Hive, relationships matter, which means content is important, but communication is more so. In general, if a person doesn't have the ability to engage and bring interest to the audience consistently enough to build relationships, they will be forgotten, no matter how good their content is. It isn't because of content discovery, it is because of the value that people with stake on Hive put on the community itself.

There is a bit of a "reap what you sow" scenario on Hive, where some people will put effort in to build relationships and engage positively and get return for doing so, by collecting a support base of similar people who either like the content, like them or feel that what they bring to the community has value, even if they don't like the content or the author themselves. This social capital can be lost very quickly though if there is consistent poor performance, entitlement or being seen as cheating the system in some way.

Conversely, there are other people who put just as much effort into Hive, but they do it in the negative and these people will get support too. The difference in the support though is that the birds of this feather are generally not holding much stake, get low engagement and are often bitter due to their experience on Hive. Bitter people who engage in victimhood aren't attractive to support, though they might be attractive to watch crash and burn.

The funny thing is that people in the negative group will talk about the "circlejerk" of Hive without realizing that their support base is identical, just unstaked. People tend to spend time with people similar to themselves, which is why it is suggested to have a quality reference group to learn from and reflect. If you want to be in the best shape of your life, do not spend all your time with people who do not care about their health and spend no time improving it.

What I think people should think about is that while many desire support and the feeling of belonging, there is such a thing as negative support that enables and solidifies poor behaviors. It is hard to quit smoking in a group of smokers who love to smoke and keep offering a pack - it is best to build the environment to support the desired outcome, not hinder it.

Over the years, I have suggested many posts to friends around the place as well as individual users to keep an eye on for support. Unfortunately, most of the users haven't panned out as long term through the ups and downs, they start to get entitled and then negative, complaining and often powering down their stake in a huff. They never seem to realize that a large part of the support they got came from people like me using my own social capital to buy them attention.

Most never thank all those people who voted on them over that time to give them the stake that they are going to powerdown and sell for Bitcoin. It is their stake and they have earned it on the posts but they don't recognize the cost to those who recommended them, who "spoke for them" in the back channels. I know that I have benefitted from this kind of thing myself early on where people spoke for me and because I recognized it, I feel I have an obligation of a sort to deliver, to not let my actions cost those who proxied their trust to me, by suggesting me to others.

I am grateful to them, as I am for every vote I have received too, which is why I don't mind putting effort in where many others would not, as it is not worth their time and effort. But, this is the interesting thing with a social network or sowing and reaping, as it keeps building social capital, which is influence within the network and is as if not more important than stake itself.

This is the way communities work in the real world, organic interaction of creation and suggestion, likes and dislikes, engagement and disconnection. People focus on the financial value, without seeing that it is a side-effect of building network, building relationships and being human.

We are all flawed and we all make mistakes. We all get angry and frustrated, and we all face challenges in our personal lives that no one will ever understand but us. We will all be liked, ignored and disliked and there is no such thing as the "best" post on Hive on any day, as it is going to be tempered by preference and relationship.

The one thing we should all remember however is, no one is going to agree with anyone all of the time and if we make agreeing the necessary factor to build a friendship upon, we are going to end up friendless.

Speaking of friends, I know that this is a long post - but I thought @bigtom13 might want something to read over dinner - I even put a line in here for him. He will know which.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

!ENGAGE 50

Very well written. All new users to Hive Block Chain should take a read.

I understand fully the rule of thirds, I had a co-worker that just could not accept the fact they were just that a co-worker, no like no dis-like toward him, just a co-worker.

though they might be attractive to watch crash and burn.

For me watching the train wrecks that some people create is indeed fun to watch at times.

I had a co-worker that just could not accept the fact they were just that a co-worker, no like no dis-like toward him, just a co-worker.

I find these kinds of people tiresome and inauthentic. Always trying to impress, rather than be themselves, which is perhaps why they don't attract the kinds of people they may want.

All new users to Hive Block Chain should take a read.

Indeed, I intend to share it to some of those, both now and over time if possible.

A slice of thoughts at 1am, gn8

So much I want to agree with and to reply to. I am not much of a conversationalist at late, but you struck a chord describing the various types of attitudes people seem to purport on and about Hive.

I never really thought about it in this way. I only wondered why my rewards were getting lower and lower. I know my blog is anything but professional, but it has its moments. I kind of wish I could somehow find some compensation for them from being consistent however.

As for photos, "slightly towards center from rule of thirds" can be considered an application of the golden cut, it is not necessarily an awkward composition, but may be even more natural.

Center composition does work sometimes but usually goes better hand to hand with some symmetry.

 3 years ago  

Consistency is more valuable than you realize! My hat's off to you for that. There really was a lot in this post to reply to or address. Awesome info on the golden cut and rule of thirds.

Thank you! I'll try keeping up even after my daily photo project is ready and done.

It is hard to stay engaged for years on end if not enjoying the process of it. However, as long as you are getting value from what you do, do the rewards matter that much? Btw, I really enjoyed your recent conversation with a not so likable person :)

As for photos, "slightly towards center from rule of thirds" can be considered an application of the golden cut, it is not necessarily an awkward composition, but may be even more natural.

The golden rule is good for this and I actually designed my company logo based on it directly. not that anyone cares :)

However, I push many of my images to the edge from the third, making the viewer work a bit more to consume the image. I figure that on mobile, a lot of people scroll through with relatively static eye position, unless something draws them out. Coming across negative space and imbalance can trigger a slow down. I don't know if this is common for everyone, but I have noticed it in myself and I don't consider myself that unique behaviorally.

Center composition does work sometimes but usually goes better hand to hand with some symmetry.

It can be great for very bold statements where symmetry is necessary. I think though that even many portraits are better with a side weighting.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

I like that thirds perspective you mentioned. I don't think i have ever heard of that before and it makes a great deal of sense as far as expectation is concerned. I never really considered 'social capital' before until this thought-provoking post here. It made me realize the naivety of my way of thinking. I come from a land and ideal where your word is your bond. Not that i trust everyone to give their word or honor it... but since that's how i roll, i guess i took for granted giving benefits of doubts. I can't expect people to be honest... i guess i just hope they will be. I try to wear my heart on my sleeve... and i know some folks don't have a heart or if they do it's black and withered.

Social Capital could be false... but i tend to think of this quote by William J. Groo, "You can fool all the people part of the time, or you can fool some people all the time, but you cannot fool all people all the time." I would think a person couldn't be bullshittin' up close and personal forever. Real connections have truly been the currency of this blockchain experimental experience. In many ways it has shortcomings but i have been blessed to connect with folks from all over the world i genuinely consider to be my friends (rather i like them or not! hahaha)

Even where i come from, a word is no longer much of a bond except among those that are made of the fabric of ideals and values from times past. It's sad that trust is at an all-time low these days. The folks of ingratitude, like what you mentioned, are probably the same ones that feel entitled to say or do whatever gets them the greatest profit and popularity. Before i start going too far on a ranting tangent... i will stop here. This one got me thinking... so thank you for that. Hope you get and stay warm and get to feelin' better bro!

I come from a land and ideal where your word is your bond. Not that i trust everyone to give their word or honor it

I think the Nordics value this a lot, so they develop a lot of social trust, but have very small circles of friends to keep it trusted. I also think that this creates the enduring relationships people have here from child to death.

I would think a person couldn't be bullshittin' up close and personal forever.

Precisely. Which is why there are so many lonely "personal branders" out there. The best bet and my approach is to be as authentic as I can be. It doesn't mean spilling every detail, but it does mean being honest in what is spilled.

In relation to the thirds rule, this means that an authentic person will attract the correct third for who they are, not the third that thinks they are someone else. This means that without having to be fake, support is honest support and not based on lies. I take the same approach going into relationships of any kind. If I want a partner who loves "me" - I can't be someone else when the relationship starts. The problem is that many people desire unsuitable people and look to impress them by being someone else and then wonder why down the track the "you changed" statement arrives.

In many ways it has shortcomings but i have been blessed to connect with folks from all over the world i genuinely consider to be my friends

And this is the result of authenticity and by extension, social experience and quality of interaction.

From a blockchain perspective, I am hoping that for example a web of trust system can replicate and scale out to larger groups, by helping build relationship bridges through the acknowledgement of past relationships in some kind of algorithm to trust.

Always so considerate and going to the point like a grandfather telling a story. This is quality content and interaction all in one. I'm grateful for this. Besides, getting to read something as good before going away from the screen gives something to reflect on.

There's a lot of value here. I hope everyone who read this whether they like it or not find it as useful as it is.

I liked the picture a lot. I'm a big fan of contrast and like the warm cold in the image.

like a grandfather telling a story

I got called a "boomer" yesterday by someone here :D

Besides, getting to read something as good before going away from the screen gives something to reflect on.

Do you notice that the impact of something depends on when it is read? For example, does it matter if you read this before bed, or first thing in the morning?

I got called a "boomer" yesterday by someone here :D

Ha, ha, ha, ha. "Ok, boomer". I think you're too cool to be a boomer, but I don't make social conventions.

Do you notice that the impact of something depends on when it is read? For example, does it matter if you read this before bed, or first thing in the morning?

I know about this. However, the result would be the same. Thinking about something this relevant wouldn't change according to the hour of the day I get the insight. I guess the different thing would be the thought process.

How would something like this impact you according to when you read it? I'm curious.

So ahem, new feature for a front end, guys?

"Recommended authors" or "related articles" ?

Just saying...

Some front ends have tried, but it requires manual curation too. I think it wouldn't be too hard. Busy.org used to for Steem, but it was suggesting people that firstly I wasn't interested in based on content and then, the majority of them were early users who earned highly, cashed out and were dead accounts.

The related articles would be a good filter to use some of the side real estate on desktop. I also think that suggested authors should be pushed, especially around niche content.

Well said. I like you... lol 30.2%

Perhaps the best "love" relationships are the ones where there is just a little more love, than hate :D

The funny thing is that people in the negative group will talk about the "circlejerk" of Hive without realizing that their support base is identical, just unstaked.

The hammer strikes on the mere head of the nail here eh? Hahahaha

But yeah, at the end of the day, each one keeps the fruits of what they value the most. :)

We all make our own decisions and will live with the results :)

Actually, it could not be otherwise. :)

I hope @bigtom13 does too! I took a few weeks off with the holidays and the depressing state of Washington, DC, and decided that being away isn't going to solve a thing.

You are right, I never expect everyone to get along, just behave like a human being. This can be said of my country right now too. You say it so eloquently and thank you for being part of why I wanted to come back. I know this will sound odd, but, I have been gone a few weeks and it feels foreign here.

Is it me? If feels different.

Hi @tarazkp!

You americans are all crazy... :D

You are right, I never expect everyone to get along, just behave like a human being.

It seems impossible for some people to act civilly, but perhaps it is that so many are disconnected from much of reality and spend so much time protected behind a screen, that they forget that they can get punched in the nose in life. They get upset because of digital insults as if physical.

Yes!!! I am like, really? I cannot/will not get in a contest over nonsense. The intimidating amount of minutiae within the confines of a screen is not worthy of me getting bitten by a rabid blogger.

They can get fiesty! :)

On Hive, there are some really strange people who believe themselves to be the normal ones :D

Yeh I'd just die in Finland, Perth winters are "too cold" for me XP

There is probably a bit to be said about social lubrication, I had a decent start here (not as good as soem but definitely better than others) because the guy that onboarded me knew a lot of people. And then after I started getting autovotes I've felt similarly to you I think, if you're feeling kind of a pressure to keep putting out good stuff to be worthy of the autovotes x_x

it hit minus 25 in the morning :D

I feel "pressure" to post decent content, but at the same time, I work best under pressure of some kind - so I think it is a symbiotic relationship of sorts that helps me be better than if I was just doing it for myself. I like being part of a community and adding value and I dislike cooking for only myself.

Well least it's a good kind of pressure for you XD

ps yeh that's way too freaking cold XD

I certainly recognized the line. It made me think about reciprocity. In that I'd never be able to quit smoking when surrounded by smokers, I'm just not that strong. But the obverse is not correct either. For the last 10 years I have almost exclusively hung out with non smokers and behaved as one. I don't believe that made quitting one iota easier, just made it more inevitable if that is possible.

I do appreciate the support always. It's much more than the money to me, it's the time. And even the thought of the time. I know I get at least a few very decayed votes, some that have NEVER logged into Hive. I see them from time to time and it makes me mostly sad that they aren't around anymore.

I honestly don't believe that there is an easier softer way than we have right here. If there is, I hope all those people have found it.

This is the unquestionably most consistent focus I have given anything in 3 weeks. I'm reading quite a lot but it is entirely fluff, so reading that I don't have to focus on. Just read the words and move on...

It's getting better, I"ll be back before long. I honestly did not think it was going to be this long gone...

But the obverse is not correct either.

In many ways, being around non-smokers made it harder for me to quit too. I ended up needing to be more alone or in places where I couldn't smoke, like dancing events. I was very conscious of my smell when having to be two inches away from a pretty girl's face.

Take the time you need as I think that you will be better off for it for many more years to come. Three weeks or six, it is a blink of an eye - once it has passed that is :)

!ENGAGE 50

Very well written. All new users to Hive Block Chain should take a read.

I understand fully the rule of thirds, I had a co-worker that just could not accept the fact they were just that a co-worker, no like no dis-like toward him, just a co-worker.

though they might be attractive to watch crash and burn.

For me watching the train wrecks that some people create is indeed fun to watch at times.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

!wine


Cheers, @asimo You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @tarazkp.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.000 HIVE

I like this photo

,,I have been feeling a little cold tonight and I thought I might be getting sick or have a fever''

I am just glad that you don't jump to conclusions about covid. I don't believe in any gods but I do think that our mindset has a power to affect our lives. Believing that we can fly or that we are millionaires will not magically grant us ability to fly and will not fill our bank accounts. But a person who expects to hit the three point shot is probably more likely to succeed than a person who thinks that he can't do it. Even if his odds of success increase only a tiny bit that is still a good thing.